Musical Ladies of the 80's

in #music6 years ago

In the late 80's there were a slew of solo female artists, I would like to believe inspired by Sade' ...but that may just be whinsical wishful thinking on my part. Well, walking my dog this morning this first tune was like an ear worm..going round and round my head. So the best cure for that is to listen to the whole song.


Twisting my Sobriety - Tanita Tikaram (1988)

All God's children need traveling shoes
Drive your problems from here
All good people read good books
Now your conscience is clear
I hear you talk girl
Now your conscience is clear
In the morning I wipe my brow
Wipe the miles away
I like to think I can be so willed
And never do what you say
I'll never hear you
And never do what you say
Look my eyes are just holograms
Look your love has drawn red from my hands
From my hands you know you'll never be
More than twist in my sobriety
More than twist in my sobriety
More than twist in my sobriety
We just poked a little empty pie
For the fun people had at night
Late at night don't need hostility
Timid smile and pause to free
I don't care about their different thoughts
Different thoughts are good for me
Up in…
Lyrics

Let me share the inimitabe Sade' first hit for any soul who has been unfortunate enough to not hear it


Smooth Operator - Sade'

Diamond life, lover boy
He move in space with minimum waste and maximum joy
City lights and business nights
When you require streetcar desire for higher heights
No place for beginners or sensitive hearts
When sentiment is left to chance
No place to be ending but somewhere to start
No need to ask, he's a smooth operator
Smooth operator, smooth operator
Smooth operator
Coast to coast, LA to Chicago, western male
Across the north and south, to Key Largo, love for sale
Face to face, each classic case
We shadow box and double cross
Yet need the chase
A license to love, insurance to hold
Melts all your memories and change into gold
His eyes are like angels but his heart is cold
Lyrics

And to get you bouncing into this long weekend another lady from the late 80's


I am what I am - Edi Brickell and The New Bohemians

I'm not aware of too many things
I know what I know, if you know what I mean

Philosophy is the talk on a cereal box
Religion is the smile on a dog
I'm not aware of too many things
I know what I know, if you know what I mean, d-doo yeah

Chuck me in the shallow water
Before I get too deep

What I am is what I am
Are you what you are or what?
What I am is what I am
Are you what you are or?

Oh, I'm not aware of too many things
I know what I know, if you know what I mean
Chuck me in the shallow water
Before I get too deep
Chuck me in the shallow water
Before I get too deep

For those who celebrate Easter ... have a blessed one. For those who do not well just have a decent break and be safe in whatever you do!!

Namaste

Sort:  

nice song with beautiful music, i like a good post. i upvote and resteem yes

thank you sir for posting this classic song
I just love it I find it hard to find.

Good post my friend, indeed the song of the past is very interesting than the present ..

Excellent selection! Turning off now, but I'll leave the tab open so I can have a good listen tomorrow. You have a great Easter too.

songs that love to hear ,,, my friend,,,
can relieve stress and calming the mind ,,,
i also like old songs ,,, :)

I also like old songs

That's a funkier Edie song, but I still have a fondness for Circle

And I know we've tipped into the 90s now, and its a duo, but it got me thinking of Everything But The Girl's album Language of Love. Hard to pick a top track. Most might go with Driving. but I think I'll pick Meet Me In The Morning

And I think it's Tracey Thorn in this too from 1994 - Massive Attack - Better Things

Well, that went well off tangent...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72