Tag! You're It! or (The Unexpected Virtues of Competitiveness)

in #movie6 years ago


tag.png

This is partially an appreciation thread for the film Tag, so if you haven't watched it... go to the nearest theater screening it and watch it, you bum! Here be spoilers.

My wife (still getting used to saying this haha!) and I recently watched this little movie called Tag because I saw the trailer for it a week ago and thought that it had a fun premise. We didn't have many expectations heading in, and it was supported by the number of theater goers during the screening (only two when we came in and about ten, including us, when we left). I thought it was a shame because a lot of people are missing out on a surprisingly great movie! Now, I'm not hyping it as the next Hangover or something, but the film had a really profound effect on me. So much so that I've dedicated time and effort to write a post about it and etch it on the STEEM blockchain.

To the readers who have not yet seen the film, I applaud you for reaching this point, but I really have to reiterate that there are spoilers ahead. But, since you've stuck around up to this point, let me give you a spoiler-free cliffnotes of the film. Basically, it's a fictional retelling of a story of a group of grown men playing tag, for one month, for 23+ years. If that premise doesn't entice you, perhaps the Wall Street Journal article about it will. And if that still doesn't nudge you towards the cinema, then maybe the official trailer will.



Not convinced to buy a ticket yet? You might as well just read my post since spoilers won't matter much. This post is intended to be part review, part deep dive into the film's themes and part personal discussion. If that interests you more than the film's premise, then there's something seriously wrong with you. I love it. You're my people. Let's get to it!

T is for Thrilling


thrilling
Image Source

You would think that a movie whose premise ivolves a group of grown men playing tag wouldn't be action-packed. You would be wrong. If when you were a kid, tireless running, clumsy acrobatics and death-defying stunts were involved whenever you played tag, then this film takes it to a whole other level. Disguises, traps, PARKOUR, among many other things are almost commonplace in a game that has lasted over 30 years.

Hoagie (played by Ed Helms) brings the band back together to once and for all tag the never-been-tagged Jerry (played masterfully by Jeremy Renner), who's calling it quits after this season. Successful CEO Bob (Jon Hamm), stoner Chilli (Jake Johnson) and paranoid Sable (Hannibal Buress) travel thousands of miles to their hometown to take down their untarnished foe. Wait a minute... why am I writing this down like a synopsis? If you're reading this, chances are you already know what I'm talking about! Screw this, I'm skipping over to the discussion!

I like how the players go to great lengths just to tag each other. It really keeps things fresh and it really ups the stakes. Even though I am the preeminent proponent and world-renowned scholar of Non-Competitiveness, as evidenced by my highest earning post ever, I have often been called out for my extreme focus when it comes to contests. Really though, I just don't like losing, which doesn't equate to me wanting to win all the time, so shut up!

I've been known to take things too far as well, but only because they started it, of course. Bodies get injured, feelings get hurt, but at the end of the day, what matters is... that I end up winning. Oh, and some people have fun along the way, too. So, there's that.

A is for Absurd


absurd
Image Source

As if the premise itself isn't absurd enough, all the antics that they get into get more theatrical and theatrical. But, I don't need to tell you that because at this point you've already watched the film, right? The CEO leaves a career-defining interview, the stoner sacrifices life and limb just so he doesn't get tagged, and the fiancee fakes a miscarriage just to keep his man's untainted streak alive. The most absurd thing is that a lot of the things that was included in the film happened in real life! As they say, art imitates life. Man, I really wish I was part of something like this for real.

Unfortunately (or fortunately?), the reason why I liked the film as much as I did is because a part of me identifies with it and a part of me is envious of the bond the friends in the film have. The thing is, I identify most with Jerry, the guy who has never been tagged. I'm not saying that I'm naturally good at games... but, I'm not saying I'm not either ;) Real talk. I don't have a lot of friends. Shocking, I know. I've often been told that I'm a very friendly guy. Most people even mistake me for an extrovert! YUCK! Truth be told, I'm, and this is hard for me to do so I'll just rip out the band-aid... a flaming introvert. There, I said it! Oh wait, I think I've mentioned that in a couple or so posts before. But, the thing is, I often wind out with extroverts who don't fully understand the inner workings of an introvert. I've bounced around from group to group for most of my adult life, and while I've been lucky enough to have experienced tons of adventures with a lot of people, there isn't really a group that regard as permanent. Long story short, I'm quite expendable when it comes to being included in groups. I'll give you a moment to process that.

