Revisiting Pink Floyd's 1979 Album, The Wall

in #music6 years ago

It takes courage to listen to Pink Floyd's album, The Wall, which requires you to think about painful emotions and feelings. If you believe ignorance is bliss, then don't bother listening to it; you won't make it halfway through. If you want something that makes you feel warm and fuzzy inside go watch Zootopia. Full disclosure: this commentary is more of a love letter than a critique. Also, I like Zootopia. After an intro, I'll write about each track on the album and include some, but not all, lyrics.

They say that the most successful posts on Steemit can be read in 3 minutes. This one might take 3 hours, so don't ever say I'm just here for the money, I'll be lucky if one person reads it, but that's ok. Good luck.


If you are brave enough to contemplate your dark half, The Wall is an effective cautionary tale. It tells a story of human nature so well that you'll find yourself searching your own feelings, no matter how you've buried them. You'll be surprised that examining them, with a little help from Pink Floyd, will make you feel better.

Many critics of The Wall say it's dark and depressing, no fun. I'm guessing most didn't pay close enough attention. You have to get some high quality headphones or earbuds, find a quiet place, turn that shit up, and open your mind. Put the kids to bed and tell your partner that you've got something important to do for 80 minutes and 54 seconds.

It will beautifully present to you emotional testimonies that make you sad, but will also point out how ignoring sad feelings can lead to depression, anger, and at worst violence. The Wall is about self-destruction and self-isolation, Sylvia Plath's Bell Jar if you will, but listening actually makes you feel less isolated, more connected, and in the end more hopeful. The music reinforces these ideas perfectly. Music is it's own language, and this music will speak to you. The Wall is a masterpiece.

I'm not a professional writer or musician, but The Wall means a lot to me and I wanted to pay it tribute somehow. When I was young and going through a hard time, I listened to this album from start to finish almost every night. Not only was the music therapeutic, but the message of the album was as well. For the first time in many years I listened to it recently and it quickly brought tears to my eyes. I realized I wanted to write about it.

The Wall is the story of a person's life: the innocence of youth, restlessness of young adulthood, the resignation of middle age, and the associated sadness, fear, and anger. It's told mostly as a first or third person narrative about our main character, Pink. This character is loosely modeled on the life of Roger Waters and Syd Barrett. The Wall's central metaphor is "the wall" a psychological barrier we create to hide our feelings and fears. It explains that society's contributions to the shame we feel constitute the "bricks" of this wall. It is brutal and shocking at times. But you know what? Not as brutal as real life. We've become desensitized to the brutality of real life, but The Wall frames it in such a way that you can't ignore it and how it makes you feel. The Wall's music and tone ranges from haunting melodies and melancholy to furious jamming and anger.

To understand this album, you have to give it your full attention. If you don't really listen to it, it won't make any sense. Every word matters, in the right order. Don't hit shuffle.

The artist behind the message and lyrics of the album is Roger Waters. David Gilmour is no doubt one of the best guitarists in history, and he's at the top of his game on this album. Nick Mason had already started mentally checking out from Pink Floyd at this time, but the drums are still well done. Michael Kamen and Bob Ezrin also contributed greatly to the album.

Track 1: In the Flesh

The Wall is two acts. Act 1 is the narrator building the wall around himself, Act 2 is about the effect of this wall on himself and others.

In the Flesh, the opening track, breaks the 4th wall and the narrator speaks directly to the audience. In summary it says hey! you came to see some show to make you feel like life is great and everything's cool, well sorry to disappoint you but that's all bullshit and you won't be getting that here.

So ya thought ya might like to go to the show
To feel the warm thrill of confusion, that space cadet glow
Tell me is something eluding you, sunshine?
Is this not what you expected to see?
If you wanna find out what's behind these cold eyes
You'll just have to claw your way through this disguise

He's saying this show isn't an escape, you're going to have to face something "cold", something real.

Track 2: The Thin Ice

Momma loves her baby
And Daddy loves you too
And the sea may look warm to you Babe
And the sky may look blue

If you should go skating
On the thin ice of modern life
Dragging behind you the silent reproach
Of a million tear stained eyes
Don't be surprised, when a crack in the ice
Appears under your feet
You slip out of your depth and out of your mind
With your fear flowing out behind you
As you claw the thin ice

With a beautiful, haunting melody played on piano, synth, base, and guitar, the song opens with a lullaby type verse representing the innocence of childhood, followed by a harsher turn in the music, in which Roger Waters gives a warning about real life. Don't be surprised when life gets hard; it's inevitable.

