My current music selection : Richard Dyer-Bennet

in #music5 years ago

rdb copy.jpg

Happy Weekend Steemit.

Today I want to share more buried treasure that I've found since going down the John Jacob Niles rabbit hole.

I had been listening to YouTube as it played random stuff after a John Jacob Niles song.
Then I heard this..

It was Richard Dyer-Bennet singing Lonesome Valley.
His voice cut through everything else happening, which was me playing Skyrim, and I had stop and just listen.
His voice and guitar style are so cool!

He was born in 1913 in England, but moved to America and became a Minstrel, as well as a voice teacher.
He does some of the same songs that I've heard John Jacob Niles do, which makes sense, as they were both performing in the 30's 40's and 50's.

His songs tend to have the same creepy vibe that many old recordings have. It's just the tinny, echo sound that came from old recording equipment. For some reason, I love that sound.

As I searched more of his songs, I found this gem:)

This is apparently a German folk song from the 1800's. I have never heard it before, but I LOVE that the Englishman says "Damn your eyes!"
I seriously laugh every time.

As I searched further, I found his version of John Henry.
I've heard this song by dozens of different artists, including Van Morrison, and I've never liked the song.
Richard Dyer Bennet changed my mind about John Henry.

This is the current song that I can't stop listening to.
I'm working on my own version of it, but I can't play the guitar like him, so it isn't as cool.

As I listened to more of his music, I learned that he did Waltzing Mathilda!
This is one of my all-time favorite songs:D

I know I've just hit the tip of the iceberg with his music, so I will find more gems every day.

What are your current music obsessions Steemit?

longlife2.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79