DING! DING! DING! Moment's over! Get back to reading, you mewling quim! Wait, no. I didn't mean you. You, the one reading up to this point. You're awesome. One in a million even! There's no other quite like you, and I don't say that to just anyone. I love you.

The group of friends, excluding Jerry, have understandably developed a strong bond over the years. They take their Tag month of May as a chance to reconnect with each other and be in each other's lives. There is a downside to being untouchable, and Jerry had missed the whole point of their annual contest. While he isn't the outright antagonist, I really like how Jerry was written. He really served as a reflection of me, in more ways than one. Jeremy Renner chewed up every scene he was in and his smarmy approach really carried the film.

I am Jerry, and Jerry is me. And, I'm okay with that. It's not like I was never tagged. I even let others intentionally tag me. It's just that with every friend group I've ever been in, people just forget to tag me. They just continue to play the game and don't notice that I'm still around. And, that's sad. But, it's okay.

G is for Growing Up, not Growing Old


tag
Image Source

If you're expecting/have expected something profound in this film, you're going to end up disappointed. It's a good summer flick with a heartwarming twist. If you try to poke too many holes in the plot, you're going to end up ruining the experience. Go see this to have fun and to embrace your inner child. Turn the dial all the way back to a time of innocence, to a time when being "It" is the worst thing in the world. Often in life, we tend to overthink things or take things too seriously. We miss the forest for the trees. Life is one big game, so instead of stressing about it, just enjoy it.

Like for this instance, you're thinking that this post is incohesive, poorly planned and doesn't make sense. Of course, you're right on all counts, but you're completely missing the point. If you think you can do better, then by all means, write the most amazing post you can and then link it below (ONLY if you include a thoughtful comment about this post, otherwise, you get flagged, not tagged). You're already thinking about it, aren't you? The post that could change how we see the world, and dare I say even bring about lasting world piece. I know you have it in you, I believe in you. Jot down your notes and draft it up.

Oh, and one last thing, this is important, so I want you to focus on what I'm about to say. You're it.



Help keep @lukestokes.mhth as a top STEEM witness! Vote now :D



Join me in my Year of Resilience!

Sort:  

Basically you've explained 60% of the movie here, actually that's what a beautiful movie does to you, you tell it to details and we forget we're even doing that actually I'm keyying into the concept of the fun, it's funny I can tell you, especially the wedding part as well, when I heard the title, I never attributed it to the game it seem they were playing, I certainly need to see this, you show be a movie reviewer yourself. Hahahaha

Oh man, I hope you enjoy it, my friend! I don't want to hype it, but there were a lot of scenes I was laughing out loud. Good thing there wasn't much people in the theater at the time. Expect nothing, experience everything!

In the theaters here laughter is very common, you know it's actually going to make a lot of wave because of it's humor, at the Same time it's got a very undetailed title which will make people curios the moment they see the trailer, it's wonderful, how did you wife see it, did she complement it?

She loved it! We were the two most vocal in the crowd haha! The jokes were just the right blend for us. It might not go over too well with others, but I hope you take it the same way we did.

I had somehow missed that this full even existed but have you to thank for adjusting be too what looks like a corker

It's going on the list!!!

I almost missed this gem as well! I'm glad I didn't, and I'm now looking forward to heading to Glasgow so that I could tap someone in the shoulder whilst whispering "you're it"

Haha, awesome!

You say that now. Wait until you're it for an entire year. The suffering would be excuciating!

I couldn't take it!

Then you shall be it at the moment you least expect. I swear that on Pavaroti's grave!

I shall visit this grave to see the swearing!

Be there at nine this Saturday. We only have a small window before the quakes set in on account of Luciano rolling on his grave.

