Weekend Freewrite ~ 4/21/2018 ~ Single Prompt Option ~ Original Photography and Short Discussion About Pigs

in #mrpigsgranddayout6 years ago (edited)

P1130364-2 154kb.jpg

Pigs Pigs Everywhere - But A Single Pig I Cannot Spare



Five Minute Weekend Freewrite

Prompt: I Saw A Wild Pig Running Down The Street


County Sheriff - Daily Log
Trooper B. Danko
08:47 E.S.T.
July 12, 2016
Hot and Dry

I saw a wild pig running down the street. Actually, to be more correct, the pig was running down the center median of Highway 6, just west of the old Johnstone cutoff. It was a large, pinkish-white pig, with black blotches.

A man in dungarees was chasing the pig around in the grassy strip between the highways. I pulled a U-turn, and went back to investigate. When I talked with the man, a Mr. Smith, he said it was not HIS pig, but he was afraid it might get hit by a car while running all about. We took the stake-side from his pickup bed off, attempted to corral the pig, and ended up chasing the pig all around the median for the next hour and a half. Slippery bugger.

We finally managed to corner the pig between my squad car and the pickup truck. Long story a little longer, we finally got the pig into the back of his truck, stake-side back on, tailgate closed, and all back to normal.

I swung the squad car around to head back North on Highway 6, and stopped to talk to the man before I left. I told him to take the pig to the fairgrounds, as the County Fair was going on, and they would be able to help him out.



County Sheriff - Daily Log
Trooper B.Danko
15:27 E.S.T.
July 17, 2016
Very Hot and Dry

I was cruising Highway 6 today, and saw that same white pickup from July 12, with Mr. Smith driving, and a pig sitting up, riding on the passenger side in the front seat. I pulled a U-turn, hit the lights, and stopped him just south of the Pottersville Junction Road.

When I asked Mr. Smith why he didn't take the pig to the fair, he grinned widely and replied:

“I DID. He LOVED it! We're on our way to the movies today."

~ Finto ~



'Author's' Note: This is based in an old old joke I last heard from a fellow during a Woolly Mammoth hunt. I hope you don't mind that I updated it a bit as a Weekend 5-Minute Free Write on a sunny Saturday in mid-April



Here is the link to the post about the Five Minute Weekend Freewrite, put on by @mariannewest:
Five Minute Weekend Freewrite- April 21, 2018



Thanks for stopping in and viewing the next installment of the Five Minute Weekend Freewrite. If you have any thoughts about being a County Deputy Sheriff, chasing large porker's about a grassy motorstrip, how much it might actually COST to take a pig to the picture-show, or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 04/21/2018 @ 17:17



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 63

Weekend Freewrite Ha Ha to giving StK a Bath Part 1.PNG
Weekend Freewrite Ha Ha to giving StK a Bath Part 2.PNG

Sort:  

That has got to be an old, old nugget -- at least back to the days of Chaucer's Tales. "Good sir, take thine pig to thy market." "I did, sire. Then I shall take him to thy inn." ; )

Ha haaa, ye olde pig to market and inn joke. And the joy of Chaucer. Some of those were more than a bit ribald, and funnier than heck. We think of our present world as being so....randy....? We got nothing on some of the other times...that's for sure. Thanks for the chuckles.

When I see the cuteness of pigs'asses, I dress as snow white and I run and jump ^^
AUHAUHAUHAUHAUAHUAHAUH

Now THAT's funny, love the dance. What was that for? Just fun? Or a larger extravaganza. Thanks for the lift on a Sunday. Glad you enjoyed the Pig's Butts, they are rather cute, aren't they...

That dance is because I am, as someone said, a silly billy :)

The world needs a whole lot more Silly Billy's, that's for sure. Keep up the good work ( :

This is like the story that runs through my head when I come up with a crazy painting like a pig relaxing in an Eames chair. I'd share it here in the comments, but I think that's considered bad form :)

I want there to be a vintage magazine somewhere between the OLD 1930's new yorker and the farmers almanac and I want you to write for it and I do the illustrations. :) I also want to read it on warm sunny day swatting at flies rocking on a front porch. That is all, continue writing :)

Oh, please do share. From my good friends, it's always appreciated. (Or just the acquainted, I suppose). Particularly if it's somewhat related, or keeping a story going. (Or NOT related, just funnier than 'all get out', as my brother was wont to say.)
The motion gifs by the ton off the Internet I can do without, sometimes they get a bit heavy on the screen. Though homemade ones are spiffy. Did you see @sandrina.life above, busted a gut on that one. She's such a character.

