Fly - Ren Kai (Official Video) // A song production by ''La Real Sociedad'' - Guitar recording snippets.

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!


I'm quite excited about today's post ( and a couple more to come ) since the year is ending it is inevitable for me to make a recap of how this whole 2018 was . I'm not going to lie , it has been a difficult year, the declining economic situation over here plus other things have made this a rough ride but here we are , pushing through as it is the only option I know. As I write this I am also working on the logistics on my temporary ( or not? ) move back to Ecuador.. but this has also been a year of accomplishments and I choose to focus on the positive and as the year ends I want to share some of these accomplishments with you!

So, as some may know I have an independent recording studio and a partnership with an Independent label called La Real Sociedad located in Guayaquil, Ecuador. Ever since I decided to take a break from Live performing an touring I embarked on this adventure of becoming a producer and a session recording musician and after some years of work and money investment into it I am starting to see the results as per now I have quite constant work coming to the studio and start to see my work appear in more relevant places .. I'm not going to lie .. it still doesn't cover all my bills , but it's become a source of income and by doing some occasional gigs and having a regular teaching job I am able to make a living through music, nothing fancy but I get through and that in itself is something I am very grateful for.

- The Recording of ''Fly''.

This recording was put together by quite a big team as with every professional production, everything that aims for a high quality level needs a team to make it work. This particular production was led by Sergio Vivar and Carlos Quintero who is my production mentor , most of the things I know about music producing were taught to me directly or indirectly by him , he is a veteran producer who I also am glad to call a friend. Bringing him occasionally to the team is always a joy as I end up learning more and more.

I did not participate on the production part of this song, at least on a general standpoint but when I do my guitar parts I do take upon the production of that section but to be fair , I'm not a producer on this particular track... just in charge of ''the guitar department'' hehehe.

So , Sergio and Carlos put this track together and sent it to me to record my parts over, there are already a couple guitars here and there for specific arrangements , Carlos is a quite skilled guitar player himself so he sometimes adds very specific parts on the very early stages of a production.

- Adding my guitars.

The track already sounds very professional and full but one of the things I have learned from Carlos is the use of layers and sounds to build sections that add to a production without distracting the original ideas and melodies , techniques like doubling , panning , breaking down chords into different tracks , one note arrangements, etc etc . All of these things that I like to call ''The Intangibles'' and add depth to a production to keep it fresh and interesting during the whole song. I actually added 23 guitar tracks and a guide bass line to be re-recorded later .. so.. 24 tracks in total were my contribution to this particular tune.

Screen Shot 2018-12-09 at 10.22.17 AM.png

This is the actual guitar session, you can see all the guitar parts here , with the individual descriptions and where do I suggest placing them in the mix

You can hear my guide bass line and all guitars isolated above , all of these were reference sounds as all of the guitars got re-amped at the studio to fine tune the sound to the vision of the producers , in this case both Carlos and Sergio. Does it feel like too much is going on? Well , let's hear it in context!

There was also a very skilled production team behind the video that accompanies the song and since it does tell a story... I don't want to spoil it for you .. so with no further due:

Ren Kai - Fly (Official Music Video)

LYRICS:
Sometimes it feels just like a deep whole inside
Nothing worth to fill it up, clear the mind
Things in life you can't explain or keep with lies
One day they'll change, close your eyes, its paradise

And I will love you
I will trust you
I will love you
I will let you lead my way tonight

Give me reason; give me strength to stay alive
Can't you see, that there are walls on all sides
Doors that close every time we try to strive
Believe that faith will move it all, take you high

And I will love you
And I will trust you
And I will love you
And I will let you lead my way tonight

Just know that everything will turn out fine
Your hand to hold, your voice to comfort my
My soul will fly

You are my, you are my, you are my, you are my, you are my

You are my savior (You are my savior)
You are no stranger (You are no stranger)
I want your love (I want your love)
I want your love (I want your love)

You are my savior (Lead my way)
You are no stranger (Make me strong)
I want your love (Make me strong)
I want your love

You are my savior
You are no stranger
I want your love
I want your love

You are my savior (You are my savior)
You are no stranger (You are no stranger)
I want your love (I want your love)
I want your love (I want your love)

VIDEO CREDITS:
Production: Garage Filmakers
Director: Danny Ruan
Producers: Voriska Knuth
DP: Tom Antos
Art Assistant: Jessica Manzano
Art Director: Voriska Knuth
Stylist: Génesis Santillán
Assistant Producer: Nicole Lino /Joseph Robles
Editor: Danny Ruan
Colorist: Danny Ruan
VFX Artist: Tom Antos
First Assistant Camera: Joao Medina
Gaffer: Johannes Orejuela

MUSIC CREDITS:
Producer - Sergio Vivar
Co-producer - Carlos Quintero
Drums - Ruben Burgos
Electric Bass - Edward Bradley
Electric Guitar - José (Pechiche) Mena
Percussions - Jorge Vega
Keyboards - Sergio Vivar / Carlos Quintero
Piano and Orchestral Arrangements - Sergio Vivar
Mixing - Sergio Vivar
Recording Studio - La Real Sociedad
Mastering - Alberto Cutolo
Mastering Studio - Massive Arts



This has been one of the achievements of this 2018 , seeing your name in these type of productions is always something to be grateful for , when your work sees the world it is always a good feeling and it pumps me to push for the next thing. Also, this song is doing quite well on Spotify , iTunes and all the different online media platforms we all know , so.. double yay!

fly ren kai.jpeg

If you would like to follow Ren Kai over his media , I'm dropping some links here: ( who know , maybe I can onboard him later on here on Steemit )

Spotify | http://bit.ly/renkaiyfly
iTunes | http://bit.ly/flyrenkaiy
Instagram | https://www.instagram.com/renkaiy/
Facebook | https://www.facebook.com/renkaiy/
Twitter | https://twitter.com/renkaiy
Soundcloud | https://soundcloud.com/renkaiy



- About the location

This video was filmed at two places , Salango Island in Manabí and Guayaquil in the province of Guayas and my city of birth. I can't help but feel a little nostalgia when watching those images , being born and raised near the sea.. I'm always drawn back to it... I will visit soon!

cs1700010_img-35_large.jpg

(Image Source: https://ecuador.propertyshelf.com/en/real-estate-by-type/overview/cs1700010)

Thank you very much for reading and listening!

pechi777.png

Sort:  

I like that reverse reverb at 3:12. Great job Pechi, this is wonderful!

Those come from ze cat momma influences <3 . Thank you ! :D

Amazing work. You gave incredible talent! I listened to the song first, then watched the video. I love the theme of healing and forgiveness in the video! Wow. I really think you are going places. Good luck!

Thank you very much :) ! I'm really glad you liked it.. a lot of work was put in by the team ! The message of the song is indeed a good one.. refreshing with what most of the music talks about nowadays. Thanks for listening and the lovely comment <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much <3

Pechi , you are a real master of your craft ! Congrats man , the guitar layers sound absolutely killer .

Thank you very much bro @stavrin ! I'm glad you liked this :) ! It was certainly a big work put together by quite the team. Can't take all the credit :P ! Thanks for stopping by for a listen! Cheers!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @pechichemena! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 450 posts. Your next target is to reach 500 posts.
You made more than 45000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.
You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @pechichemena!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.486 which ranks you at #1983 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 28 places in the last three days (old rank 2011).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 225 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Such a beautiful song! I love the lyrics and the video is so lovely! You have a lot of talent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94