I Can Only Imagine - Movie Review

in #movies6 years ago

image.png

I went to see Mercy Me perform in Raleigh last July. During the concert, they showed the first trailer for I Can Only Imagine which was just released this weekend. I have been waiting for months for this film to be released. The trailer was compelling and the story engaging. In recent weeks, the advertising has been viral. I started to wonder if the hype for this film might be a bad omen. But not to worry. The film warrants the hype.

image.png

I Can Only Imagine is based on the true story of Bart Millard (J. Michael Finley), the lead singer from the Christian band Mercy Me. The film examines Bart's (Brody Rose at young Bart) tough childhood. In the storm of an angry father (Dennis Quaid) and absentee mother, Bart finds an island of refuge in his friend Shannon (Taegen Burns as young Shannon). As Bart grows older, his relationship with his father grown more tense. The physical abuse is matched by an equally vile emotional abuse that saddles Bart with baggage.

The end of this story is already written. We know Mercy Me is the most prolific Christian recording act in history. We know I Can Only Imagine topped the Christian Charts and crossed over to the pop and country charts as well. But the journey was a rocky one that required introspection, forgiveness and redemption. Bart expresses it better than I ever could. "But the Gospel changed him (his father). I watched a monster transform into my best friend and the man I wanted to become." The story isn't about Mercy Me, it is about mercy. It is about Bart's relationship with his father and God's trans-formative power.

image.png

While I Can Only Imagine is based on a true story, it appears the story was modified slightly to give it a polished presentation. The parts I am familiar with from Bart's own testimony weren't changed dramatically. The timing was changed a bit to give the film stronger pacing and a more concise climax. Considering the stories that are passing for "based on a true story" these days, this one feels pretty authentic. Alex Cramer and the Erwin brothers gave us a story that was compelling, while providing elements of comic relief with impeccable timing. The story isn't original, it is a redemption story. But it is Bart's own story of redemption. Yes, I said Bart. Because this was as much a story of his redemption as it is his fathers. The story was delivered in a way that built tension, took us through a range of emotions and gave us a ray of light in a dark world. We need more films like this.

image.png

I am not familiar with Finley, but I know Dennis Quaid. Finley was excellent. I would not have guessed that this was his first film. His performance was impeccable. However, I am not sure how he would have done against another unknown actor. Dennis Quaid helped this film tremendously. The tension he created with an edgy performance built a foundation for this film that elevated the sum of its parts. He was brilliant. Two other performances that were worth mentioning are Trace Adkins as manager Brickell and Cloris Leachman as Memaw. Adkins has a low key personality, but I thought his performance added a nice touch of balance. Leachman had a bit role, but she was adorable, shining brightly any time she was in a scene. It is hard to believe she is in her nineties. I doubt the casting could have been any better. I think it was a good call to use an unknown actor for the lead role. It might otherwise have been distracting. Finley was great, this may be his first film, but it won't be his last.

image.png

I Can Only Imagine is a wholesome family film. The MPAA gave it a PG rating based on family violence and terminal illness. The violence was the key to this rating, but an essential element of the story. The tension was necessary, but handled delicately. There are not very many scenes of violence and they were handled with minimal exposure. Enough to send the message without dwelling on the violence excessively. I would not prohibit any age from seeing this film. For a wholesome message like the one in this film, I would encourage younger viewers to watch it. The film has a one hour, 50 minute run time. The pacing was exceptional. The film did not feel that long. With a seven million dollar budget, this film had the funding to deliver a polished, professional film. That is translating at the theater, where I Can Only Imagine is ranked third in gross for this past weekend.

image.png

I sometimes offer a subjective rating to go along with my objective rating. This is helpful when I want to rate a film that has a good message or intangible qualities that are not necessarily objective. Christian films tend to be among those that I give two ratings. In the case of I Can Only Imagine, I am able to give an objective rating that encompasses both aspects of the film. It is an incredibly well constructed film that is worthy of the positive media it is receiving. Aside from being ranked third in total box office this past weekend (the two ahead of it had budgets of 210 and 100 million dollars in comparison), the film is also enjoying a 7.8 rating at IMDb. Christian films often get trolled on IMDb. I would expect that rating to go down from the troll effect. But the film is worthy of that rating and more. Objectively, I am at 8/10. It is an exceptional film that has power. It has a heartbeat. And it is polished. See it at the theater.

Trailer and photos property of Kevin Downes Productions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87