Support Your Local Independent Bike Shop | Werk Truck


My shop when it was a little warmer... Its 42F degrees in work bay right now... Thats why I'm hiding out in my office trolling steemit...


144.png
Created with Steepshot
View in the web app

4.png

Sort:  

We have a real lack of bike shops and mechanics around me. Many places won't work on a bike more than a few years old, mine is a '94 Inruder so almost nobody will touch it. Last time I tried to take it to a shop they wanted something like $400 for an oil change and a spring tuneup. Fortunately a friend of a friend hooked up for less than $100.

Its really hard to make $$ working on older metric bikes. All the dealers around here metric and HD won't touch a bike older than 10 years.

I just stick to the American bikes because thats mainly what I have worked on. I will do vintage bikes and own a few as well. I have done some favors for friends on metrics but it seems to bite me in the ass every time.

Bro, a '94 Intruder is more than a few years old. That bike is 24 years old! Its hard to find parts for older bikes. And inevitably every fastener you touch is either rounded off or stuck. So it takes more labor to work on them.

But here is the main #1 problem with older import bikes. They are not worth a whole lot. But the parts and labor still cost the same or more. Say you had to put tires on it. Its gonna cost you $600-$700 on a bike that is only worth $500 to begin with. Its sad but its the truth.

Don't think I am dogging imports because I am not. Anyone on two wheels deserves respect. But like everyone else mechanics are in it to make a living.

Peace, HM

Your killing me brother, I actually need new tires for next summer :( . Yeah your not kidding about them not being worth much. I bought mine maybe 10 years ago, only had like 1200 miles on it despite being something like 14 years old at the time and I only paid something like $2400 for it even at the dealership.

I absolutely love the bike, it was my first bike and the bike I learned on, had planned on keeping it and maybe giving it to my kid someday down the road, plus I just really enjoy riding it so while repairs may outweigh the cost of the bike I'll probably keep it around.

You aren't kidding about them being a pain in the butt to work on though, even just taking my battery out is a task.

Demn, the picture really shows its hot over there.. You can just get a chill drinks uhn

That's awesome. How long you guys been around?

Will be 8 years with my own shop in March. I spent almost 7 years before that in an HD dealership. Damn.....makes me sound old.

Sweet work truck man. There's a few of those 'laying' around our shop here too.

Thanks Ed. 1978 Ford F-100 Custom. I love pretty much any vintage vehicles.

Right now at the shop there is a '67 getting a crown vic ifs and 4.6, a '72 with an injected windsor and a '78ish that is 2 front ends put together!

Good Job
How about this picture?
IMG20180102085805.jpg
maybe you can give advice?
But previous, I can pay your advice with my upvote?
Just KiddinG .

Succes for You!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28