Music Monday Is Back (feel free to add your own music)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

The aim is simple, to banish those Monday blues with an eclectic range of music chosen by Steemit friends both old and new.

Music Monday.jpg

Every Monday I intend to post a music video (and a few words explaining my choice) I invite you to join me by doing same in the comments section below. As the forum (hopefully) grows my aim is that we begin to inspire our fellow Steemians to broaden their musical horizons by listening to the music that inspires us. The only thing I ask is that (where possible) every song we listen to is played nice and loudly on headphones or speakers in order that we capture it’s true essence.

As more Steemians join this venture there is also going to be the possibility of being rewarded for our musical tastes via the amount of upvotes each song receives. That said please never feel awkward about posting a track, a guilty pleasure or even your own musical ventures. I have an extremely wide range of musical interests but also understand that music like beauty is very much in the eye of the beholder. As such I may play my chosen song, but who am I to define what constitutes good music.

Firstly I'd like to wish everyone a Happy New Year!! It's good to be back and I'm looking forwad to hearing lots of new music. My choice this week is a beautiful live track from Angus & Julia stone. When I put the headphones on and lay back it's a song that simply takes me away and leaves me floating on a hypnotic river of music, in short I think it's as cool as fuck! I hope you enjoy.

This isn't about making me Steem so please save your upvotes and reward the songs that you feel are worthy, although equally if my song stands out to you then I'd appreciate the vote. Any resteems would be much appreciated, all are invited and welcomed to join us in sharing and listening to a diverse range of music.

Minnow5.gif

Written by perceptualflaws
Song: Crash & Burn
Band: Angud & Julia Stone
Gifs courtesy of @justcallmemyth

Many thanks for taking the time and consideration to read this post. Any upvotes, follows and resteems are greatly appreciated. Follow @perceptualflaws

I'm proud to be both a member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - brought to you by the hard work of: @aggroed, @teamsteem, @canadian-coconut and @ausbitbank,
discord channel: https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

Minnow3.gif

Sort:  

Hey Buddy,
I've gone back a fair few years today to my youth. This was the last single of one of my favourite bands of the late 70's early 80's.
This song summed up the shithole I grew up in and the shape of things to come sadly.
The Specials - Ghost Town........Classic!

Hey dude .. you just keeping hitting us with classic after stone cold classic .. I fucking love this track!! I have seen them in the last few year but not sure if it was the complete line up? Great choice as always my friend!!!

I saw them in 1980 and again in 1981. They were so awesome and the 2nd gig had an electric atmosphere that was like no other gig I've experienced since. I saw Depeche Mode the following weekend!!!
Great times.

Man, you were so lucky to catch them in their prime!! They are still brilliant, but you know the energy of youth and all that.

I went to school quite close to Coventry so they were on my doorstep. I was a 'rude boy' at the time, two tone suit and everything 😂😂

Nice, I liked the song you picked. Here's one of my favorites:

Man what a great choice @jakeybrown the guitar work on this is simply incredible! I'm actually a fan of John Butler but I've never heard this so thanks for the introduction. This will most certainly be added t my playlist .. thank you for sharing :)

I know, he's amazing on this one. That might be my favorite song ever, top 10 at least!

No problem, I've got a few other winners I'll save for next time

Good to see you back!

Long time since I last heard this - great choice!

Yeah this is an all-time great performance. Glad to bring it back to you! Peace

Hey @onetruebrother another great track to start the new year with! Man, this isn't just a song it's a musical journey and a journey I've very much enjoyed taking :) Vaguely reminiscent of Steeleye Span & Fairport convention and coming from me that's high praise indeed. Excellent choice!!

Thanks man I always loved this one...it's funny that it is a song about beating up some soldiers, but it brings a tear to the eye because of the wonderful style of good Irish singing
Be well my friend

An all time favourite and fellow Scot - for anyone who has ever felt misunderstood!

Hey thank you for sharing my friend, this song really takes me back and represents Annie at her prime. She really lays herself bare and displays such raw emotion, an emotion that enables others to draw strength from her words. Again, thank you for sharing!!

Glad you think so too, she's a genuine wordsmith. Mondays are going to be good :)

Love this!!! I used to have a bunch of vhs tapes that my dad recorded much music onto, b-52's, art of noise, inxs, eurythmics, prince, peter gabriel, kate bush... I grew up loving these musicians and still do, very much!

Thanks @amymya - you and your Dad have good taste :)

Respect.......

Ah man this brings back memories, equally some memories that are perhaps best not shared on steemit lol Such a beautifully chilled song and voice .. for a short time Sade ruled the airwaves and what a time it was!! Glad to have you back with such a great song. Thank you for sharing!!

Haha, good old Sade.
She lived 4-5 doors from me years ago when I lived in Highbury. I saw her in the street a few times and she was always very nice. You're right too, she was huge in the mid 80's one of my mates named his daughter after her.

Hey @perceptualflaws,
Glad I found this post! I get stuck in music ruts often, where I'm listening to the same stuff over and over... Good but no good!
Looking forward to new favorites :) My contribution to this post, though it's now Saturday not Monday, is this:


Hope you enjoy as much as I do! Haha
Take care, @amymya

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99