Arhats in Agony and Pain, in the Exhibition

in #museum5 years ago

In this post, I’d like to introduce one group of arhats displayed in the window.
The curator’d show us the attention of the mason who carved those stone arhats. All of our feelings even regarding the pain and the agony must’ve been a part of the process to get into the enlightenment.

The intention of the curator was successful.

2231.JPGAs soon as I saw the arhats, I felt some sorrow and pain from my mind in deep.

Let me introduce you the arhats in detail

2233.JPG

One arhat bending down his head was stood in the left side. But I could not see his face exactly due to the dark illumination, so l did some photoshop as below.

2235.JPG

Below are other close shots.

2232.JPG

Those two heads reminded me of 'the decapitation" and "the pain of moment"

2238.JPG

2239.JPG

What do you feel those arhats ?

Sort:  

Some very dramatic and arresting photos, my friend.

I agree - these are depictions of pain and agony - one of the many gateways to enlightenment.

The expressions remind me of Matthew Arnold's poem where he describes the eternal note of sadness and remarks,

Sophocles long ago
Heard it on the Ægean, and it brought
Into his mind the turbid ebb and flow
Of human misery

He used the metaphor of sea waves to represent the eternal ebb and flow of human pain.

Very compelling, @slowwalker

Thank you for comment

Posted using Partiko iOS

Incredibly amazing idea dude

I've never seen such statues and figures before.
Thanks for the pictures, dear @slowwalker

The faces of the last two arhats are really agonizing and definitely I like the fact that you did Photoshop to really show the part and the curator really helped a lot to showcase this, thanks a whole lot for bringing this one

In This Life we all go through some Challenges and Pain. It is What makes us Stronger like Granite..............

@slowwalker, Every Arhats got enlightenment and they removed every human's passions. So they could hold every pains of their life because they found only one aim, It's Nibbana. Every Arhats leaved from ordinary human's places and they spend much time with nature. Dark illumination brought them for found their goal. I had some knowledge about Sri Lankan Arhats. So I give you my explain there. Absolutely your photography collection gives us extra ordinary meanings.

Arhats statues that contain high historical value, it looks beautiful with good care in the museum sir @slowwalker

I really see pain and discomfort in their visages. Amazing work to bring so much expression with only small facial detail etched into the stone.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88