Make $3,000 Per Month Creating Your Own Amazon Product Bundle with Cheap Items from Home Depot

in #money7 years ago


Hey guys, I have a nice side hustle idea for you guys today. This side hustle is creating a product and bundling items to create an outdoor light hanging kit.

Recently my girlfriend bought some of these outdoor lights to hang above our patio. These lights don't come with any hardware to hang them so your on your own for that part. After several unsuccessful trips to the hardware store looking for items to hang these lights it occured to me that if someone were to sell a kit and save consumers the hassle of running through the isles of Home Depot trying to find hardware to Jimmy Wrig something together, I think it would probably be a hit.

This product has very little competition. There's really only 2 serious sellers selling anything similar to this and IMHO their product is really low quality. They are also charging $39 and $45 and the cost of materials is probably under $5.

The two main sellers currently selling these kits on Amazon are selling over 100 units per month so I would estimate their profits conservatively at about $3,000 to $4,000 per month.

To me the beauty of this idea is that you really don't even need to order any inventory. If you want to you could buy the hardware in bulk and make even bigger margins, however you could even not buy anything, list your product bundle on Amazon or eBay or a Shopify store for sale, and if a customer buys one you run on over to Home Depot, buy the parts, send to the customer and just buy inventory piece by piece as you make sales.

If the product winds up taking off and you begin to sell consistantly then maybe you think about buying some inventory and pre-assembling these kits.

Now the downside to this idea is it's a very small niche. There's only one use for these kits and it's hanging outdoor lights. It's also a seasonal business for the most part. That said it's still really attractive to me because there's huge margins, low competition, and this is something where you don't need a big outlay of money to get started.

What do you think?

Sort:  

very cool idea. I might not do the light hanging kit specifically, but I am looking for a side hustle. I do handyman work so there's gotta be some job I've done before that warrants some kind of marketable kit. you got my wheels turning!

yeah think about any task that's a hassle to do or that's hard to find the parts for and see if you can find a way to simplify it. maybe you made your own little tool for cleaning gutters or have a better method.

if your a handyman are you on thumbtack? i used to use it for my landscaping business and it was amazing how many clients we got using it. i know it works pretty well for handymen as well in most areas.

Thanks for the tip. I mostly just work for handymen and tradesmen because i dont have time outside of school to run my own business. Im pretty broke right now, so I need to find a side hustle outside of my odd jobs.

That's the beauty of Thumbtack. People posts requests for jobs they need and you bid on the jobs. Couple years back I started a landscaping business with a buddy, in one season we built it up to 55 plus weekly accounts along with numerous other mulch jobs, cleanups, etc. The site is awesome for service providers, you don't have to start a big business either, you can do it yourself as a sole prop ie using your social you don't even need an LLC.

Thats exactly what I need. Ive been doing Bellhops which is like thumbtack for moving jobs, but it's spotty and pay is meh. Thanks a ton!

Very smart idea! Good luck with it.

This is incredibly smart, I have been trying to succeed doing stuff like this but I can't believe that bundling is something that never popped in my head and I believe it is an awesome way to create value. Thank you for sharing the knowledge, pretty much on point and great advise for anyone getting started in the only marketing world. I wish all the best and success with your en devours

So many ideas and so little time! I need like 10 employees over here!

Great idea! My husband and I have been selling on Amazon for a few years now. This is exactly the kind of thing that works well.!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48