Track 3: Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 1

Daddy's flown across the ocean
Leaving just a memory
A snapshot in the family album
Daddy what else did you leave for me?
Daddy, what'd ya leave behind for me?!?
All in all it was just a brick in the wall.
All in all it was all just bricks in the wall.

This is the first mention of "the wall". As my mom used to say to me, "who told you life was fair?" We all have problems. They can make us sad, frustrated, helpless, and we suffer. For Roger Waters, writer of The Wall, his first wake up call to the shit life can drop on us was his father dying in World War II. He never knew his father. I'd imagine when you're an innocent little boy and you begin noticing the other boys have fathers and you don't, you lose your innocence quickly.

Over time, we learn to deal with the memories and experiences that hurt us. Often it's by trying to forget them(hiding them behind...a wall?? sort of!). The problem is, we're not really good at forgetting past trauma, especially painful parts of it. In this album, these things that hurt us and make us feel bad as we grown up, are the metaphorical "bricks in the wall".

Also, the music picks up again here with some jamming bass and guitar riffs, and bangin' drums.

Track 4: The Happiest Days of Our Lives

When we grew up and went to school
There were certain teachers who would
Hurt the children any way they could
By pouring their derision
Upon anything we did
Exposing every weakness
However carefully hidden by the kids

Tracks 3,4, and 5 blend together into one song, but in this part, a school scenario is described where the teachers treat the children badly, embarrassing them and discouraging them. Just another brick in the wall.

Track 5: Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 2

We don't need no education
We don't need no thought control
No dark sarcasm in the classroom
Teachers leave them kids alone
Hey! Teachers! Leave them kids alone
All in all it's just another brick in the wall
All in all you're just another brick in the wall

A continuation of the school theme, this part expands past the teachers to the system in general; how it forces children to think a certain way instead of expressing themselves freely.

Track 6: Mother

Mother is one of the most loved songs on the album. The music is beautiful, including an epic guitar solo in the middle, and the structure is cool; the verse is the child asking the mother questions, and the chorus is the mother answering the child. I'll have to put all the lyrics here because it's too hard to choose just a few. The song describes the questions of adolescence, depression that comes with realizing there's no concrete meaning to life, first experiences with the opposite sex, and how a mother's influence affects your development. Often the overprotectiveness of parents can influence how the child sees the world and can contribute to "the wall" we build around our feelings.

Mother, do you think they'll drop the bomb?
Mother, do you think they'll like this song?
Mother, do you think they'll try to break my balls?
Ooh, aah, mother, should I build the wall?

Mother, should I run for president?
Mother, should I trust the government?
Mother, will they put me in the firing line?
Ooh, aah, is it just a waste of time?

Hush now, baby, baby, don't you cry
Mama's gonna make all of your nightmares come true
Mama's gonna put all of her fears into you
Mama's gonna keep you right here under her wing
She won't let you fly but she might let you sing
Mama's gonna keep baby cozy and warm

Ooh, babe, ooh, babe, ooh, babe
Of course mama's gonna help build the wall

Mother, do you think she's good enough for me?
Mother, do you think she's dangerous to me?
Mother, will she tear your little boy apart?
Ooh, aah, mother, will she break my heart?

Hush now, baby, baby, don't you cry
Mama's gonna check out all your girlfriends for you
Mama won't let anyone dirty get through

Mama's gonna wait up 'til you get in
Mama will always find out where you've been
Mamma's gonna keep baby healthy and clean

Ooh, babe, ooh, babe, ooh, babe
You'll always be baby to me

Mother, did it need to be so high?

Track 7: Goodbye Blue Sky

[child's voice speaking]Look, Mummy. There's an airplane up in the sky.

Did, did, did, did you see the frightened ones?
Did, did, did, did you hear the falling bombs?
Did, did, did, did you ever wonder
Why we had to run for shelter

When the promise of a brave new world
Unfurled beneath a clear blue sky?

