“INSPIRATION EXISTS” - Interview with the Wintersun's Teemu Mäntysaari and Asim Searah

in #music7 years ago (edited)

The Finnish band Wintersun are an inexhaustible source of adrenaline for their fans. And not only because their music is really absorbing. The years of tantalizing expectation of new albums almost suddenly interchange with surprises such as the incredible success of their recent crowdfunding campaign of their new creation - “The Forest Seasons”. The news that scared some fans was Jari Mäenpää’s refusal from live guitar playing in favor of enhancing his vocal performance and studio work. However, this decision of the band’s leader allowed a new gifted member to join the family.

And now, the day before "The Forest Seasons'" launch, we can enjoy the first interview with the Wintersun guitar duo. Teemu Mäntysaari and 27-year-old new guitarist Asim Searah (KIUAS, Damnation Plan) met me at Tuska festival to discuss their common work and creativity in general. 


Asim, after three summer festivals what are your impressions of starting your work with Wintersun?

A.S: I couldn’t be more happy ever in my musical career, because it’s the band I’ve always looked up to, and being part of them, sharing the stage with them is definitely a dream coming true. And these guys are so humble, these guys are so supportive in every way: the whole chemistry is working very well. I couldn’t be more happy. 


In “Damnation Plan” you were the front man...

A.S: It’s not that important if I’m a front man or not, don't have that kind of issues… It’s teamwork that rules, and teamwork in Wintersun is bloody amazing. Jari is a great front man, and that gives me space to be relaxed and to concentrate on my guitar skills. 

How did you to get to know each other in the first place? It happened long before the casting, right?  

T.M: Asim came to watch our show at Wacken festival in 2006 with his family. They came to the meet and greet event. They stayed there for a long time, and we remembered the guys. The same summer Asim and I met each other in a guitar shop in Helsinki, the shop where we always go to fix our guitars. We started talking and then kept in touch. So, when Asim planned to move to Finland, I was helping him to arrange some practical things here, and once he made it to Helsinki, he was taking guitar lessons from me. 

Teemu, what was your reaction when Jari said: “My guitar parts are now yours”?

T.M: Well... excited, I guess. I knew, this was going to be challenging for sure, but I love challenges. I’d always wanted to play those solos of Jari and had been learning them already anyway.

What are you favorite Wintersun songs to play on stage? 

T.M: “Time” is now probably my favorite, and the two of the new songs we played today. 

A.S: Definitely “Time”! You just let all your energy out to this song! I realized that Time had such an impact on me, when I was playing it at Sweden Rock and Iooked at the guys from the corner of the stage, almost from the viewer’s perspective. And I thought: “I’m really playing with these guys, I’m really doing it!” It’s personal for Jari, and has an emotional touch for me, too. So, first, it would be “Time” and second, it would be “Sons…”

Teemu, in one of your interviews you said you were doing a lot of composing, too. Can we hear it anywhere? 

In Wintersun, everything is written by Jari, we’ve done some little things here and there, helping with arrangement and stuff… But I’ve done some of my own projects, and now there’s another band that started up as cover band - “Run for Cover” with Netta Dahlberg on the vocals, and now we are doing our own songs as well, and this is where one can hear my composing. Wintersun stuff - maybe in the future, but you know, Jari has such clear vision of what he wants to attain… 

You are used to work hard 24/7. Do you believe that such thing as inspiration exists at all? 

T.M: I think, inspiration is really important. Of course, hard work as well… I know that for some people “work” equals to “burden”, and you don’t want to “work”, you want to have fun with the guitars. Inspiration comes when you reach a certain level and want to go on with the things you find interesting, make your own stuff that pushes you forward. You should just have a passion in your life, then you will find inspiration for yourself, and this can be anything. For me, musical stuff but also other things: movies, art, even sports are inspiring for me. All these things contribute to your musical lifestyle as well… It’s important that you play things that empower you, things you love to listen by yourself. When you go to a music school, they may put a pop, classic or jazz piece in front of you, but it might not touch you that much. 

If we speak about “The Forest Seasons” and seasons in general, which is your favorite one?

T.M: I like snow, and I don’t mind that our summer is not so hot.
A.S: I come from Pakistan with its predominantly hot weather, and I’ve been living in Finland since 2007. Winter has been my favorite season all the time. But it is winter with snow. I love when it snows. The grey darkness, the rain, the dirt on the streets are definitely depressive, and I learnt how to be depressed! (laughs)

What else can make you depressed or furious?

