Turning "Hard" into HABIT

in #motivation6 years ago

Being a fitness coach, I am often called upon to make suggestions to my clients about behavior changes that we both know will be powerfully beneficial for them. Typical response?

“Yeah, but it’s so HARD.”

Okay, that may very well be true. I get that. Making any positive change is not without its challenges. Things that are hard for me may not be hard for you, and vice versa. I get that too - we’re all different and can’t expect to feel the same way as another person all the time.

So while respecting everyone’s perception of what constitutes “hard,” I’d like to offer a little perspective.

As a human being, you will undoubtedly encounter some very hard things in life - loss, hardship, grief, pain.

Eating asparagus and spinach? Not exactly painful. Packing up your gym clothes the night before and committing to hit up that spin class after work? Definitely nothing like grief. I’d like to argue that these fortifying, health-bolstering practices don’t really fit any of the above categories - though we often like to tell ourselves that they do.

Instead of focusing on how “hard” everything is in the moment, think of every decision as getting you closer to making that good, albeit currently hard, thing a habit. The more unwavering you can be in your pursuit of establishing your desired behaviors, the more of a permanent space you carve out for them in your life.

If you fight to get to the gym Monday through Friday every week, no exceptions, that will become the norm for you and that hour after work will automatically “belong” to the gym. You’ll find ways to work around that constant in your life, rather than trying to fit it in around other activities you’ve prioritized instead.

By the same token, if you refuse to let your nutrition fall by the wayside and instead commit to making smart, balanced dietary choices at least 90% of the time, you will reset your baseline and start feeling so good that what once was challenging is now your new normal.

The more time you devote to integrating these initially tough but undeniably rewarding activities into your life, the more likely you’ll be to find that the challenges you perceive now will eventually cease to be hard and just become a habit.

Trust that the juice will be worth the squeeze - we both know it will be! :)

Need some help? Let me know! Have questions? Bring them on!

Please feel free to comment, upvote, or resteem :) I truly appreciate your support and feedback!

My Post (3).jpg

Sort:  

good information friend,succes always @annemariemay

Thank you! :)

Haha well, thank you for saying that!

yes yes :) @dtubefitness representing :) we want videos ahaha xD


Deal! I have been doing some research and brainstorming about future vlog ideas! Hopefully soon! :) Thank you so much for the invitation! I just followed @dtubefitness and can't wait to watch all of those videos to gather some more inspiration! :)

I'm happy you are excited :) the black box is to join us on discord chat were we can discuss among @dtubefitness members :)

Awesome stuff, as usual ;)!

If you fight to get to the gym Monday through Friday every week, no exceptions, that will become the norm for you and that hour after work will automatically “belong” to the gym. You’ll find ways to work around that constant in your life, rather than trying to fit it in around other activities you’ve prioritized instead.

This is why it's key to have some sort of a routine when it comes to going to the gym! It becomes a habit, a routine, and it will become something that you do no matter what, it's a part of your day :)!

Well put! It may feel like an uphill battle until that habit is created, once it becomes routine it is hard to stop. It actually gets to the point where, the habit becomes more difficult to break than it was to create one in the first place! :)

Thank you so much for spending the time on a regular basis to comment and read my blog! :)

No don't thank me ;)! Thank you for writing quality content :)!

thanks for the dose of motivation!

Of course! Anything I can do to help! :)

Agreed that baselines changes. That is something that is hard to admit and rely on. But we can all remember that it happens and we can commit and change lifestyles. Eating raw garlic is normal for me now after eating them each day the past year.

True - I think reminders that it IS possible to change are always helpful too! :) wow, raw garlic? I've only heard of a couple people trying that, and I never have myself... What sort of health benefits have you noticed so far from that practice? I'm intrigued!

Old people eat raw garlic. When I Google natural remedies, I see garlic on many lists for many illnesses as garlic cures. Well, for the most part, garlic helps prevent us from getting sick in the first place. After about a year of eating raw garlic each day, I feel like I have more energy. I can think faster. Better digestion. Probably more things too.

Just start following ya, Start motivating me haha 😝

Thank you! And I will do my best!! haha :)

tenor (1).gif

Good start? haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48