Goodbye blue sky

Very simple guitar picking but beautiful in this song. It is a haunting song with ominous hints of darkness to come; it's about a pattern in human society that has existed from the beginning. The powerful are corrupt and bystanders are destroyed in the process. There is revolution and war, and then the cycle repeats itself over and over. When you're growing up this is not a happy realization but it's one most of us have to deal with. Another brick in the wall.

Track 8: Empty Spaces

What shall we use
To fill the empty spaces
Where we used to talk?

How shall I fill
The final places?
How should I complete the wall

I think this short, dark, and sarcastic track is about the narrator's first experience of depression; becoming jaded, and realizing the wall that is forming inside him, and that he's powerless to stop it.

Track 9: Young Lust

I am just a new boy
Stranger in this town
Where are all the good times?
Who's gonna show this stranger around?
Ooh, I need a dirty woman
Ooh, I need a dirty girl

Most of us leave home at some point. Going off to college, moving for a new job, or in a rock star's case, going out on tour. The thrills we seek as young adults when we first experience real freedom, to "have fun". Whether it's drugs, partying, money, women, whatever, having a sort of honeymoon phase with life, not quite ready to accept reality for what it is, even though deep down we're afraid of it(of course some people never make it out of this phase), so we distract ourselves. The narrator, Pink, is in a band, he has groupies, and he can have them anytime he wants. That physical indulgence though, can leave you feeling lost and empty, without a sense of purpose or real emotional connections to people.

Young Lust is a great, classic style rock song. Gilmour is awesome on guitar with a Jimmy Page like guitar riff. Nick Mason's drums are great(not as good as they are on Pink Floyd's album Animals).

Track 10: One of my Turns

This song and the following one are very dark. From here on, the narrator just starts going insane. He can't escape his depression and he starts to crack up. Many of us don't experience total breakdowns, but all of us suffer at some points in our lives. So in this extreme example, I can still relate to having "bad days", and for the less fortunate of us, some of those bad days can actually be life or death situations. When someone commits suicide, friends and family can get angry at some point, they ask themselves how their loved ones could be so weak, but that's misguided. We don't know why anything happens, why people do the things they do. Truthfully we don't know what the fuck is going on in general, who are we to judge? Life is meant to be lived, so live if you can. That's all I have to say about that. On with the show.

The song starts with our rockstar narrator bringing home one of the groupies from the previous track. She is talking about how impressed with the hotel room she is at first, but as you'll see in the lyrics below the narrator is not in the mood to have fun this time. It flows right into the next tracks so I'll just have lyrics below for those. The pace of these tracks is very slow and powerful. It's emotional and raw.

"Oh my God! What a fabulous room! Are all these your guitars?
"This place is bigger than our apartment!"
"Um, Can I get a drink of water?"
"You want some, huh?"
"Oh wow, look at this tub? Do you want to take bath?"
"What are watching?"
"Hello?"
"Are you feeling okay?"

Day after day, love turns grey
Like the skin of a dying man.
And night after night, we pretend its all right
But I have grown older and
You have grown colder and
Nothing is very much fun any more.
And I can feel one of my turns coming on.
I feel cold as a razor blade,
Tight as a tourniquet,
Dry as a funeral drum.

Run to the bedroom,
In the suitcase on the left
You'll find my favorite axe.
Don't look so frightened
This is just a passing phase,
One of my bad days.
Would you like to watch T.V.?
Or get between the sheets?
Or contemplate the silent freeway?
Would you like something to eat?
Would you like to learn to fly?
Would'ya?
Would you like to see me try?
Would you like to call the cops?
Do you think it's time I stopped?
Why are you running away?

Yeah. Not doing so well. Referencing his suicidal thoughts, "would you like to learn to fly, would you like to see me try".

Track 11: Don't Leave Me Now

pfflowers.gif

Ooooo Babe
Don't leave me now
Don't say it's the end of the road
Remember the flowers I sent
I need you, Babe
To put through the shredder in front of my friends
Oh Babe
Don't leave me now
How could you go?
When you know how I need you
To beat to a pulp on a Saturday night
Oh Babe
Don't leave me now
How can you treat me this way?
Running away
I need you, Babe
Why are you running away?

