Mother's Day Treat: The Olive Garden

in #mothersday6 years ago (edited)

20180513_132950~2.jpg
A lot of moms enjoy a dinner out at a nice restaurant for our special day.

As for me, the Olive Garden I am referencing isn't a restaurant, it is a feral orchard planted by San Bernardino city founders,

UPDATE: I WAS INCORRECT ABOUT THE FOLLOWING:

Mormon pioneers, circa 1850.

TODAY I FOUND THIS RECORD:

"Their [the Kansas City Real Estate Investment Co.] first farming developments were in the late 1880s when crews planted acres of olive trees. In an Earl Buie column from a May 1962, Sun, in the California Room, Feldheym Library files, remarked that 17 acres of olives from Eureka Stree almost to the foothills were planted by another land developer syndicate, Avery and Little, in the late 1890s." https://www.highlandnews.net/entertainment/how-tierra-de-la-rosa-became-del-rosa/article_60b69024-e9a7-53d8-af3a-1aa690ad9bfc.html

20180513_131234.jpg

Many of the olive trees are in full bloom. This is the first time I have ever scrutinized these humble flowers, and they are so interesting when viewed with the macro function of my cellphone.

20180513_131109~2.jpg A cluster of tiny, pale buds

20180513_132018~2.jpg A miniature spray of open blossoms

20180513_131259.jpg These flowers promise an abundant harvest of wonderful fruit.

You may remember my post from this past fall where we gathered a pailfull of these feral olives and pressed them for oil. https://steemit.com/wildcrafting/@creationofcare/wildcrafting-feral-olives

This year, I want to go about gathering and pressing this amazing free bounty in a more organized way. There is a lot of variation in the fruits of individual trees, and I hope to categorize them for the best oil yield and taste.

20180513_131442~2.jpg Everyone enjoys a trip to The Olive Garden, it is extremely dog-friendly!

What Mother's Day would be complete without a gift of flowers? The olive trees weren't the only things in bloom here in Borea Canyon!

20180513_131149~2.jpg Chaparral Sage with bee

20180513_132451~2.jpg Close up of White Sage blossom

20180513_133433.jpg A slope covered in Sunflowers and Morning Glories

20180513_133817~2.jpg Wild Morning Glory

20180513_133746.jpgThe sand wash was dotted with colorful wildflowers.

20180513_133755.jpg A sunny yellow bloom

20180513_131401.jpg Elderberry Blooms. I will return this week to collect some for a floral infusion, that Victorian delicacy.

20180513_131523~2.jpg Tree Tobacco, Nicotiana Glauca

This member of the tobacco family is full of a dangerous substance, toxic anabasine, and should only be used under the supervision of an experienced ethnobotanist. Smoking or eating it can prove fatal. However, it is an attractive plant especially when loaded with its tubular yellow flowers.

20180513_131538.jpg Nicotiana Glauca blossoms

Tree Tobacco is not the only heavy Medicine plant growing wild here. Yhere are also sprawling Datura vines with their huge, white trumpet flowers. Brisket dove under one in a mad attempt to catch a squirrel.

20180514_092511-COLLAGE.jpg

I adore my handsome dog!

20180513_131506~2.jpg

To me, there is no better way to get spoiled than to be accompanied on a walk in the wilds!

20180513_132831.jpg

Meanwhile, my 18 year old son spent the afternoon working on a tool block for my leather stamps. It is nearly finished, so I will wait to show it off when complete. For now, here he is, saying hi with a chicken!

20180513_174408~2.jpg

I hope you enjoyed love and connection on your Mother's Day weekend! Feel free to share in the comments below, I would love to upvote you!

Love,Cat
@creationofcare

Sort:  

Happy Mothers Day Love Cat ❤ 🐱

I do so enjoy your wonderful walks with you!!
All the pretty flowers, rocks and feral orchard!
Olive trees are so cool, use to live near Olive City ;-)

Have a most awesome day my friend 💕

Your kind words always brighten my day! Thank you 🤩

Oh wow, thats awsome :)! Nice pictures and Happy belated Mothers Day

Thank you!

This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!! Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

SCSreplybanner.jpg

That is fantastic and I truly feel honored! Please see my fact check update, however.

Got it! Updated the post.

Great stuff Love,Cat! That looks like a really cool little unknown spot. And you know I'm loving all that plant info!!

Thanks! I feel lucky to be so close to the foothills. It is easy to forget I live in San Berdoo 😉

Now I know this place is so close we will have to go check it out, thanks for sharing with us all :)
Glad to see you had a good mother's day. Your chicken looks just like our oldest chick 'Orange', who lays blue eggs!

It is a pretty cool little spot, and there are more than enough olives to go around! It is just above Del Rosa Ave.

Thanks for the happy MD greetings!

Aw, Orange sounds just like our Citroen here, she is also an easter egger

I love finding all the little hidden gems that are local to us :)

Aww I love the chickens and want to get pink and green egg layers now.

So many pretty locations to enjoy! I am hankering to get on the trails up above Big Bear. Bluff Lake Preserve and the Siberia Creek trail are calling my name!

What type of hen lays the pink colored eggs? We are now selling 2 dozen eggs per month and are thinking about picking up 3 more pullets.

I was looking on a website called 'My Pet Chicken'. They sell 1 day old chicks, full grown chickens or eggs for hatching. If you go on there, they have a drop down menu for egg colors.
We need to arrange the Pups with Trucks outing along the Cleghorn trail to Silverwood Lake. Which weekends in June are you free for it?

I will check out that egg color menu. I usually buy chicks from All Pet feedstore out of convenience, plus the manager will order specific types upon request. But i have read only good things about My Pet Chicken.

The first two weekends in June are occupied, I will see what Matt wants to do for Father's Day for the third weekend. Right now, the weekend of the 23-24th looks open. 😁

Hi, Sorry for the late reply we went to OR for a few days so not been on here.
I didn't know All Pet sold chicks! We get our food from them.
Okay great, I don't think we have anything planned that weekend but I'll check after work with Larry :)

Let me know :)

Just went to all pet yesterday. I think they have black jerseys, americaunas, buff orps, white leghorns, and some kind of browns . And turkey chicks! Lol . I want three new babies but kinda bigger than hatchlings. It is time to make a post about my baby girls' 1 year bday!!!

I need to get out more! Im in ocean beach and tend to get stuck here because it's a pretty great and all inclusive kind of place lol. That looks amazing though 😍 I grew up in Maine, picking wild berries with my Memere and Oma, making our own maple syrup etc, and I miss that nature time sorely.

Ocean Beach is a great place, I don't blame you for sticking close.

Happy belated mother's day!! While I do love a good olive garden breadstick and that salad dressing is crack, I am immensely relieved to know you didn't spend your day eating fake italian food. xoxoxo

Hehehe! So true! I did not exaggerate when I said I preferred this walk to overspending in a chain diner lololol!!! Much love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59249.61
ETH 2526.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46