Ludovico Einaudi: Seven Days Walking: Day One - Music review

in #music5 years ago

zz-instagram.jpg

Composer and pianist Ludovico Einaudi embarks upon the most ambitious project of his 30-year career. Seven Days Walking represents seven bodies of music to be released over seven consecutive months. Released via Decca Records, Seven Days Walking: Day One, which interweaves piano and strings, is Einaudi’s 14th studio album...

It was quite a few years ago I was introduced to the world of Einaudi, via my girlfriend. Almost instantly I was impressed by his style and delivery. But I have to admit that I haven't kept up with his releases.

I was interested to hear that he had a new album in the works, and intrigued to learn that we were getting not one, but seven albums in quick succession. Although, if I'm perfectly honest, my first thought was: "There is no way he can keep up the quality throughout..." We'll see...

Day One is pretty near perfect. The LP holds 11 tracks (51 min, 55 sec) and rather than a quickly thrown together album, Einaudi delivers an impressive and diverse collection of themes. I was incredibly struck by 'Cold Wind Var. 1' which reminded me, in atmosphere, of Howard Shore's score for Big (1988).

While I do have my favourites ('Matches', 'Cold Wind Var 1', 'Golden Butterflies' and 'Ascent') in all honesty, this is a release that works best when played from start to finish in the way the composer has ordered it. It's a richly rewarding album and I can't wait to hear what Day Two brings.

10/10


Seven Days Walking: Day One

Artist: Ludovico Einaudi
Label: Decca Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 15 March 2019

http://www.reviewgraveyard.com/00_revs/r2019/music/19-03-15_einaudi-seven.html

Sort:  

use #boombox when sharing music to get a free resteem from my alternate profiles. Monday to Friday, Up to 20 a day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30