311 Down Saturday Night Drum Cover

in #music4 years ago (edited)

My neighbors were cool with me playing for an hour tonight, so I fell back on a classic I've posted before.

This is only the second time I've played my set in over 3 months, so I went with something familiar for fun -- without worry about creating parts for a new tune in a small window.

I got a few decent takes, all a little different, with this being what I settled on posting. Ultimately, most people won't recognize the subtle changes I have between takes, but I try to change it up on each just a little bit.

At the very end, my cymbal choke (like I did at the stop in the middle of the song) failed to work on a crash cymbal, so it rang instead of a tight hard stop. Sometimes electronic drums glitch, and this was a bad spot for it when I wanted to end with a sharp bang. Thankfully I could trim the video by a fraction to clean it up just enough. C'est la vie...

Well... less words from me and more listening to me playing some music if you so choose.

Also, here's my last video of Red Hot Chili Peppers from last week if you missed it - the first day I played my set in about 3 months... Ironically much better than this one.

Thanks for stopping by,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hehe, I'm glad you coughed!! Listening just now!

It was a fortuitous bit to call at all your could clip it!

I've tried very hard and failed. I need help from you to rephrase that statement OR for you to reply with an interpretive guitar solo. The wording is "a bit" confusing, but don't clip it. THANKS for listening!!!

Oh man, my autocorrect!

It was fortuitous that it happened at the end so that you could clip the clip so as to not have it ring out!! Lol

Haha yes, def was. DAMN, I was hoping I tricked you into a guitar solo. Can you commit to ONE track in the next 365 days? Even if just dsound. Please?

See my big problem is the kids, they make things like that almost impossible. And there is always the issue of me being not that great on guitar!

"Hey kids, Dad got you some all day movie pass tickets."

Just play some chords... strum something to verify your Steem account.

I refer the right honourable gentleman to my first video on my Saturday beer post... :0D

Hah. Perfect. I ironically had a few chocolate stouts last night. Enjoying some of your genuine reaction beer tasting videos now. You're really struggling on some of them... very descriptive. Hah. One of my best memories of Belgium was unfiltered Bush beer. It was strong as hell, disgusting, and had stuff floating in it, but it made us men.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02