'A.I.E.I.E.I.O.' - New Original Music/Song Idea/Demo! Electronic/Synthpop/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2018-09-05 20.15.54.png

This is FAR from a finished song,

but I didn't have anything else to share today that WAS finished, so I figured this would be a fun one. I am going to be adding to/removing from this over the next few days, so it'll be interesting to see what changes in a future update. I began with the first track, which reminded me a lot of the band The Faint, so I tried to write something around it like that, but things wound up changing as I was jamming. The drums are NOT the kit I want to use, but I needed a placeholder to temporarily at least supply a beat, so apologies for how crappy and simple they are, lol. Let's go through it!

Listen to A.I.E.I.E.I.O. here.

Track 1 is the basis for the rest of the song,

playing back and forth between C and A. Tracks 2 and 3 use the same tone, with 2 playing the C note, and 3 playing the A note. I separated these because when I had a single track playing them, this instruments built in filter would accent the wrong parts. So I cheated a bit and just separated the notes into 2 tracks, haha. Track 4 also follows this progression, adding another layer of robo-synthness.

Screenshot 2018-09-05 20.16.14.pngTrack 5, the bass, described below.

Track 5 is our bass line,

pictured in the screenshot above. The above progression plays 2x, then instead of beginning on an Aminor arpeggio, the next variation begins on an Fmajor and plays 2x, before the whole thing repeats. When we reach the break, where the drums cut out, Tracks 1-5 ALL jump up a 5th, giving us a temporary modulation, which drops back into the original key when the drums re-enter.

Listen to A.I.E.I.E.I.O. here.

The drums are far and away the

least interesting part of the track, so that will be the first thing I change during the next few days of editing. I am definitely going to add some more sections too, as the repeated harmonies get repetitive, but I think just by changing the drums I will find a lot of inspiration and feel more confident building on top of them.

Enjoy today's song! Thanks for listening!



||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

I liked this it has a futuristic sort of feeling like the future of the 1980s, which is very awesome to my ears.

Thanks I thought it was kind of '80s too!

Cool vibes!!!! :)

Thanks! Appreciate it, kind of a random little riff, but I wanna expand on it, I like the idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81