'Chøord' - New Original Music - 15 Minute Songwriting Challenge - Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough

in #music4 years ago

Screen Shot 20201013 at 9.42.30 PM.png

I did continue to work on the song

Track 1, A (Yellow) Section
idea I'd shared for the last two nights, but I also did some other stuff last night, and thought this turned out pretty cool, at least for a rough idea done in 15 minutes, so I figured it's worth sharing. I gave myself 15 minutes, with the goal of just writing a cool progression, maybe with two parts, which is exactly what I wound up with. I managed to get 7 other tracks on top of this, though 3 of them are playing the same progression, with various degrees of variation, and the others really basic single note lines. Track 1 is where I began, mapping out the basic progression, which consist of the A part in Yellow, and B part in Green. The A part begins on a C7, resolving to our tonic of F- (with a b13 on top), then a Dbmaj6, to an Eb6, before repeating again. The B part, in Green, is half the length, and gets a bit weirder and dissonant, which I'm always partial to. It starts on an F#11 (F lydian I suppose), to a Dminb13, then a Gadd9, and finally, Amin7add11.

Screen Shot 20201013 at 9.42.18 PM.png

Track 1, B (Green) Section


Listen to Chøord here...


Track 2 originally was a descending synth line, which stuck to

Track 7, Simple Line, B Part
chord tones in the B part, which I wound up recording into an audio track, chopping into 2 bar increments, then reversing, which I think is way cooler. Track 3 just plays the top 2 notes of the A part, with a different synth to fill things in some more. Track 4 provides a percussive, woodblock synth sound, which just does little two note fills at the beginning of each 2 bar section. Track 5 uses the same chords as Track 1, just with some pitch bending happening, which I recorded into Track 6. I must have forgot to mute Track 5, but it turns out it made for a cool, phasey effect, as they have a bit of variation between them. Track 7 plays a little synth line, which is okay, but I think needs to be played with a synth that has a sharper attack, as this one feels a bit floaty. Finally, we have Track 8, which is sort of a bass part, sticking to root notes almost entirely.

Hope you enjoy last night's creation! Thanks for listening!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14