You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Officer's Take: Thoughts on "No Country for Old Men", Chaos, and Human Resourcefulness.

in #movies7 years ago

Cormac McCarthy's stories always hit me hard. They're so bleak, and happy endings are pretty much never guaranteed. I enjoyed this movie, but I have a hard time jumping into his other writing (and movie adaptations) because of how miserable/sad they are (Blood Meridian's ending really rubbed salt in my wounds - hear they're making a movie of that, too).

You can't argue that he's good at writing bad guys and flawed (human) characters, though, right?

Sort:  

Couldn't agree more. His characters, especially the bad guys, always seem to have such substance. In his stories, everything they do has double meaning. Obviously, this one is my fave, but I'd like to give Blood Meridian a read as well. Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63679.06
ETH 2628.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83