I'm totally jazzlauding the 1930's NY and FA magazine idea. I absolutely LOVE the old 30's hand drawn illustrations. They're the best. And old CCC, camping drawings, etc from the 30's and 40's. National Park sorts of things, etc. Such a nostalgist I/we is. It would be the bomb, wouldn't it? Too bad we live a continent apart. Such plans, so little time and coordination. (I'd get the auto-vac fly-hoover from Ronco though, for front porch action. Too much work swatting, reading AND sipping a julep.)
Onwards we venture into the cloud of Steem.
(Can you tell I'm a computer dork, motion gif's...SHEESH, that IS a gif...)

I just love old periodical and illustrations too, from the 30's more involved line work to the pop colour and sharp lines of the 50s illuststations. I have a collection of women's magazines from the 1950s as well as some home interior magazines from the 1930s. I also grew up with my childhood books being from anywhere between the 1870's to the modern late 70s.

Yeah, gif's are in essence 'motion'. I too, am annoyed by them. There are some steemit writers I love to check in on and read but they fill their posts with animated gifs and I have to enlarge the page and scroll just so, so that I can read the text in between the gifs without the motion distracting me. It might be a generational thing, where as a millenial might need constant stimulation and bursts of movement and flashes of things, where old fusty dusties like we, like a still white page with black text for reading (or colourful STILL illustrations). But, I've been 100 years old since I was five.

Oh, and this was my pig in an Eames chair I mentioned.
april24pig.jpg

I love that not only do you put the animals in the chairs, in the most odd, silly, preposterous, yet truthful and real and hilarious situations, as in life....you STILL know the names of all the chairs as well. An Eames. I should probably know that. Very impressive indeed. Though I think you know a lot about chairs from the dollhouse, maybe? I'm just guessing and rambling here. Sorry. I need some lunch...
But thanks for putting Mr. Stylish Pig on the Eames chair back out for me. Gave me a much-needed chortle and guffaw.
And fusty dusties, classic descriptor, love it. But I think you're right on the money, the flashing bits make my head expand. And not in a good way. Then again, I spent a LOT of time in the woods, I like it very quiet too. Not much into listening to music when 'working', unless it's a party and I'm rockin' out.
(I just LOVE too that you were 100 when you were 5. But then I might have guessed, with your descriptor of your college wear in a post 'whileback. Another classic. That seems to be the word of the day. OK, let's go find some lunch...

Hahaha. You find love where you find love, but you gotta play hard to get if you want it to last:):):)

Ha haa, pig love is a tough one. I shall remember that, for the next time I find a large one in the median on the road of life. Wonder how much popcorn they would eat at the theater? Would they really 'pig out', or just be a dainty eater, since it WOULD be a first-impression, first date sort of thing? The type of stuff I stay up late at night pondering here in the Land of Steem.

Did someone say popcorn:)

Are you a big popcorn fan? I think this is where the term "Pig Trough" came from...though that may be more of a local 'thing'. We used to have an ice cream place called Ferrells', and if you could eat the entire Pig Trough, it was free of charge. A HUGE sunday thing in a monster boat. Never heard of anyone doing it. But it would be easier to eat a hog's worth of popcorn, than ice cream, I think. I will not do a test though.

This is funny!!! Thank you for reviving it!

So glad you enjoyed it. These are so much fun to do. There's no such thing as an old joke, OK, maybe there is. But they're STILL fun ( :
I'm so glad you put this out. There are always so many fun or poignant things coming out of the imaginations of everyone.

eheheh :) Great humorous narrative again :)
The photo you took for this article is also wonderful and funny! :) thanks goes great weekend. my dear friend. you make me smile!

Glad you enjoyed the little pig joke. (Actually, he's a BIG pig they found). And glad it made you smile. Onwards into the Steem.

Ha!!! Your ending made me snort into my tea! Absolutely hilarious! Thank you so much for the laugh! I would love to see the look on the face of the movie theater employees when he walks in with a pig!

Look what's dropped in!
image via pixnio

Freewrite Day 185 - basket

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Ha haa, few things better than a good tea snort. Glad you enjoyed the romp through cinematic pigville. "Sir, is that pig old enough for PG?" "Why yes, what do you think PG stands for? Someone left out the I." (Best I can do on a Monday...) ( :

Ha ha! It’s really funny story! The pig would be the happiest pig in the world, for sure. ;D

Good work! ;)

I know if I ever get a pet pig, I'll take him to the movies too. Wonder if they'll charge me for two seats. I better get a small pig...

Ha ha! That's very great idea. Me, too! If I have a little pink pig like piglet, I would be very much happy. :)

Pig butt!! Why is this not in the NSFW place? Haaa!!

Oh dear, please don't report me to the Clean Porker Website. They're a tough bunch...

Next time put some pants on those pigs! 😀

What an entertaining story. It must be a beautiful pig that stole Mr. Smith's heart. Thank you for sharing this lovely story. I'll be waiting for next stories like this. My best wishes for you. Blessings. Greetings.

It was a very gorgeous pig, which is not hard to find, as they are all so lovely ( :
Glad you enjoyed the storybook joke. It was fun to write. Have a nice evening as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29