Movie Review : Ready Player One

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

I don’t get out to the cinemas much anymore so when we scored a baby-sitter for a rare date night on a Tight Arse Tuesday the only questions needing answers were “Which Restaurant?” and “Which Movie?”. If I’m going out to see something on the big screen I usually like to see something Blockbuster-ish and I’d never even heard of Ready Player One before yesterday. However, after checking out the Trailer it was a pretty obvious choice and I wasn’t disappointed.

readyplayerone.jpg
Source

I generally like Science Fiction movies and with a bit of a futuristic dystopian twist it immediately looked to me like it had potential. The Virtual Reality Gaming aspect of the movie really connected with my younger self though as I used to be a pretty hard core gamer in my youth so it took me back a couple of decades too. The music helped with that also as the movie uses a lot of great tracks from the 80s that any Gen X would remember. It looks to me like Spielberg has bounced back to his storytelling best with fast paced action and a plot which has enough depth to be worthy of the Adventure genre that made him famous.

readyplayerone2.jpg
Source

The special effects are pretty impressive and if I had to sum up the movie in one sentence without providing any spoilers I’d say it was kind of a cross between The DaVinci Code and Avatar. If you liked those movies it’s a pretty safe bet that you’d like this one too, but if you’ve ever been a serious gamer than this movie simply is a must-watch. There are lots of subtle references and characters from games which show up throughout the movie so keep your eyes peeled and you’re bound to get enjoyment from some of those appearances too. Check out the Trailer below.

Sort:  

Thanks for the quick review, this was on my "question mark" list. I guess i'll give it a go.

I'm in total agreement with you about what kind of movies to watch at a cinema. Big and loud. Everything else belongs on the small screen, really. :)

I've heard some good things about the movie (or at least the book). I didn't know Spielberg was attached to it, though. It seems to be flying under the radar a little.

Just watched the trailer. Looks good, jumping back and forth between live action and the Avatar motion capture CGI. Pretty cool.

My wife isn't into Sci-Fi that much though, and video games even less, so I might have to wait to see this when it comes out on digital. Glad you enjoyed it though.

What did your wife think? :)

She said she enjoyed it. Which was a bit of a surprise, but I've been married long enough to know not to challenge it :)

Great write up without spoiling it mate. I was reluctant to click on it because you may spoil it (Heading out this weekend to see it). After reading your write up, I'm more eager to catch it this weekend. Thanks!

Hehe. I hate spoilers and I was actually thinking of you specifically when I wrote this. Without hyping it too much I think you'll really enjoy it and you'll probably get a lot more out of it than most people.

Tech experts that predict the future of VR tell us that by 2040 VR will be indistinguishable from "reality". Can you imagine what impact this will have upon humanity.? You think gamers are addicted now, just you wait. Who wouldn't want to experience a life of power, and adventure and sex and thrills and fulfillment? It will be... astonishing. At the same time, I am deeply concerned... what will we become with AI, transhumanism, and genetic manipulation and VR? We won't be humans any more. We'll be something else.

Well that's one of the reasons why I like movies like this. Does it give us a sneak peek into what the future might be like?

I wouldn't take too much notice of those "Tech Experts". In the late 90s I was running an internet cafe and I bought the VFX-1 which was state of the art Virtual Reality back then. I thought a VR explosion was imminent. Here we are 20 years later still using keyboard and mouse rigs and VR is still barely on the radar.

Who knows what the future really looks like. I don't fear evolution and I think the real challenge is in making sure our society and our culture and even our spirituality evolves to be able to keep pace with the evolution in technology. At the moment I'm not seeing that, but that's what it's about for me so I don't fear technology in itself.

Yeah, I think I'll hold on to the edge of the pool and not venture out into deep waters on this one. I appreciate your calmer attitude. I am going to go see the movie though.Thanks.

@buggedout... Great review. Although having seen it, I felt it was more of a Spielberg flashback movie that I as an adult appreciated more than my 3 children.

I actually expected more to it having perhaps gone in with wanting more.

Yes agree that the special effects was 👍🏻👍🏻

Thanks. Yes, it did feel like a bit of a throwback even though it was also futuristic. Maybe it was more for Gen X to enjoy than the younger ones.

Be sure to watch Shining before going to see this movie :).

That is actually a great tip. I wish I had done that :)

thanks for the post - I've been wondering if this was going to be good or not and you've provided some validation.

Thx!

You're welcome. Let me know what you think of it after you've had a chance to see it.

I'm looking forward to checking out this flik.

I am Pricasso most wonderful artist and because you are a friend of @thedamus I have decided to honor you with a most wonderful painting.

buggedout.png

The blog in your honor https://steemit.com/art/@pricasso/my-ode-to-buggedout

Yours Always
Pricasso

I am humbled by your brilliant tribute. Thank you :)

I am humbled by your appreciation and love for my fine artistic genius and flair, most wonderful and loving thanks to you ;)

Yours Always
Pricasso

If you can read my latest post on my blog and just resteem it b/c i'm seriously seeking for some different opinions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97