Original Song - 'These Kind Eyes' from my EP, Silence in the Solitude

in #music7 years ago

Here is 'These Kind Eyes'; the second track of a series of songs from my EP, 'Silence in the Solitude'. I am writing and recording this music from my van during my travels around Australia.

Link here
https://soundcloud.com/matt_blackwell/these-kind-eyes

'These Kind Eyes' is a response to a conversation I had with two women earlier in my trip. I was parked up in my van at a busy free camp spot on the east coast of Victoria and these women invited me to join them for a morning coffee. One of the women, who did most of the talking spoke for an hour or so about her rough and tumble life up until she found God. I couldn't get a word in. In the end she told me I was a great listener and that I'd make a good pastor. The conversation eventually came to an end, with the other woman telling me that she hoped I'd find Jesus. Although I'd consider myself a spiritual person, I'm not a big fan of religion and even less so when it's preached at me. This song is a response to that conversation.

The song was recorded in my van while I've been woofing at a Permaculture farm in Margaret River, Western Australia. Below is a photo of my recording setup :D.

20171205_202343.jpg

LYRICS

If I were Religious oh, I would've been a Pastor,
Diane told me so, a devine soul that had found her,
The kind of discipline, I'd rather that she master,
So I told her I ain't looking for her happy ever after,

But I'll keep my faith in these kind eyes,
Where there's a place for a stranger's smile,
I'll keep my ways, no not a compromise,
Just so there's space for a stranger's smile,

If I were suspicious oh, I would've seen right through her,
Would've seen it coming, with a goose step I'd be running,
Now she's got me cornered over coffee that she's pouring,
Brewed with the intention to convert me here this morning,

But I'll keep my faith in these kind eyes,
Where there's a place for a stranger's smile,
I'll keep my ways, no not a compromise,
Just so there's space for a stranger's smile...

...It's the way, that we can communicate
With an open heart, a blank page that we create
Through these kind eyes we connect, we can gravitate
Live in harmony as one, regardless of our faith
,

She's been preaching for a while, and I'll listen hey,
But I ain't taking sides, cos' no that just leads to hate,
Instead I'll meditate on love, let it propagate,
When I'm done I still will wonder why she said it all,
The writing's not quite on the wall
...

If I were a Jewish, Muslim, or a Buddhist,
A combination of the three or maybe just a tourist,
Would she still be so kind, sharing these words devine,
Cos' war's been waging too long with religion at the front line,

I'll keep my faith in these kind eyes,
Where there's a place for a stranger's smile,
I'll keep my ways, not a compromise,
Just so there's space for a stranger's smile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59249.61
ETH 2526.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46