Movie Review – Murder on the Orient Express

in #movies6 years ago

Let me start off by saying I am a huge fan of author, Agatha Christie and I have lost count of the number of her books that I have read. I was looking forward to the new Murder on the Orient Express with some reservations. I had loved the 1974 Sidney Lumet movie with its’ all-star cast including Albert Finney as the lead character, Hercule Poirot. And I was concerned that the new version of the film might suffer with Kenneth Branagh both directing and playing the lead character. In my opinion, he did a good job.

Murder on the Orient Express poster.jpg

I don’t know is today’s audience is going to get the nuances in this period piece and the pacing is methodical showcasing the opulence of another time. Branagh is a good Poirot, fastidious and compulsively observant with an outstanding mustache. I did not like Johnny Depp in the role of Rachett, his performance was average and uneven, not to the level that

I expect of an actor of his caliber. A character that stood out for me was Michelle Pfeiffer as Mrs. Hubbard, architype American wealthy female tourist. She handled the transition in the character’s arch seamlessly. Hint: Listen to the music at the beginning of the closing credits, Pfeiffer is singing, poignant.

Final thought, if you are a fan of Agatha Christie, you may find this movie a nice popcorn diversion but for the non-fans it may be too slow to keep their attention. If you see it, let me know what you think.

PHOTO:
Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for "fair use" for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use.

Sort:  

This post has received a 21.74% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Invest your Steem Power and help minnow at the same time to support our daily curation initiative. Delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one of the following links: 1000 SP, 5000 SP or more. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Your article is featured in @Shares UpGoat Project Daily Curation for additional mention and exposure to the world.

Please vote our sponsor @Yehey for Witness. Here's the link https://on.king.net/witness simply click and vote.

Lovely.
@Acknowledgement
Join us https://SteemChat.com use $upvote [your link] to receive up vote.

Thank you for voting me as your Witness.
I just want you to know. I follow my supporters with good content for extra up vote :)

How are you? I was thinking about going to the movies this weekend I think it's interesting this movie is my type so I'll try to see it good first I have to see if it's in the cinemas of my country, regards

I hope you like it! Thanks for stopping by.

Murder in the east express, I like this kind of film and if they are by the author Agatha Christie I love it I have not been able to read her books it is difficult for me and I have not gotten them yet, so see this movie I think it's going to be interesting, thanks for the review

Nothing like a good mystery!! Thanks for stopping by.

Good review.
greetings from Indonesia. I love Agatha Christie's novel, she is genius! By the way, I am an author, and always salute with cool author like her!

Good luck with your writing! Thanks for stopping by.

You're welcome. Hope you mind to stopping my blog too. I've created some article in English too.

following you!

yo soy amante del cine y Jhonny Deep es uno de mis actores favoritos ya la agregue a mi lista de próximas a ver... a pesar de tu critica al papel realizado por este... saludos brother

Johnny Depp is a great actor. Don't get me wrong. Enjoy the film!

Tranquilo, te entendí perfectamente brother se que no te pareció buena su interpretación en esta película ya que esperabas mas de Deep, es entendible hay personajes que ha hecho que a mi no me han gustado ejemplo Toro en el llanero solitario. Saludos nos leemos luego...

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

This post has received a 44.44% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @altportal. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

This post has received a 9.69 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73