You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dark Side of Capitalism

in #money7 years ago (edited)

This is why I feel inclined to use the term anarcho-capitalism much less as of late and why I prefer "voluntaryism" more and more. ("Center-libertarianism" works to explain how I'm not right wing, but still leaves a lot open in terms of power given or not given to the state.)

People have increasingly started thinking that we don't mind having a society of poverty and unlimited power to sociopaths. Now even racists, monarchists and both cultural and political fascists are starting to infiltrate discussion groups on social media. Many outright claim that "anarcho-capitalism will not be practical until we have an all-white nation".

This all saddens me. I was sure that the best course of action was to take back the term "capitalism", but considering how it's now successfully being painted as everything we should oppose - not only by the left, but because of a resurging right - I may have to rethink my strategy in that department.

I'm not giving up and I'm not changing my main convictions of course. But I will have to give this new situation some extra consideration.

Sort:  

This is why I dont associate myself with ancaps anymore. The ancap philosophy is just a too big tent philosophy and it doesnt even have any clear stances on issues, and it has conflicting positions on some issues. So of course you will have communist and nazi infiltrators trying to steer it in their own direction.

Perhaps the stance should be no initiation of force, and then the racist will then define it as some races are more prominent to crime than others, therefore they have to get rid of to have a voluntary society. Now this is totally flawed, most of those statistics are biased anyway. But they don't realize that by "physical removal" they imply much greater use of force than the victims would have used anyway. Which means that it's the racist that is the real aggressor.

So the only question that really matters is who has the power? And if you give power to a centralized body be that communist or nazi, it will do exactly that same kind of atrocities as we saw in the 20th century, with whatever justification they come up with.

If nobody has power, or the power is very limited and distributed, then we don't have to worry about any systematic agression. It's just that simple.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59117.01
ETH 2525.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48