5 Songs From People I Competed With at Laptop Battle

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I debated for a little while what to write this post about and thought it would be fun to write a little bit about what was one of the most consistently fun events I got to take part in.

For a number of years Seattle ran an event called Laptop Battle, where electronic musicians had got to compete head to head in single round eliminations 3 minutes in length. The audience would then vote on who would win the round and the winner would continue ahead in a tournament style bracket. It was one of those rare events that encouraged audience participation and performance in electronic music.

When I first entered it was really on a whim. I had been producing in my bedroom for a few years and took a pretty major step outside of my comfort zone to gear what I was doing into a three minute live set, but it was really the encouragement that I needed to get out in front of people and play live. Despite losing the first round of all 4 of the times I participated, I always had a blast.

Here is a rare video of myself in round one back in 2010.

One of the best things about this was meeting other producers and DJs and getting a chance to actually meet other people working in the same space as me. I don't actually live in Seattle, I live about an hour and a half away and it's been isolating living out here for the past 12 years. Seeing people compete here and go on to make really inspiring music has been one of the things that has kept me going over the years.

So, I'll take a break from posting Song Of The Days and use this post to highlight some of the best locals that I got a chance to compete with over the years. Be sure to check out more of their music. Most of this music should appeal to fans of IDM and bass music in general.

  1. IG88 - Hiding In My Hands

  1. The New Law - A Bull In The Woods

  1. Hetrik - Leterque
  1. The Natuebot - Hello
  1. Miniature Airlines - Unmoved By Jazz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34