The Predator (2018) - Movie Review

in #movies6 years ago

I didn't go into The Predator expecting much. First, it is one of many sequels to a campy franchise that dates back to the 1980s. Second, the aggregate rating on IMDb was a tepid 6.5/10. However, with AMC A-List, I am permitted to see three movies per week, to include IMax. The film playing in IMax this week is The Predator, so I figured I would use my free movie to see something on the jumbo screen. I'm glad I did. I was pleasantly surprised by this film.

Rory McKenna (Jacob Tremblay) has Asperger's Syndrome. Rory spends his time shielding himself against bullies while his father, Quinn (Boyd Holbrook), is off fighting military threats. Rory is an easy target. During an expedition in Mexico, Quinn witnesses the arrival of a space alien (known as a Predator). Quinn mails some of his gear home as proof, in the event the military attempts to set him up. Of course, the military attempts to set Quinn up and the gear ends up in the hands of the young savant. While a secret government agency attempts to study a captured alien, Rory is figuring out their technology. The Predator escapes, Quinn teams up with a bunch of VA mental cases and Rory inevitably gets roped in as well. Quinn and his team must battle aliens and the government as they attempt to protect his son and save the planet from an alien master race.

The Predator was better than expected. First of all, the film doesn't take itself too seriously. The writers manage to insert a bit of self-depreciating humor. The humor was actually funny, too. It was a nice counterpoint to the fast pacing and big action sequences that were pure eye candy on the IMax screen. The premise is interesting, providing us with a hero who is otherwise considered deficient in our society. It's done in the right way. With layers and nuance to the good vs. evil concept, the film has some interesting dynamics. While some of the characters and situations seem a bit too lean, the overall story worked for me. There was fast pacing, great humor, decent characters and a dynamic resolution. I was expecting all action and no story. But the story worked for me.

Jacob Tremblay has done a couple of solid films in his short time on this planet. He was solid in films like Room and Wonder. He does a solid job playing a child with Asperger's, although I hope he doesn't get typecast into roles like these. He seems to have good range. I would consider Holbrook to be a B-lister, although he has been in some decent films (usually not as the lead). He was solid in this film. Trevante Rhodes gets plenty of screen time in this film. He had an interesting, likable character. I don't fully recall his most recent performance in 12 Strong but he added a bit of dimension to this film. Keegan-Michael Key provided another intriguing character, providing a good bit of the comic relief in this film. Overall, The Predator benefited from good casting.

The MPAA rated The Predator with an R Rating. The rating is judiciously applied. The film has plenty of violence, much of it graphic. The film doesn't have much in the way of adult themes or nudity, although there are some sexual references. The film does not have any drug or alcohol use that I recall. There is a bit of bullying, but the rating seems tied to the graphic violence and intense action sequences. You have humans and aliens alike that are dismembered in every way imaginable. This film is probably best suited for teen audiences or older. The film has a run time of one hour, 47 minutes.

I enjoyed The Predator. I am going to break from the pack and give this film a high recommendation. It was much better than what I was expecting. I enjoyed it. I liked the action and the amazing CGI effects. I liked the acting. I enjoyed the plot, as far-fetched as it may have been. And I enjoyed the humor. The film took the time to deliver some decent laugh lines and make fun of itself a bit in the process. The film works because it works. It is formulaic and hackneyed in some respects, but it also had some layers that made it interesting to me. If you can see it in IMax, maybe you will appreciate it as much as I did. 8/10.

Trailer and images subject to copyright.

Sort:  

Great review! I really liked the original, it aged mostly well. I am looking forward to seeing this one. I don't know why people are so hard on this movie, it's the Predator.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15