It's a slow, dark, eerie song, and obviously it's brutal. I think in an overstated way it's talking about how we take our bad feelings out on the people around us, even the ones we love. Feeling bad about yourself can make you selfish and self destructive. As in the song, it's tempting to blame your own faults on others when you're in that state. Specifically I think Roger Waters is referencing his divorce, perhaps it could be him or his wife talking.

Track 12: Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 3

I don't need no arms around me
And I don't need no drugs to calm me
I have seen the writing on the wall
Don't think I need anything at all

No, don't think I'll need anything at all

All in all it was all just bricks in the wall
All in all you were all just bricks in the wall

This signals that the wall is almost complete and the narrator is retreating behind it, convinced that he doesn't need anything or anyone. In his case it starts leading him to be a psychotic egomaniac.

Track 13: Goodbye Cruel World

Goodbye cruel world
I'm leaving you today
Goodbye
Goodbye
Goodbye
Goodbye, all you people
There's nothing you can say
To make me change my mind
Goodbye

This track marks the halfway point in the album. There is almost no background music, just a bass track. The singing is in a very pretty melody though. The narrator, in a sad and regretful tone, is saying goodbye, revealing his true feelings for the last time, as the final brick in the wall is put in place. Sadly it comes off like a suicide note. As I said before this album is about facing the truth about life; it pulls no punches. Life can be such a struggle that we feel like giving up, and many people do. Art like The Wall helps open our eyes to the world outside us, and that can make our troubles seem smaller and more manageable.

Track 14: Hey You

This begins the second act of The Wall. It is not as cohesive as the first half; it moves around topics a more randomly(until the last half or so). We know the narrator is emotionally isolated behind his wall, and many songs talk about negative effects of such emotional detachment ranging from drugs and social unrest to outright genocide.

Hey You is a track that, like In The Flesh, calls out to the audience. It reminds me of the song, Wish You Were Here, in that it asks you a question, are you going to be weak or strong, strength being compassionate and not ego-centric. Are you going to impress Yoda, or give in to the dark side. Here are just a few of the lyrics.

Hey you, out there in the cold
Getting lonely, getting old
Can you feel me?
Hey you, standing in the aisles
With itchy feet and fading smiles
Can you feel me?
Hey you, don't help them to bury the light
Don't give in without a fight

Hey you, out there on the road
Always doing what you're told
Can you help me?
Hey you, out there beyond the wall
Breaking bottles in the hall
Can you help me?
Hey you, don't tell me there's no hope at all
Together we stand, divided we fall

Track 15: Is There Anybody Out There?

This track just has some eerie music and then says one line, "Is there anybody out there?"

Track 16: Nobody Home

This is one of my favorites. Some songs are a more stand-a-lone on the second half and this is an example. It refers to two or three different people that are apparently depressed and lost inside themselves. It's beautifully driven by the piano. One theory is that he's describing keyboardist Rick Wright and his drug habit. Here's some of the lyrics.

I've got a little black book with my poems in
Got a bag with a toothbrush and a comb in
When I'm a good dog, they sometimes throw me a bone in
I got elastic bands keepin' my shoes on
Got those swollen-hand blues
I got thirteen channels of shit on the T.V. to choose from
I've got electric light
And I've got second sight
I got amazing powers of observation
And that is how I know
When I try to get through
On the telephone to you
There'll be nobody home

Got a grand piano to prop up my mortal remains

I've got wild staring eyes
And I've got a strong urge to fly
But I got nowhere to fly to
Ooh, babe when I pick up the phone
there's still nobody home

Track 17: Vera

Vera is an interesting song. It's a sad and reminiscent reference to Vera Lynn, an English singer who's songs were popular during World War II(in which Roger Water's father died). I haven't mentioned this yet, but throughout the album, there's a lot of background soundbites of old war movies. They're very faint behind and between songs, so you have to really listen to make out what they're saying. Roger Waters is very political, and although this is a personal album, you can still hear examples of his anti-war sentiment. I'd say the dark emotions explored in The Wall are relatable to a society at war, especially propaganda, which is heavily referenced in Track 23, Waiting for the Worms. The track about Vera Lynn basically just references her war-time hit "We'll Meet Again". To me the lyrics sound like a cry for help from someone in desperation. It's a simple song with a pretty yet melancholy tune backed up heavily by an orchestral section.

