Rampage - A film for kids, adults, or something in between? - by @thedogekid

in #movie6 years ago

Rampage fails to define what it wants to be?

I just saw the new Rampage film and I had some interesting thoughts.

If you are not familiar, Rampage is the latest action flick staring The Rock (Dwayne Johnson).

It has to do with a biotech company experimenting with genetics and creating a super pathogen that infects it's hosts with unbridled aggression as well as massive amounts of growth hormone.

The end result being a host that is very large and very aggressive.

Anyways back to my thoughts...

I won't leave too many spoilers here as I know the movie is pretty new and many likely haven't seen it yet.

The movie was rated PG 13, which wasn't the problem but it very nearly could have been rated R, which was the problem.

On the surface it looked like a typical summer blockbuster that parents could take their kids to.

Except it had a bit more swearing than most parents would like for a family film, and heck of a lot more blood and gore.

However, the story line was much too simple with several holes in it to be geared entirely for adults.

Which means, in my opinion, the film landed somewhere in between. It was a tweener, between a film for kids or adults.

My thoughts:

I felt like they should have either cut most of the swear words out and not shown nearly as much gore and kept the film much the same in terms of plot and story-line.

Or, if they wanted to gear the film more towards adults they should have left all that in, but made the story slightly more complex requiring a smarter audience and keep the story more consistent with less holes.

Overall, I think the film just failed in defining exactly what it wanted to be, but even then it was entertaining.

For that reason I give it about a 6.5/10.

Sort:  

Was hoping this one would be a good one, thanks for the review, they try cater for everyone with simple story line for the kids, and bit more blood and core for the adults, but doesn’t really work well together, best they cater for or kids or adults and make their money, or maybe it’s more for inbetween... teens.

I agree with you @africaunited .Rampage should be restricted to mature audiences,contains too much curse words and violence not to be classified as one.I think it was an Ok movie.

I'm totally looking forward to watch it. Upvote for the same interest; movie :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Although I've not seen the movie, but from the trailer, the movie is looking like the real deal. With your view about the movie, I just pray I get to enjoy it when I eventually watch it.
I trust Dwayne Johnson anyway he always delivers.

Good info...... Would love to check it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48