My latest song, "Love In My Heart"

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Hello, steemians, and welcome to my studio, eh!

I wrote the words to this song last fall, prompted by a conversation in the replies to a post. It was one of those, "I can do that" moments that kind of took on a life of its own. I started writing it as humor, but it took on a life of it's own and developed into something more than just humor.

I started the song by finding the drum track for the song and loading it into Audacity. I used a Country music beat that I bought from an on-line company and loaded into my Addictive Drums program. I recorded everything else to that.
I used my Fender Squire Stratocaster and the Fender Princeton Reverb amp for the guitar part and the little riff at the beginning of the song, recorded through a Shure SM-57 microphone into my Focusrite Scarlett Solo audio interface.
DSCN8823.JPG

To record the bass, I used my Peavey Patriot bass guitar through the Tweed Baseman amp clone that I built, and ran it through a 2-10 speaker cabinet, recorded with the Shure SM-57 microphone. The speaker cabinet is a converted car stereo cabinet with a pair of heavy duty 10 inch musical instrument speakers.
DSCN8767.JPG

To record the 2 part vocals, I used my Audio Technica Pro 5 live performance microphone through the audio interface.
From there, I mixed the song as best I could with my limited abilities, and added a touch of effects to the main vocal to try to give it some depth. From that point, I only had the lead guitar parts left to do.
This is where things got difficult for me. I just don't have the skills to play lead guitar, my rhythm guitar skills are barely adequate to do the basic tracks. After attempting to play some simple leads and failing, I decided that it was time to ask for some help with the lead parts. I contacted @veckinon to see if he would be interested in playing the lead parts for the song, I had worked with him before on a different song and was quite happy with the results. He agreed to give it a go, so I sent him the unfinished song to work on. He sent me the finished lead track last night, so I put it together and listened to it a bunch of times while tweaking the mix a bit here and there. I ended up adding a touch of reverb to his lead guitar work before I was finished messing with the mix.
I'm sure that the tracks could be mixed a little better, and that other production type things could be done to the mix to improve it a bit here and there, but that's beyond my current skill level, so it is what it is.

I uploaded it to my soundcloud page so the link is always available.
https://soundcloud.com/ambers-rambling-writings/love-in-my-heart

I hope you enjoy the results of my craziness. :-)

stars divider.png

Thanks for stopping by my page and checking out my post, eh!

As always, feel free to leave a comment or a question if you would like.

May the Steem Force be with you!

amber banner.png
helpie.png
mspwaves listen.png
banner2.png

Sort:  

this is a beautiful song, and not as country as I expected because it was so lighthearted. somehow that made the difference, because it wasnt about some cliche country music trope. i wish you would do more things like this!

Thank you! I appreciate your comment on this song!
Writing a song is such a weird experience for me, especially when a song like this falls out of my head onto the paper. I hope my muse will give me a few more songs that are happy hopeful songs, I enjoy putting them together.

Thanks for including me on this song. I really enjoyed it and it was a blast to play on. I thought the mix turned out pretty good and the vocal harmonies were great. Let me know if you ever need my services again!

I certainly will do that!

Awesome collaboration project and I was expecting the normal country but was pleasantly surprised.

Thank you! I appreciate that you listened to it!

@amberyooper , This is a beautiful song Amber :) , you can also use this way to have the player in your post :
use embed code :
123.jpg

I really like the way you do your mixes, setups of mic and its a great studio :) <3

Thank you! I'll remember that for my next song post.

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

moments that kind of took on a life of it's own.
It should be its own instead of it's own.

Thank you, I'll fix it. :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Amber-yooper nugget bass from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87