Three Habits of Successful Real Estate Investors

in #money7 years ago (edited)

The best thing that a new real estate investor can do is practice the habits of other successful real estate investors. It is a clear and defined way toward progress using habits you have already seen work.

analysis-2811721_640.jpg
image source

Three Habits of Successful Real Estate Investors

1.) Focus and Decide

There is a saying in sales that if your market is everyone then your market is no one. I believe this holds true with real estate investing as well.

There are many forms of real estate investing. Flipping, wholesaling, buy and hold rental, vacation rentals and so on. If we try to do all of them, we will make little to no progress. We only have so many resources and so much time in a day.

Successful real estate investors focus on one specialty and then commit their time and resources to it.

For me, I focus exclusively on buy and hold rental properties. I want to acquire properties that cash flow in good markets I can hold for an extended period. It is the style of investing that meets my goals and suits my personality.

Additionally, I learned the ins ans outs of it that much faster, being all my energy was focused there. Plus, you become known for that specific specialty in you given market.

So if John Doe from your local real estate investor association (REIA) is looking to unload some rental properties, he will likely reach out to you since that is what you do.

2.) Keep Busy Keep Working

That sounds like the opposite of what we want real estate investing to do for us. However, it means be sure you keep the momentum going. Days and weeks can quickly slip away without taking action on your real estate investing.

Successful real estate investors are always doing something that can help them reach their goals.

This can be as simple as attending local meetups and networking with other investors. Maybe that leads to doing a deal with them or getting a piece of useful information that can be applied to your real estate holdings.

Up until a year ago I was collecting rent the old school way. Then an acquaintance turned me on to https://cozy.co/ which provides a tool for rent collection online at no cost. This allowed me to streamline my rent collection and no longer deal with depositing checks at the bank.

3.) Leverage Services Providers

The bottom line is we are a finite resource. No matter how hard we work there is a limit to what can be accomplished in a given time frame. That limit is expanded by making use of services providers.

Successful real estate investors let others do some of the work for them, or better yet enhance it.

For example - searching for rental properties to acquire is time consuming and there are only so many deals we can find on our own. However, there are plenty of services that do just that; find deals.

The clearest example are wholesalers. They find properties, get them under contract and look to sell them to a third party investor for a small percentage profit.

Personally, I don't mind if they are making money off the deal because I would not have found it without them. As long as the price works for me and it cash flows that is all that matters.

Pretty Simple Habits, Right?

There you have it. Three Habits of Successful Real Estate Investors.


If you enjoy my posts and property investing tips, then you will love my new book:
ScaredyCatGuide - Investing in Rental Properties

I literally walk you step-by-step through finding, buying and renting out a rental property. The book is your personal mentor!

Steemit_txtdvidr.png

Best Regards,
Scaredy Cat Guide Logo_SiteHeader3.jpg

Sort:  


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

I upvoted and comment for you. Please upvote and comment for helping me grow @mdfoysal

Thanks for the great tips! I hope that some day soon we will be doing so well on Steemit that we can all invest in some new properties ;)

thank you! I 'm interested in real estate as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97