Immense Increase in STEEM's Users or: How STEEM is well on it's way to over-take other cryptos. My Commentary and Analysis.

in #money8 years ago

STEEM has overtaken Ethereum's number of transactions and is well on its way to over take that of Bitcoin.

Analysis of recent events

Since my last article on the listing of Steem on Poloniex, a few things have happened that I'll explain in the post below.

Probably the most important thing that has happened is that Steem has overtaken Ethereum's number of transactions! Woo!! This calls for a party!

So why is this a big deal? Let me explain.

First of all, large number of transactions mean that a ton of people are using it. Currently, that distinction belongs to Bitcoin. But it looks like Bitcoin's days are numbered. STEEM surpassed Ethereum's 37.9k transactions per day with 116k transactions per day. Wow! Bitcoin is currently crowned with 222k transactions per day but it's only temporary. We are coming for it.

This means that STEEM's users have multiplied since it's listing on Poloniex. And hence the number of transactions has increased immensely. This brings me to the second section of my analysis; lets take a look at the user growth and the site traffic of Steemit.com.

User Growth And Site Traffic

That's Steemit's Alexa rank jump. If you don't know what Alexa is, well, it's a site that sees what site is most frequently visited and which site is not, which site has the largest number of unique IP visits and daily users and which site does not et cetera. It ranks them on this basis.

Steemit's rank at the time of writing this is 35,637. It means that Steemit is the 35,637th most visited site in the world. If you don't think that that's a lot, then well, let me blow your mind: Steemit.com climbed 7,785,302 spots up in the month of July alone. Holy fuck.

This is a massive increase in users. Note that I do not use the word "massive" here just for effect, I use it because it's 100% accurate and true.

When I wrote my Poloniex article, I hinted at a potential huge surge of users. And today, I'm writing about that same surge, it has happened. But like I said in that article, this is just the beginning. If we can grow that much in just the first half of July, just imagine how huge can we be given enough time. And now, onto the third part of my analysis.

People Discovering STEEM

I wrote about how people would Google Steem and try to learn more about it when they hear about it from their friends and peers. How they would learn more about crypto-currencies as a whole and try to participate in them. How they would educate themselves. Well, I guess that has happened too.

This is the number of visits to steemit.com through search engines. This is what we need. On my Poloniex article, I got a lot of comments saying how they had never learned about Steem prior to its listing on Poloniex and learning about it from the people in the Poloniex chat box (Trollbox). They said about how many other users who have just heard about Steem are also coming here from Poloniex. This is one of the reasons why our listing on Poloniex was such a big event. People trust Poloniex and as some of the comments said, it's as close as we come to an official endorsement in the world of crypto-currencies.

Conclusion

With a lot of new tags and topics on the Steemit front-page and this huge user hike, I think it's safe to say that Steemit is the new front-page of the internet. Personally, if I look at just myself, I can proudly say that I have not visited another social media site in 5 days. And I think that a lot of you would find yourself in the same position. This means that Steemit.com is a truly-worthy and top contender for the crown of Social Media. I thank the Steem devs that have made this platform so amazing, hats off to you.

With this content and community, Steemit.com has cemented itself as one of the best (if not the best) social media platform currently on the World Wide Web. It is head and shoulders above every one else.


I am sorry I didn't post much yesterday, it was because I thought that I had no content that was worth posting. I am just an amateur article-writing monkey who's just trying to make a living. I'll keep you updated on the future developments in the Steem scene. Constructive criticism is warmly welcome. As always, thanks for reading.

Sources

Alexa
STEEM transactions. It's the first chart.
Bitcoin charts.
Ethereum charts.
Special thanks to @clayop for informing us about this. You should give his post a read.

Sort:  

Nice analysis, and we hope steemit continues to grow.

Hopefully after Poloniex other exchanges will follow and also will add STEEM to further increase it's exposure.

This is what I hope for too. The more exchanges list us, more new user surges we will see.

Very cool. I was just looking into Steemit.com on Alexa last night and couldn't believe the numbers. Great reporting.

I know, right? It was hard for me to believe too!

That's awesome, and we are "launching" this great platform. what a privilege

have a look in my post too, say if you like
https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitdude/steemit-do-good-payments-but-can-it-be-even-better

I think the Poloniex is a great step in the right direction. The number of people is going to continue to rise, the popularity will hopefully intensify, and the categories will continue to grow. These are all expected in my opinion. In the future you will have to use the search a lot more to find what interest you. I like gaming, photography, fishing, and traveling. Just like I do on YouTube, I would search for what I want to look at. That's the way it will eventually be here.

Right now, on Steemit, when people write posts or articles they are trying to make EVERYONE happy. There is no way to do that. Everyone doesn't like what you like or what I like.

Thanks for your post. Good luck!

That's absolutely right! When the userbase grows, topics/tags are destined to expand.

Thank you for your feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65520.16
ETH 2652.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87