'Gruf' - New Original Music - A Silly Little Idea, Made in 10 Minutes - Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough

in #music4 years ago

Screen Shot 20200921 at 9.40.14 PM.png

This was sort of a timed writing

Melda Productions MAutoPitch
challenge, though I was trying to do something really fast. I set 10 minutes on a timer, hoping to create something in less time, but I got into screwing around w/ the Autotune, and got a little distracted. Tracks 2 and 3 are both little samples from the Native Instruments Komplete Start Package, with Track 2 adding a strange digital beepy sound, and Track 3 a fuzzy sort of percussion line. Track 2 has a noise gate, side-chained to the vocal samples in Track 3, so it comes in with a sort of choppy rhythm. Track 3 was originally the lead vocal track from Stevie Wonder's Superstition, chopped up a bit, warped to the BPM of the track, and then Auto-tuned. I messed around with basically every key on the MAutopitch, and eventually just left it on chromatic, and played around with the formants to get some weirder sounds from it.

Screen Shot 20200921 at 9.41.59 PM.png

Track 7, Chords


Listen to Gruf here...


As I was listening to Track 3, I realized that it started on a

Track 8, LABS Synth
note, then moved up a half step, and repeated this, with some slight variation from the effects. So, I decided to call that first note our leading tone, and the second note our tonic, F (E# in this case) and F#, respectively. So, I figured it might be kind of silly to write a happy, F#major thing around this. First, I dropped in some drums in Track 4, then an Equator synth, which I wound up recording into an audio clip in Track 5, so I could mess around with the warping a bit. Track 6 plays our chords, which stick to a mostly diatonic progression. Finally, we have Track 7, pictured to the left, which just adds another layer of synthiness. I altered the progression slightly on the second time around, which required me to chop up the audio clips and try and tune them a bit, so it gets a little wonky for half a bar, but I also ran out of time at this point, so I had to roll with it!

Hope you enjoy this silly little number! Thanks for listening!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34