Welcome summer song @ Northern hemisphere [21th June 2017] solestice

in #music7 years ago (edited)

'Summertime, and the livin' is easy...'

Who doesn't know this song? It pops in my mind every time someone refers to the Summer beginning!

It was composed by George Gershwin, prolific maestro, for the opera Porgy and Bess in 1935. The lyrics are by DuBose Heyward, the author of the novel Porgy on which the opera was based, and it has since been recorded tens of thousands of times by tons of artists all over the world.

The one sung​ by Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong is​ my favorite so far!

In Portugal Summer arrived during the night, it's summer solestice and today we are going to have the longest day of the year, meaning it will be the longest period of daylight.

What is a Solstice?

A solstice is an astronomical event that occurs twice a year in both hemispheres (in June and December) as the sun reaches its highest or lowest point in its path as seen from Earth, as the planet orbits the sun. Both the solstices and the equinoxes are directly connected with the seasons of the year.

Let's look to Bill Nye explaining​ seasons?!

Going back to "Summertime", here are other versions of the song:


- Sam Cooke



- Janis Joplin



- Sublime



- The Zombies



- Ella Fitzgerald (another great version)



- Billie Holiday



What's your favorite version?


Have a wonderful Summer day!!!

Sort:  

nice post :)

Lovely neon cat!! Did you know I'm a cat lover? ;)

no how would i but glad to hear that you love cats

Soon I'll be presenting my cats! :)

Nice one. ...dear

Thank you so much!! This will be my playlist during the day (or at least during the morning)! ;)

@liliana.duarte wat a fab post enjoyed very much

Is summer your favorite season too? :)

Music is life.... 💕

And life is music! :) This is my soundtrack for the summer solestice ;)

some great music to start the day with:) thank you!

I totally agree! This is my soundtrack for the day (or at least during the morning) Smooth!! ;)

Great all his music, it changes us that we hear everywhere. I just love it. Thank you very much for his discoveries. Janis Joplin is really cool

Is Janis Joplin's your favorite version of this song? This music is a healing one and timeless!

I love your choice, great artists! Billie Holiday is mine...Hello Summer, have a great day :)

Thanks for sharing your preference. I'll hear it now!! Basically​ I'm in repeat mode ;)

The oldies are definitely the best, love a good Summer tune :)

I hear it in the morning but pass all day with it in my head! I have another oldie that is timeless and it screams summer (at least for me).

Hope you enjoy it too!!

I love the beach boys, definitely Summer music :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89