Does anybody here remember Vera Lynn?
Remember how she said that
We would meet again
Some sunny day?
Vera, Vera
What has become of you
Does anybody else in here
Feel the way I do?

Track 18: Bring the Boys Back Home

Now after referencing a war-time hit song, it flows straight into a direct political anti-war message, stop the senseless suffering.

Bring the boys back home
Bring the boys back home
Don't leave the children on their own, no, no
Bring the boys back home

Track 19: Comfortably Numb

This is probably the most famous song from The Wall. The guitar solo by David Gilmour is consistently named one of the top 3 guitar solos every played. It's a song about giving up on happiness, swallowing your sadness, and just going through the motions, avoiding conflict and... comfortable. The story goes that Roger Waters was feeling sick before a show, and someone sent in a doctor to give him a shot of medication so he could play, but without telling him what it was or asking permission. That inspired him initially to write the song, and then it grew into a larger message about lost innocence, hopelessness, and resignation that living brings.

Hello? Hello? Hello?
Is there anybody in there?
Just nod if you can hear me
Is there anyone at home?
Come on now
I hear you're feeling down
Well I can ease your pain
Get you on your feet again
Relax
I'll need some information first
Just the basic facts
Can you show me where it hurts?

There is no pain you are receding
A distant ship smoke on the horizon
You are only coming through in waves
Your lips move but I can't hear what you're saying
When I was a child I had a fever
My hands felt just like two balloons
Now I've got that feeling once again
I can't explain you would not understand
This is not how I am
I have become comfortably numb

Okay
Just a little pinprick
There'll be no more, ahhhhh
But you may feel a little sick
Can you stand up?
I do believe it's working, good
That'll keep you going through the show
Come on it's time to go

There is no pain you are receding
A distant ship, smoke on the horizon
You are only coming through in waves
Your lips move but I can't hear what you're saying
When I was a child
I caught a fleeting glimpse
Out of the corner of my eye
I turned to look but it was gone
I cannot put my finger on it now
The child is grown
The dream is gone
I have become comfortably numb

Track 20: The Show Must Go On

So now the narrator is numbed up comfortably behind his wall, but he's starting to crack up. Some great vocal arrangements in this song.

must the show go on?
(Ooh, pa) take me home, take me home, take me home
(Ooh, ma) let me go
There must be some mistake
I didn't mean to let them take away my soul
Am I too old, is it too late?
where has the feeling gone?
(Ooh, ma, ooh, pa) will I remember the songs?
(Ooh, ah)
The show must go on

Track 21: In The Flesh, Part Two

Coming full circle, this is another version of the very first track of the album, "In The Flesh". However, this time, the narrator is insane and paranoid, and the concert turns into more of a nazi rally, where he has become purely internalized and doesn't feel any emotion to other people, other than what seems to be hatred. Egomania can make people cruel, and it often leads to violence. As I've said before this is a brutally honest work and Roger Water's lyrics are especially brutal here. He uses derogatory language, but in a way that's meant to make the listener feel how wrong it is, while at the same time seeing inside the mind of someone who believes it. After all, we've listened to the album so far and know how he turned into this monster.

So ya thought ya
Might like to go to the show
To feel that warm thrill of confusion
That space cadet glow
I've got some bad news for you sunshine
Pink isn't well, he stayed back at the hotel
And they sent us along as a surrogate band
We're gonna find out where you fans really stand

Are there any queers in the theater tonight?
Get them up against the wall
There's one in the spotlight, he don't look right to me
Get him up against the wall
That one looks Jewish!
And that one's a coon!
Who let all of this riff-raff into the room?
There's one smoking a joint!
And another with spots!
If I had my way
I'd have all of you shot!

Track 22: Run Like Hell

This fast, guitar jamming track is an expression of terror at what life is like when society is at its worst. A modern example would be North Korea. Everything we want to prevent happening to our culture, and the point is that it all starts with individual suffering, sadness, and anger.

Run.

You better make your face up in your favourite disguise
With your button down lips and your roller blind eyes
With your empty smile and your hungry heart
Feel the bile rising from your guilty past
With your nerves in tatters as the cockle shell shatters
And the hammers batter down the door
You better run

Run.