Ooohh! I love the premise! And I couldn't read past your spoiler free stuffs, because I am definitely going to watch it!

I've just started on your chronological super hero listing, I'm getting my money's worth of netflix this month it appears, haha!

Nice! Check back in after you watch it to see how it compares :D

Woohoo!! Let me know how it goes, SIS-yphus! I got 6 months for free, so taking advantage of it as much as I can haha!

Being it was the worst thing in the world? Since when? Some of us loved being the hunter, and there were times where we'd mercy tag in (if the person who got tagged it was tired or just a slower runner and you're stuck at school all day every day and have to stay in your designated age group play area it's much more fun after hours or outside school XD) and then go flogging after someone else.

Maybe we were just an abnormal bunch on Christmas Island XD

Applying new titles is amusing isn't it XD I remember taking a while to adapt to having to say I was married, and now we use them in jest over here most times, screeching HUSBAND/WIIIIIIIIIIFE across the house (or occasionally WAAAAAIIIIFUUUUUUUUU).

Glad you enjoyed the movie, it sounds pretty entertaining (I read all the way through as the chances of me ever actually getting to watch it are slim to none and your discussion reviews are a good stand in XP).

Loved being tagged!? Seriously? That must be the strangest thing I've heard all day. Nay, the whole week! Why would you want to be it? Why would you want to lesser someone else's suffering? Maybe if you have a vendetta on someone else and you want to have the satisfaction of tagging him/her? Is that it? I can't wrap my head around it!

Waifuuuu is something I'm looking forward to using haha! I normally use misis ko (translated to "my missus") whenever I talk about Li or introduce her to other people. Still odd though!

I'm glad that after all these STEEM years you still enjoy reading my discussions. Warms my heart to no end, mate! And, when I called people bum, I didn't mean you, of course. Unless you want to?

I was discussing this with my sister last night seeing as you brought it up, and she said it was the best because it took a lot of the stress and pressure off, now you can go nuts and chase EVERYONE, or as you already brought up, just target ONE person all game until you get them XD

I frequently call myself a carcass, bum is probably an upgrade? LoL XD

Haha! That's one way of looking at it! You'd have all the power but no one wants to go near you, everyone plotting to stay ahead of you. Much like life, it's sad but it's fun in a different way.

Bum is definitely an upgrade!

How's it sad, r unning down people is entertaining XD

Apparently I don't take anything seriously enough and this is a problem :)

Haha! I guess it's all about perspective then!

i'll go watch it now online :P Also i haven't read the entire post in order not to read accidentally any spoiler but i got the generic pictures. Also i agree with the ''don't search for holes'' thing and that applies mostly in comedies or in general funny movies i think. As once again you mentioned that just go watch to have some fun, there types of movies that you watch them only to have some fun and to make your day. I think for men mostly it's the same with some action movies that are full of fighting scenes either with firsts or guns. We don't care if in reality could be done or if there are that skillful people we just wanna have a great time and enjoy the movie!

There's already a copy online!? I gots to get me a hold of that, bredren! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! Let me know what you think about it after.

hahaha the attempt ended in failure :p i downloaded 2 copies. The first one was from camera so delete the second one in the title said it has 720k. It was from camera too :P but i bookmarked the trailer to check when it comes out in better quality. In my country they don't even play the movie :P

Haha! Give it about three months, I'm sure a good quality copy would make its way to the interwebs by then!

hahah saw the trailer to and am planning to go with @world5list soon.

Awesome! I'm glad the trailer was enough to entice you, Haas! I hope you and Rene enjoy the film!

Takes the game of tag from the school playground to a whole new level with parkour. Sounds intriguing; I'll have to check it out. Thanks @jedau for your review now I'll have to see where I can check out this flick.

Definitely do! I do hope you enjoy it as much as I did, but if you don't I hope you won't blame me for wasting an hour or so of your life :P

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Much obliged!

that's a great movie, i appreciate your blog.
thanks for sharing this post. keep it up

I hope you enjoyed the post as much as you enjoyed the movie! Thanks for stopping by :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12