'The Sleeping Fields' - New Original Music! Electronic/Solo-Piano/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

Screenshot 2018-11-08 20.20.43.png

I wanted to try and experiment

with writing with the new piano instrument pack I found a few back, and really try and put some time into working with the velocity to get things to sound real. For a first attempt, this isn't too bad. There are definitely a few points where it sounds a bit fake, especially with the trill's and quicker little runs, but I think I've got the general idea down, and I will definitely keep practicing with this over the next few weeks.

Listen to The Sleeping Fields here.

I also think the general progression

here is really interesting, and I would like to expand on the general harmonic ideas and make a bigger piece out of it, maybe using the new orchestral packs. Since we only have one instrument here, I've decided to lay out the full progression, with each bullet below outlining a single 4 bar section.

  • We begin on in Aminor (the 1st of 2 Purple sections), playing Amin, Fmaj, Cadd2, then Emaj.

  • In the next four bars (second set of purple), we resolve to our parallel major chord of A, then to an Fmin (I love the dissonance here), Gaddb9, then a G#maj7.

  • In the Blue section, we begin on an F#5, then down to an Fmaj (also a really great sound), then Gadd2 again, and finally ending the 4 bars with an Emaj.

  • Finally, we have the Grey section, which is similar to the 2nd Purple, using Amaj, Fmin, Gaddb9, and ending on G#7, before repeating. After the 2nd grey section, we end the song on the spread voiced F#5 from the Blue section earlier.

Screenshot 2018-11-08 20.21.20.pngThe Full Progression.

I hope you enjoy this one! I'll be sure to update as I work more with the velocities and try and get a better and better piano sound!



Check out my Variashuns E.P. here.


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17