You better run all day and run all night
And keep your dirty feelings deep inside
And if you're taking your girlfriend out tonight
You better park the car well out of sight
Cause if they catch you in the back seat trying to pick her locks
They're gonna send you back to Mother in a cardboard box
You better run

Track 23: Waiting for the Worms

This is really a continuation of the last track. It's about ruthless egomaniacs taking advantage of civilized society, because of what they deem weakness, but is in fact empathy and compassion. Fascism like this is no fantasy, there are many countries where saying the wrong thing or looking different can kill you. Most of human history has been that way, and it could happen again anywhere. The scary thing is that it doesn't necessarily happen fast, and by the time people try to stop it, it's too late.

Ooh, you cannot reach me now
Ooh, no matter how you try
Goodbye, cruel world, it's over
Walk on by
Sitting in a bunker here behind my wall
Waiting for the worms to come
In perfect isolation here behind my wall
Waiting for the worms to come
Waiting to cut out the deadwood
Waiting to clean up the city
Waiting to follow the worms
Waiting to put on a black shirt
Waiting to weed out the weaklings
Waiting to smash in their windows
And kick in their doors

Track 24: Stop

Here's where our narrator finally cracks. He's gone mad and can't take it anymore. Now he wonders, how did I get like this? Did the world do this to me or did I do it to myself? How do I make it stop.

Stop!
I want to go home
Take off this uniform and leave the show
And I'm waiting in this cell because I have to know
Have I been guilty all this time?

Track 25: The Trial

It makes sense that the next song describes a trial, a trial where he himself is being judged Each of the "bricks" in the wall that contributed to his character appears like a criminal prosecutor, deriding his weakness. However it's a trial that takes place in his own mind. This song is the climax of the album.

The three "prosecuters" take the form of one of his cruel teachers, his ex-wife, and his mother. It's a fascinating song lyrically but I don't want to include all the lyrics below. In the end Pink finds himself guilty and can't conceal his true feelings anymore, therefore tearing down the wall. It is not completely clear, but the implication is that he has gone insane in the process or perhaps killed. The last verse, sung as the judge in the trial:

The evidence before the court is
Incontrovertible, there's no need for
The jury to retire
In all my years of judging
I have never heard before
Of someone more deserving
Of the full penalty of law
The way you made them suffer
Your exquisite wife and mother
Fills me with the urge to defecate

Since, my friend, you have revealed your
Deepest fear
I sentence you to be exposed before
Your peers
Tear down the wall


Track 26: Outside the Wall

The last track is, a very short, gentle, and cathartic song that reminds us that it's not all bad, that we don't have to isolate ourselves from one another. As the earlier song "Hey You" reminds us, "Together we stand, divided we fall". Even if you hit rock bottom, there are people who will help you if you let them. It is quiet and unassuming, but it is absolutely one of the most important songs on the album.

All alone, or in twos
The ones who really love you
Walk up and down outside the wall
Some hand in hand
Some gathered together in bands

The bleeding hearts and the artists
Make their stand
And when they've given you their all
Some stagger and fall after all it's not easy
banging your heart against some mad bugger's Wall

final wall pic.jpg

If you're feeling lost, alone, or confused, talk to someone about it. And also, listen to The Wall, it may bring you some clarity.

The End.

current cryptastic sig2.jpg

Photo sources:

  1. Most images are from Pink Floyd's The Wall The Movie: copyright MGM, 1982, flower animation by the brilliant Gerald Scarfe.
  2. Also some album art which was released by Pink Floyd and Harvest, Columbia records in 1979
  3. Disney's Zootopia screenshot
Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

I have literally listened to Pink Flyod, non stop, back to back for days. I don't know if I could do it again.

trust me I understand, but I'll tell you after taking a few years off, it's just as awesome as it was then.

I remember going to see them perform the wall in London. They literally built a wall in front of them, out of huge cardboard bricks until they disappeared behind the wall at the end of the first half. Then they knocked it down during the second half of the concert.

On the way hom the tube station was full of people carrying massive cardboard bricks. They'd climbed on the stage and taken them as souvenirs. All a bit surreal!

that's great, what a cool experience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04