Jam Nations E01: Reggie, Trust and Gilbert (Zimbabwe)

in #music6 years ago (edited)


IMG-20180123-WA0003.jpgJAM NATIONS E01: (from left to right) Reggie, Trust and Gilbert from Zimbabwe

This is Dtube , Steemit original and exclusive content

Hello fellow steemians and Dtube,

This is a collaborative post between @songsmiths and @edprivat

Welcome to the first episode of Jam Nations where you discover musicians around South Africa, Africa and hopefully the world, through a duo with me you host, @edprivat, featuring Gilbert (bass), Reggie( guitar)and Trust(guitar) for this first episode.

By the way do yourself a favor and go follow Rob on his @songsmiths blog, he basically offers the opportunity to great singers/musicians and songwriters in South Africa to come record in his studio, he is a versatile musician//producer , a marketing guru with a very enthusiastic and generous personality that will fit perfectly in the Steemit Universe.Oh and he is from Philly!What can I say!
Welcome Rob!
https://steemit.com/@songsmiths

WATCH JAM NATIONS EPISODE 1 ON DTUBE

The idea of introducing these guys came to me last week. I was walking back from the shop as I do all the time, and I could hear music coming from a house. It was traditional African music.

You see, being a part of steemit opens new horizons.
Before steemit , I would have probably moved on with my life, acknowledging the nice musical vibe emanating from the second floor on the grey house under construction.

But for some reason, I started waving at them like a crazy man, and someone waved back at me from the balcony, they asked if I could sing, I said yes and offered me to jam .

I said “ I’ll be right back” and 10 minutes later, I had my sound system and guitar on back ready to go jam with the unknown.

In my mind , I thought it was worth it, what do you have to lose after all?

I am lucky not to live too far from them, my PA system has wheels, and curiosity was giving me wings.

After a short introduction I set up my equipment, my sound system, my loop station, and we start jamming.
First chords strummed…A disaster, no one is in tune with each other. And what style are we gonna play anyway?

While tuning their instrument, I asked them how in hell they manage to play together with instruments that are not tuned.
They basically use one instrument as a reference , it becomes their A 440Hz if I may say, and tune accordingly.

Reggie the older guy explained to me that back in their village they use a fishing line tensed to the max on a wooden box as a resonator to create a guitar, and that's how they jam. I thought the story was pretty cool.

After few minutes A blend of Afro-beatbox and traditional music comes out, we jammed for an hour, it was great and eventually I had to go home.( to post at 12 like I do every day)

I regretted at the time not to write anything on steemit about it, but I couldn’t find the right angle to it.

During the week I was chatting with my friend Rob from @songsmiths, about my experience and it came as an epiphany.

WATCH JAM NATIONS EPISODE 1 ON DTUBE

My idea was the following:

Steemit is amazing ,there’s tons of amazing musicians out there, let’s do something, like what rob is already doing with @songsmiths but with me as a host, a project on the road once in a while to showcase musicians around Johannesburg, then South Africa, Africa and finally the world if we can get there.

I always love improvising and mixing genres, experimenting. That’s what music is about, finding new challenges out of your comfort zone.

Anyway I contacted Trust the guitar player, asking him If I could come with my friend Rob recording a song all together.

This is what came up that meeting, a very special version of Wake Me Up by Aloe Black.
It was fun for all of us , thanks to Rob for his special participation, his serious egg shaking and drums. and special thanks to Trust, Reggie and Gilbert to be brave enough to jam with us on unknown ground.As you can see they're quite shy but they did a great job!

If his first episode is a success, who knows what great things can come up from this :). If not, hopefully Rob will be okay to do few more until we get a good response.

Remember that music is about sharing, and everyone is allowed to dream

#JamNations #episode #one #new #series #original #vlog

If you enjoy our series, we will upload an episode 2 of Jam Nations.If you are a musician, artist or band living in Johannesburg and interested in a duo for our series, don’t hesitate to contact me !

If you know someone that is talented and living in South Africa, contact me, even if they're not on steem it would be a great way to introduce them to the world.

WATCH JAM NATIONS EPISODE 1 ON DTUBE

IMG-20180123-WA0002.jpg

.

Thanks for watching !

@edprivat


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is beautiful! Great passion and soul here :)

Thanks ! Prop to them for accepting the challenge of playing a song they didn't know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72