Guitar Technique Tutorial - Tips and Tricks to access wide hand stretches.

in #music6 years ago

Hello Steemit!


I've been lately been asked a bit on how do I manage to tackle some of the wide stretch chord shapes that I usually play . I thought I would share a video explaining some of the techniques I use in order to achieve this without hurting myself.

You don't need big hands or special elastic properties , it comes down to hand positioning , fretting , guitar angle and some other elements put together. I though I would share a short video trying to explain some of these as best as I can.

Also , Simba makes a guest appearance today :P

If you are interested in researching about this type of chord playing , here are some key players to pay attention to:

John Stowell

Allan Holdsworth

Eric Johnson

Andy Summers

Any questions or player suggestions you might have are more than welcome! I hope you get some useful tips out of this video! Also.. do you have any particular subject you would like me to tackle next?

Thanks for watching!

Pechi

pechi777.png

Sort:  

Great tutorial! Love your guitarist selection, I love Andy Summers, he is great, although he feels a bit over shadowed by Sting and Stewart Copeland :D. I love Eric Johnson too.

Btw for more modern guitarist, I'll go for Paul Gilbert and Richie Kotzen.

Cheers!

Thank you ! Yes , Andy Summers is one of my favorites !

And yes.. Paul Gilbert and Richie Kotzen are monster players , I love them and they can both tackle some very impressive hand stretches , they do have the huge hands factor in their favor :D though thanks for mentioning them.. particularly this Paul Gilbert intro tackles an insaaane stretch:

Awesome! I am like Django, I always try to find the simplest way to play my chords, If I can use only 3 fingers, I do so heheh...
Can you do the same stretches on an acoustic?
Those guys are all on electric

Hey Ed.. of course! Same concept applies to acoustic :) Thank you for showing up !

I love Django btw :) .. amazing what he could do with two fingers only!

Oh I love Waybe Shorter, Weather Report is amazing!!!
WOW John Stowell is a monster!
Do you know SYlvain Luc?

Sylvain Luc is a monster !! indeed he is on my top players.. he plays so melodically and so fresh .. he is very original.. i love his trio!

we were just talking about moving to Hyeres with my wife...

And THAT FUCKING GUY!!!!

Julian Lage makes me want to quit guitar :P

this is almost freakish!!

What do you think of Jacob Collier?

complete genius! still young but will give us all more to talk about , I'm sure!

I think he lacks emotions, but he sure is a genius, i more impressed with his musician skills than him as a singer if I have to be honest

I'll check out the Andy Summers transcription! !!

That is a great tutorial. I don't play guitar myself but I did find that even someone like me could learn from it. I will ask my hubby if he has a hard time with those stretches and if he does I will brag about your tutorial :P Get him to watch it :P

hahahah thank you Foxy ! I'm glad it looks easy to understand! Let me know what the hubby thinks :) ! Big hugs!!

I want to learn to play guitar now I can't even do an F chord properly yet... teach me jedi master

Are you holding the guitar in a good angle ?

we need to get your guitar fixed !

well my guitar needs fixing anyway cos I have a nasty slit in the neck that actually cut my thumb, it holds key but it needs repairing after a fall.. probably not, I teach myself the guitar like I teach everything, self taught and by intuition, but all I seek is to do some gentle celtic fingerstyle to sing alone, yet F would be nice to do hahaha
LOL hahaha and Bb hahaha lol i FAKE IT all the time doing half chords

But you make heavy riffs with a dulcimer.. you beat me on that one! .. you should get this pedal:

Yeah I know what I want from you.
I work hard on the 7 modes everyday(Dorian, Locryan, Lydian, Mixo, etc...) and the different pentatonic , but I lack the leaks, so I would love to share some leaks in specific modes and penta!
If you have other scales that you advise like minor harmonic or else don't hesitate to share!

Thanks!

BOOM! .. yeah .. I have ways to tackle that ! awesome! I will do that in the next tutorial ;) .

And I like the sound of the Melodic Minor , very modern and hip sounding !

Thanks for the suggestion!

Noooooooice!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hi @pechichemena!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.401 which ranks you at #2151 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 27 places in the last three days (old rank 2178).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #32.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23