Cinema Foley Sound: The Art Of Seamless Movie Audio & My High School Nosferatu Film & TV Foley Assessment Fresh From VHS!

in #movies6 years ago

Ever wondered how movies sound so amazing and real? Well you may be surprised to learn that most of what you hear is faked in post-production. The art is to make it seem so much like this isn't the case that the audience never even thinks about it.

Firstly some quick background. Where does the term "Foley" come from? I'll borrow from Wikipedia here.

Foley (named after sound-effects artist Jack Foley) is the reproduction of everyday sound effects that are added to film, video, and other media in post-production to enhance audio quality.[1] These reproduced sounds can be anything from the swishing of clothing and footsteps to squeaky doors and breaking glass. The best Foley art is so well integrated into a film that it goes unnoticed by the audience.[2] It helps to create a sense of reality within a scene. Without these crucial background noises, movies feel unnaturally quiet and uncomfortable.

When I studied film and television in High School, one of our assessment requirements was to select a silent film clip and add all the audio tracks for submission. The accuracy, volume, timing and realism were all graded.

I've been recently converting my old VHS tapes and have this week been focused on these high school submissions. For this Foley submission, I was in a team of 3 and we chose the 1922 silent German film Nosferatu as the clip. It's only a minute and a half but everything you hear (save the VHS crackle) we painstakingly added.

This is a classic clip based on Dracula by Bram Stoker and we wanted to do it justice. I'll walk you through some of the audio that was required.

  • The background track - I'm fairly sure we borrowed this from A Clockwork Orange. A film we loved at the time and used in our Music Clip assessment that you can watch here.
  • The howling of Count Orlok. We tried to make him as beast like as possible.
  • The Count's footsteps as he walks up the stair case.
  • The sliding sound made by Thomas Hutter's wife and Count Orlok's victim, Ellen Hutter, as she moves against the wall.
  • The creaking door.
  • Ellen's steps as she backs towards the bed and the ruffle of the sheets as she moves over the bed.
  • Ellen's gasp as she turns her face away. Embarrassingly, this is actually me gasping into a microphone in 1996.
  • The fictitious and symbolic "symbol" sound made as the shadow of the Count's hand clenches Ellen's heart. Again this was me! I had a cold at the time and I "sniffed" into a microphone and added some reverberation and echo effects to create this sound - I bet you never would have guessed that!
  • All rooster calls
  • The cries of pain as Count Orlok enters the sunlight. This was a combination of effects mixed together to create quite a demonic result.
  • The sound of the flames on the floor that fade in prior to the visuals.

As a final note, the timing of the background chime in the music being aligned with the appearance of the text "THE END" was no accident. We synchronized the audio such that this part of the music would appear at the same time as the text and that dictated what part of the music was played at the start. You probably wouldn't pick that watching it from the beginning.

It was an excellent assessment and the three of us enjoyed the work greatly. It gave us a great appreciation of how much effort goes into the most subtle audio additions and given the equipment available to us in 1996 I think it's still an impressive High School assignment today.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

The movie industry is ever changing with sound effects and graphics, the moment you miss a detail, you will miss it all and thanks to movie critics, it won't take them long to discover the mix up.... above all, diligence and paying attention to the vocals and actions Wen producing is paramount for a successful Super movie... Thanks for sharing @nolnocluap

That's so true @desmoniac, we expect the best now and any minor discrepancy or fault will be noticed. I'm glad you enjoyed my old clip!

I'm a film addict guy and I used to take it as real of something similar. Various movie producers did manage to bring on more effects to which attract the viewers.

These happen for series which can be continuous, prison break or 24hours chronograph did it. I watched these series twice and wish to know the rest of the stories.

@nolnocluap I have seen your video and there is a way it relates to a life scenario. Could you show it to a 6 years boy? I believe he won't sleep in the night and will always make it happen for real in his life and will always similar stuff .

I do appreciate your talent and would wish to learn more and be as professional as you are.

Well-done @nolnocluap

Wow @jona12, do you think it was that scary? That's quite a compliment. I guess some of the growling was pretty demonic. Thanks so much!

Ahahahaaaa....it was really nice. I even watched it twice, since it was your original work I felt like it was great work. May be you can be a movie producer. I guess or an upcoming

I'd find that really interesting work! Opportunities are hard to find however.

bravo man👏 that was actually kinda frightening haha bet that would of brought back some good memorys for you rewatching that hey

Hey @cryptokemon thanks so much! Actually now I watch it again we did go pretty full-on with the growls. We went to 11 on the scare factor! It did bring back great memories. Thanks for the wonderful comment!

Very clever. It's true, not a lot of people realise that most sound is added. I have always thought it would be a fascinating job! You discovered so, hehe, gasper ;0)

If there's one thing I do well, it's gasping! Thanks mate!

Great man, keep up

Awesome post.

I didn't know any of that. I figured a lot of it had to do with post-production, but didn't realize it could be all of it. Your work adding sound to the film was pretty good. I hope you got an A for it!

Hi mate. Well there could be vocals recorded at the time in reality but for the purpose of this assessment it was everything.

I was impressed that you made the soundtrack match the movie even though you anchored it to "The End." You did well.
I made a commercial at one point, but I did some slo-mo and hadn't tested it on a projector (which is how we presented it). It was clean on the computer, but super choppy on the projector. Looked like crap.
Worst part about it was I missed a meet and greet with Dierks Bentley to get that shot. Grrr.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62