One of the Craziest Movies I have ever seen and why you might (not) want to see it!

in #movies7 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

I have never heard of this film before. Based on your description I don't think I will ever watch it, though (and I laughed when you mentioned the fiasco it would be to go and watch this during a date), but I really liked the way you included your personal film-viewing experience into this post, very creative @vincentnijman!

Safe to say that the guy who runs the program at this little off-kilter cinema is not very concerned about mainstream popularity ;-)

@irime thanks for your extended reply!
I had never heard of Singapore Sling (didn't know it is a cocktail either) before last week myself and I kind of know my cult classics ;)

Glad to hear you like the personal touch. I do my best to be 'me' the last couple of years or so, because if I don't, I would be wearing a mask, haha. No, seriously. I tried to be less 'me' but it just doesn't work out. Plus, I kind of like personal stories myself.

And true, the guy who selects these films (I believe he said he screened 3000 of them so far), doesn't give a rat's ass about mainstream. He is quite the type.

Even though I only got to see one of these films every once in a while (I don't live in Amsterdam), I always enjoy receiving his weekly newsletter, to see if there are any interesting titles on there.

Amsterdam is my home town, so I shall check of the movie is still running in coming weeks. I like weird movies! Thanks for the review and sharing your experiences here with us.

Hi @edje You live in Amsterdam? Lucky you ;)

Glad you enjoyed it!

This was a one time screening. This guy, Jeffrey Babcock, picks the movies himself. I think they are part of his collection and - like I mentioned - it's kind of underground cinema. If you're interested, I can give you a link to his mailing list. That way you will receive an email with all his upcoming screenings once a week or so.

Yes please, I like to receive the mailinglist! Thanks for offering.

Sure. I believe you need to send a message to this address and ask if he (Jeffrey) can add you to the mailing list: [email protected]
Enjoy! ;)

Super, email send!

Cool! We might meet up at one of the future screenings ;)
Keep me updated!
Groetjes

Will do! :)

Steem and movies bringing people together. Very cool!

Could you remove this address in public comment?
Subscribing can be done by visiting the cinemas.
Greetings, an inquisitive stranger at the cinema spheres.

I would if I could but it's impossible to edit posts that are over a week old.

This doesn't look like my sort of thing (I do like quirky and odd...but a certain kind of quirky)...for those interested, this movie is currently free on Amazon Prime.

Hi @coldsteem Thanks for sharing the Amazon mention!

This movie is definitely not everyone's cup of tea. To be honest, I probably wouldn't give it a second viewing either, but I feel it is worth a (single) watch. Believe it or not, it is actually a well made movie. It's mainly the themes chosen and depicted that are shocking. In a way, it feels like a piece of art. There's beauty in the ugliness.

I can that even in the trailer. It had a very noir feel in spite of the shock value.

Yeah, it definitely is a crazy, erotic and by times disgusting film noir.

Yes! I am finally meeped. Have been waiting for this for quite a while.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by VincentNijman from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75