Look, desire, buy. An experiment with product photography - #monomad Monday Challenge

in #monomad6 years ago

c2 g.jpg

One day I asked myself...

How far could I push my product photography? How far could I take it down the line of suggestive without going too far? It was an interesting challenge for myself. At that time I had a connection to a local LA brand who specialized in interesting pieces, which made it super simple to put something like this together.

I had fun figuring ways to incorporate the familiar, and in ways make it unfamiliar, keeping the unconscious stimulation but leaving the viewer confused for a second. And in that second the attraction between confusion and understanding is where I hope the desire to know more blooms. Not just to get what the picture is, but to find out more about what's being shown.

It was a shame but the potential client wasn't a huge fan of the pitch.

They had their own image of where they wanted to take that line, which is completely cool. I'm just a creative showing different paths that can be followed, not the one dictating directions. Perhaps in the future they'll come back and be like, 'let's give that a try!' But, it will have to be their own idea, hehe. Creatives are weird like that sometimes. We like to make it ours before we're ready to do something.

Until then, I'm just gonna keep ideating, creating, and pitching. The never-ending process of trying to live a creatives life :) If you whomever's reading this knows someone who might need work like this done, let me know!

Stay tuned for some color images from this shoot. This is just my entry into @brumest's lovely #monomad photo contest that he holds everyday. Today's focus is MACRO. Check out the Monomad photo challenge here.

c2 q.jpg

Sort:  

Excellent post friend, good creativity!

I imagine it must be quite the venture trying to capture the clients specific theme image; although that in itself can (as you say) cause you to dig deep with the creativity :)

Hehe, these were just for me. Sometimes I put together shoots just to try a concept to see if it gets anyones attention. But, yeah, I did a couple shoots for them. First one they loved, second, not so much. But, it was done the same so I just had to shrug my shoulders and keep moving. No such thing as the perfect client, hehe. Most of the time they have this specific image in mind, and it's less of a creative thing for me to create it, than it is to try and draw out the specific words that will let me know what they really want.

Sounds quite frustrating lol ;-) But then again everything has it's ups and downs and it's challenges :-)

Exactly! Wish life was a bit easier, but that's not how the universe works, hehe.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=look-desire-buy-an-experiment-with-product-photography-monomad-monday-challenge


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

These are beautiful!! Fantastic!

Glad you like them :) Be posting some of the color work later today. Fun stuff happens when I get 'bored.'

Haha, thats a good time to get creative!

'bored' usually means high, lol. which is an awesome time to do fun stuff like create :)

Hahaha that too!! Both aspects! As long as the creativity is flowing!

really love the subject matter as well as your shots of them!

Yeah! The jewelry is pretty dope :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77