A SONG ABOUT EVERYTHING

in #music6 years ago

These days it's becoming increasingly difficult for me to post regularly. It's because I'm super busy (which is good), playing shows on the weekends and recording during the week but I can't find the time to post on a daily basis and, more important, I don't have much time to browse around and see what you guys were up to these days. Anyway, a few ''days off'' are on the horizon before we hit Vienna and Trnava (Slovakia) so I want to share what I've been up to. So, here's a story about a song dealing with... well.. EVERYTHING.

everything-peter-kay-580x580.580.580.s.png

I guess we can all agree on the fact that this society has taken a turn for the worse in every concievable way. I'm most certainly not a grumpy old guy who constantly complains about the ''good old times'' but I can't help but notice (although I'm trying not to notice) the daily dose of ''what the fuck'' coming out of my television set, newspapers, internet magazines and radio. And I'm not just talking about the usual problems: politicians not doing their job and stealing money from the people, the economy not working, the overall increase of unemployed people, the environmental chalenges we are facing, the decline of biodiversity and all other problems we are not taking seriously. No, I'm not talking about those, partly because I think they've always been there and partly because I think they can be dealt with. What I'm beginning to feel cannot be dealt with is the general decline in general knowledge and education amongst young people. And I'm not talking just Croatia. I'm talking the world. I have this morning routine where I drink coffee and blankly stare at whatever is on television or on the internet at the moment while waiting to actually wake up and what I see every day is frightening. People all over the world seem detached from reality. They no longer believe in facts and it is unpopular to be ''into knowing things''. Young people are disputing science, everybody has a right to be right, the concept of political correctness has mutated into this unstoppable monster that enables everyone to be offended by everything thus killing the potential for a much needed dose of healthy satire that keeps the world sane, kids have mobile phones before they grow teeth, there's a bunch of people eating Tide pods, there are real flat Earth conspiracy people I thought didn't exist before I met a few and there's currently an outbreak of smallpox in Croatia because parents no longer believe in vaccination. It's a wild world.

WildWildWorldTitle.jpg

It's increasingly hard for me to adapt to these kind of circumstances and I feel I don't really understand how to ''go with it'' in this kind of an environment. There's a term that first appeared in trying to describe posmodern literature but has since spread to describe the general spiritus movens of today's society. The term is POSTMODERN BOREDOM. Postmodern boredom describes the mechanism which perpetuates the younger generations. There's a feeling of general boredom that has descended upon them and it's mostly due to the fact that there is too much available to them too easy. When everything is instantly availabe to you, you become bored, your attention span is shortened and you are unable to focus on what really interests you. When you look at the commercials for products we use everyday (juice, mobile phones, cars, apps, food chain restaurants etc.) you quickly notice there's a pattern. And the pattern is this: it's all about the moment. One is constantly encouraged to ''live in the moment'', ''live the moment'', ''taste the now'', beware that ''YOLO'' etc. The reason for that can be traced back to postmodern boredom. There is nothing that can captivate the mind of a postmodern individual that isn't NOW-THIS-VERY-MOMENT because everything happens so fast that nobody has the time to think outside of ''the moment.'' There's even a book I stubled upon while researching this particular subject called ''Essays on Boredom and Modernity'' and it provides a good insight into the situation.

7333752._UY630_SR1200,630_.jpg

What I've tried to do (in the only way I know how) is to write a song about what I feel is going on around me and how I feel about it all. The title of the song is simply EVERYTHING because I tackle pretty much EVERYTHING that's been bothering me about what this place has become. The bad thing is that these things keep happening every day so it's hard to take one moment in time and call it ''everything'' but the good thing is that postmodernism is all about everything at the same time and ''everything'' can be a good metaphore to whatever next is coming our way. What I want to be clear about is this: THE LYRICS ARE INTENTIONALLY RUDE. They are really really really bad. They are insulting on every possible way and they take no prisoners. Of course, there's a very clear veil of sarcasm and irony in every line and I think this extremely direct and insulting approach is the only way such lyrics can get to people. The music is also unbearable. It was recorded using a bass guitar an a number of pedals and it consists of 3 tracks of total destructive noise. On top of that there are two tracks of going thru the entire frequency spcetrum of a transistor radio. That was the basis. I wanted to capture the postmodern feeling of everything happening simultaniously. I wanted to recreate the process of all available information being in the same place at the same time and what you get is just NOISE. It's unintelligible. You cannot make anything out of it. On top of all that noise comes the distorted vocals track and a sampled drum solo taken from Dave Brubeck's ''Take Five''. The result is what music would sound like if you could scroll it and swipe it.

27583861_10216235306614771_1017910960_n.jpg

(this is my bassist recording the bass tracks)

I'm putting the lyrics here so you can make them out easier:

Tell me something I don’t know!
Would I be better off being just a pretty girl?
I’m an object, NOT AN OBJECTION!
I spent my last dime on the busker on the street,
it’s funny but it’s true.
At least I’m not accused of sexual harrasment,
not yet, but considering what I’ve done with women,
how can I be sure? #metoo
I decided to go secondary vegetarian.
From now on I only eat my vegetarian friends.
My parents never had me vaccinated so, shit,
I think I contracted intelligence.
A friend asked me what I think about abortion.
I said I’d have to try it first to find out.
Every fucking asshole on the street knows me
better than I know myself.
IT’S THE MARCH OF THE MORAL POLICE!
LOOK OUT!
I think I’m becoming genderfluid
but I’m switching genders every week so
I can’t really tell.
These days I feel like I’m gonna fall from
the face of the Eart and since it’s flat
I should be watching my step.
I was in a restaurant the other day,
I heard they make great Tide pods.
Recently I signed a donor card
just to fuck somebody else’s life...
No, don’t worry, it’s OK.
I plan to live forever.
No, seriously,
WE’RE GONNA DO IT, IT’S GONNA BE GREAT!
A lot of people tell me they treated cancer with
alternative medication free methods.
That’s why I use alchohol for my depression:
sound great but doesn’t really work!
Oh, sorry, just a second.
I need to turn on my e-cigarette.
It’s been charging for hours,
now I have a socket for my sexdoll.
How do you take your coffee, sir?
I take my coffee black. Actually, I’d like a latte
but I don’t want to be called a racist.
Black lives matter too, you know?
It’s not that I don’t like you,
it’s just that I DON’T CARE!
If your dick can’t get up, maybe there’s an app for that!
It’s not me. IT’S MY OCD!
I have whatever’s popular in Europe.
I should maybe buy a cat to increase the number of my
Instagram likes.
It’s annoying, isn’t it?
It’s boring and it’s annoying
and it goes on forever
and you work and you sleep
and you eat and you shit
and guess what?
YOU DROP DEAD!

EVERYTHING!!!

And here's the track. It's a 6 minute destruction of... well... EVERYTHING.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23