'Sounds of the Spirit of the Forest' - New Original Music - Submission for the Steem Monsters Art Contest! Electronic/Retro/Videogame + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Screenshot 2018-12-11 21.59.34.png

So I've been playing

a lot of Steem Monsters, and noticed they were having an art competition! I decided to participate and write a song inspired by Steem Monsters, and voila! I wanted it to sound like an old videogame, and it came out VERY Gameboy-esque, which was great! I definitely felt it should have a sort of "foresty"(hence the title) feel, with a bit of a Zelda vibe, and I think overall it came out really good. Hope you enjoy it! Let's go through it.

Screenshot 2018-12-11 22.01.57.png

Track 1 is our main

instrument, which begins by playing basically just chords with Track 2. However, a melody line comes in, which continues for a good portion of the song. The screenshot below shows the 2 orange and 1 blue section, consolidated together, with the melody line on top. Track 2 follows the same lower half, playing the diads but no melody.

Screenshot 2018-12-11 22.02.07.pngTrack 1, described above.
Listen to Sounds of the Spirit of the Forest here.

Track 3 is our bass

which is just an arpeggiated and 2 octave lower version of the chords in Track 2. Track 4 doubles track 2, and Track 5 doubles Track 1 with the melody. However, these made up the end of the song which I cut out as it got a bit too long and repetitive.

Screenshot 2018-12-11 22.02.20.pngThe harmony, used by Tracks 2 and 3 (and 4).

Finally we have tracks

6 and 7, which are the drum tracks. Mostly the same beat, but I figured that was fitting with the overall 8bit/retro videogame vibe. Track 7 uses a really effected, heavily delayed drum kit which is almost inaudible until the break, where it fills in the background a little bit.

Listen to Sounds of the Spirit of the Forest here.

I hope you've enjoyed this little bonus song for today! If you want to support the game this is inspired by, check out @steemmonsters and the contest page here! Thanks for listening!



Check out my Variashuns E.P. here.


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

I am an automatic upvote bot, only for #steemmonsters, #steemmonster. If i liked your post, you will get an upvote. Only for Steemmonsters. Once a day, i published the posts, that have recieved an upvote.

cool thanks! I know you're a robot but you're a very nice one!

Sweet! That totally has that original Zelda vibe!
Nice work. :)

thanks man! Yeah I like the main instrument, very 8bit gamey.

Definitely add up to the GameBoy nostalgia. Nice

Thanks, yeah I like how it came out! Some new synths I downloaded a month back.

What program do you use to create this music?

This is all with Ableton Live. But I have an older version, haven't gotten 10 yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23