A.S.: Before the auditions of Wintersun came up, I was about to quit music altogether and continue the business I was doing with my family. I thought I hit the ceiling in music, that this was the farthest I could go. That was a depressive state of mind and so on, but again, inspiration pops out of nowhere… The guys believed in me, and here I am, fully inspired, kicking… It just all depends on the personality. 

Teemu, what about you?

T.M.: (holds a long pause) Yeah… I can agree with Asim that it can be anything, but definitely not the weather, for I’ve got used to it after 30 years… Seasons don’t bother me that much. For me, music is definitely the thing I turn to when I feel down. And I’m glad I can pick up the guitar to feel better and not to get depressed. 

How many of your students are making their career in music?

 T.M: A lot of them are aspiring… I’ve got some students who are very experienced, they are semi-professionals playing in bands. Some are teenagers who are also in bands, but they play in local clubs and wish to go further. And I share all the experience that I can to help them the best possible way. Wishing sometimes that I had someone with big experience backing me 10 years ago. Overall, I’ve got a very varied range of students from total beginners to guys like Garret Peters who wanna learn some pretty advanced tips here and there. I’ve got some 40-50-year dads who revive their old hobby from their teenage years and just want to play some songs for fun. It’s pretty good that Wintersun has stuff for nearly all student levels: for example, riffs from “Sleeping Stars” and “Death and the Healing” are simple and very catchy, but there are some very difficult things, too. 

Asim, what about your choice of equipment? Has it changed since you joined Wintersun?

A.S: A lot of things have changed: Teemu has influenced me a lot. When I took lessons from him, I tried out Ibanez guitars. Before Wintersun, I used to play a lot of different guitars and use a lot of equipment, but today I 100% trust in Teemu’s choice after more than 10 years of experience he has on the stage. It was interesting when Teemu said: “Hey, do you wanna go with Sensaphonics?(ear monitors)” I tested them and was quite happy with that. Equipment-wise, I’m in heaven!

What is the book you are currently reading?

T.M: Mike Mangini's Rhythm Knowledge (volume one and two). It is a great book for all musicians and something I go back to every now and then, also at the moment.

If you hadn’t chosen music, what else would you do? 

T.M: Probably professional sports of some sort. I used to play sports all my youth and still enjoy it whenever I have a chance: ice hockey, soccer, badminton, tennis etc.

A.S: Living without music... Cannot imagine this!

*Picture credits: Headbanger.Ru and Tuska Festival press service

Sort:  

Nice post. Very entertaining and creative. Good work and good content. Will continue to follow. Enjoyed your post.

@olivera-despina

Thank you for sharing this interview with us. I didn't know his men and their music.

Thanks for sharing the interview.
Today is the day. The Forest Seasons is out and I'm gonna buy it.
Have a nice day @olivera-despina

Just listening the last verses of Loneliness... oh, my, what a beautiful album! I wasn't expecting any less and I could sense how it's going to look like from all the previews, but this is truly majestic. So much to explore in the upcoming months.

Great interview! Loved the questions and guys seem very humble and friendly. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks a lot for your attention! I was curious what you would think about the stuff.
I'm totally enchanted by Winter and Summer pieces, and I was about to burst into tears at Winter's acoustic version. But I remember Jari say in the documentary that this album is not even to his highest standards... Hard to imagine how far this man can go.
As for the interview, I'm sad that few are the people who cared to read it here ((

I can't stop listening to acoustic Loneliness. So hauntingly beautiful, perfectly captures the essence of final days and the inevitable end. :/ Brings tears to my eyes every time.

Yeah, I love it! Autumn might sound a bit to harsh, but I love the concept of seasons and the flow of different atmospheres and emotions. I still haven't checked out acoustic Loneliness and I'm really looking forward to it cause Jari's clean vocals seem so damn beautiful and the song itself is.

They are still quite an unknown band to a bigger audience so don't feel bad about the views. But I notice that whenever I recommend them to someone, it's usually very well received. :) It's just that people have no idea about this music and how amazing it is.

The ending of Autumn is particularly strong. Not everyone will just break the sound like this.

This is great interview

aw great!, did not know them before now :)

I envy you at some point. You've got a beautiful world to discover.

Ooh, I haven't heard of these guys in years. I'm glad they're still kicking around. Thank you for sharing this :)

Upvote and follow me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77