Insomniac Film Festival #87: Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping

in #music6 years ago (edited)

image

I like Andy Samberg in Brooklyn Nine-Nine. I’m amused by his The Lonely Island collaborations. I’ve not liked his movie ventures to date but I think this might be different.

Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping is a music mockumentary in the vein of This is Spinal Tap or A Mighty Wind, only a lot more R-rated. It follows Andy Samberg as Connor4Real, a popstar, and former boy band star, who is trying to maintain his celebrity after his newest album bombs.

The Good...

image

The main characters are really quite funny.

The music is very NSFW but also funny and very much excellent parodies of the musical styles.

I really enjoyed the mockumentary style.

The Not So Good...

The CMZ parody was stupid. I did not like those scenes.

image

Worth the watch! It’s a lot of fun.

  • all photos via IMDb.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71