Juliet, Naked - Movie Review

in #movies6 years ago

Annie (Rose Byrne) has been in a fifteen year relationship with Duncan (Chris O'Dowd). The two seem unevenly matched. Duncan is self-obsessed when he isn't fawning over the music of washed up rocker Tucker Crowe (Ethan Hawke). Duncan doesn't want kids and doesn't seem as committed to his relationship as Annie is. In fact, he's kind of a prick. His obsession with Crowe includes a fan website where a few dozen die-hard fans share conspiracy theories on where Crowe ended up and why he disappeared. The reality isn't much to talk about. Crowe live on a couch in the garage behind the house of an ex-girlfriend. When Annie challenges Duncan on his own website, using a pseudonym, it leads to correspondence with Crowe that becomes increasingly intimate. When Crowe shows up in the seaside English town where Annie and Duncan live, Duncan doesn't know how to handle it. When Annie meets Crowe's extended family, she is a bit overwhelmed as well. In the end, Juliet, Naked is a story about second chances.

Juliet, Naked is a family affair. Writer Evgenia Peretz is the sister of Director Jesse Peretz. They both were writers on the film Out Idiot Brother which I thoroughly enjoyed. The other two writers on this screenplay were Jim Taylor and Tamara Jenkins. Taylor and Jenkins are married. I don't recognize any of Jenkins work, but Taylor's is a mixed bag. I liked some of his previous screenplays, but didn't care so much for Downsizing. I liked this film better than Downsizing but not as much as Our Idiot Brother. The writing had a lot to do with it. The screenplay is based on a novel by Nick Hornby who has also written some good novels and screenplays.

The story isn't bad. It's a bit linear. The crux of the plot merely seems to be a relationship that turns in a comical way. The ultimate dating revenge. I think it might be classified as a romantic comedy, but the story was only moderately funny. In contrast, I laughed out loud at My Idiot Brother. The narrative arc seemed flat, although the pacing wasn't terrible. The characters were interesting, but I was conflicted. I think it may have to do with the casting. Duncan is supposed to be a complete ass, but I liked him. Probably because I like O'Dowd. I didn't want the conflict, I wanted he and Annie to resolve their differences. So I felt like the story was uneven. It isn't a bad plot and story, but it isn't one to necessarily grip you, either.

I mentioned that I like Chris O'Dowd. That is generally a good thing. However, in this film it made the story difficult for me to reconcile. Ethan Hawke gets plenty of work, although it isn't always as the lead actor. I like Hawke and enjoyed his performance in this film. He helped take the edge off as he is fairly likable as well. Rose Byrne also has a steady body of work, often in support roles. I liked her in the lead role and really enjoyed her performance. She was the bright spot for me here. Another mention needs to go to Azhy Robertson who played Jackson Crowe. I'm not familiar with Azhy, although he has done some shorts and other work, but his bio has a laundry list of films and appearances coming up well into next year. He was solid. It is not surprising to me that he is getting work. The casting was strong, but the choice of O'Dowd required me to get past my own bias.

The MPAA gave Juliet, Naked a somewhat surprising R rating. I was surprised when I saw the rating, as I don't remember anything overtly objectionable. The closest to nudity we come is a woman in her bra, which was comedy-based rather than intimacy. The film is absent of violence. Crowe is an alcoholic, so he doesn't drink. That is written into the story, although other characters drink. I thought it was nice to have a character who makes good choices related to alcohol, because usually that doesn't end well if it is introduced into a script. The film has no gore. Ultimately, the rating hinges on just a couple of items. Infidelity, language and adult themes. All are contextual and handled delicately. Personally, I would not restrict this film by age. I didn't see anything here worse than what you find on television other than maybe a word or two. The film has a run time of one hour, 45 minutes.

Juliet, Naked is a decent film. While I wasn't bowled over by the story, I didn't laugh out loud nor was I gripping the edge of my seat...I was mildly entertained. This is a film I could have just as easily waited for and watched streaming at home. The characters were okay, the acting was solid and the pacing decent. But the engagement was moderate. The story itself lacked defining characteristics that I can tout. It wasn't laugh-out-loud funny. The characters weren't fully engaging. There were no intense action sequences. The film didn't hide behind flashy CGI. It is just a straightforward film about relationships, with a smattering of humor. Decent, but not exceptional. 7/10.

Trailer and images subject to copyright.

Sort:  

The trailer looked good, but good for streaming. Your review reenforces that.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14