Recent Mushroom Finds - Two New Ones 🍁🍄🍁steemCreated with Sketch.

in #mushrooms6 years ago (edited)

Just because I’ve been quiet on here for a few days, doesn’t mean it’s been quite around here. Grandkids visiting, hunters hunting, art being made and just life in general. I’m just getting around to posting some of my most recent finds. Instead of separately, I thought I’d post them all together.

A few days ago, my hubby and I were walking around the pond and he spied these yellow mushrooms growing under our pine trees.

459E9E18-6CBA-42AD-84D2-49215A451394.jpeg

As you can see, they don’t have gills underneath like most stemmed mushrooms. They have pores. They were identified by my mushrooms ID group as suillus americanus. http://www.mushroomexpert.com/suillus_americanus.html
They are also known as SlipperyJacks or Chicken Fat Mushrooms. They are slippery and cold and slimy feeling.

The next one we found was this one, also under the pine trees.

304FA04C-3C04-4795-8C36-93924D4AC447.jpeg

It was identified as a Russula. http://www.mushroomexpert.com/russula.html
It bruised blue, so that was interesting. It said it was edible, but to cook it long because it is bitter. I passed on that.

The next is my old favorite, the Maitake or Hen Of The Woods. http://www.mushroomexpert.com/grifola_frondosa.html

C98C0B2B-1107-4FED-A4D5-D8419474875D.jpeg

This is the smallest one yet and it came from the same tree as the last two. I call it my Giving Tree. I will be cooking some of this tomorrow night for some friends.

Other that some turkey tails, wood ears and reishi that is all. Thanks for stopping by Stillwaters Farm.

92E331AF-FC17-471B-B472-95F65E4EFE5F.jpeg

Sort:  

What awesome 'shroom finds, @stillwatersart!

And how cool that you're connected with a mushroom ID group. Kinda makes me want to forage my own adopted surroundings... lovingly inspect this region for its unique growth offerings.

Do you know/love Paul Stamets? He's my favorite mycologist, and he's talking in a recent interview here with Joe Rogan. He blasts out the gate DROPPING KNOWLEDGE:

I LOVE Paul Stamets! He is one of my “idols” Lol. How much of a geek am I? 😊🍄
I just saw that he posted a link to this on Instagram yesterday and didn’t have a chance to watch it yet. I think I will right now. Thanks for reminding me.
I’ll be you could find some cool trippy ones down there in Mexico. 😉🍄💕

You're a great mushroom expert, now I know who to ask for advice @stillwatersart

Ha! Thanks! I just depend a lot on my Facebook Mushroom ID groups to verify, but my knowledge is increasing.

Very nice content, thanks for sharing
your post resteemed!

Thank you so much for the resteem! I was wondering how the upvotes went up so fast. 😊

oh lovely...dear ..vote 4u

Such beautiful mushrooms!

Wow! great finds. I love the hen of the woods mushroom. Your friends will be in for a real treat when you cook those mushrooms.

Thank! The meal did turn out pretty good if I do say so myself. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31