I Love Mondays: Around Because Of The People On SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #monday5 years ago (edited)

While I’ve never been a very sociable person out in the real world if it was not for the people and the things they do on this platform. It would just be any other platform and I would be long gone.

I’ve noticed for many who come here it’s just another platform to conquer and they measure it in profit, comments, and how far up trending they are. The people are just a means to an end for them. Many of them are long gone and we won’t be seeing them for a while!

Today is Monday which means I prepare a rather time-consuming comment for a game I play on Steemit. It is a text-based game that happens in the comments of a certain blog. I’ve never been a big role-player ever but I find myself putting some efforts into that accept as well. It’s not required or anything and the people who play it are rather friendly. They don’t mind if I’m not trying to add in a little lore and it’s great when efforts are made to do so as well.

It was 2 am in the morning. I wanted to get some screenshots and for once and for all in the many weeks, I’ve been engaging with this group of people to name my area. It’s not required but it’s an option if you like. So I loaded up a game called Wurm Unlimited. I hope every week I can put some time into the game and try and build around how my actual area is going in the game I’m playing on the blockchain. I understand normal people would never put that kind of effort just for some screenshots they are going to leave as a comment. I on either hand enjoy putting effort into things. Despite it being such a busy month and I had to put the time in at this insane hour just to do it.

While I do many things on and off the blockchain involving Steem or other things in life. I find if I can’t put a certain level of effort into something that was the point? Sure I could just toss up some basic comment and that would be fine. Heck, I would just not play the game at all and choose not to support it by engaging and having some fun with others.

It would become rather easy for me to just sit in my blog or in one of the couples of discords I’m active in. That could very easily become my experience of Steem that I consume on a daily basis. For many, that is what spending time here has turned into. It can be quite easy as I often find I don’t comment as much as I use to on the platform.

I don’t know many that would put over 3 hours into making a single comment. I just did. In fact, I often write comments that many would be quick to turn into blogs instead. Sometimes I choose to share them as a blog other times I’m just happy they remain a comment. Once in a while, I end up expanding comments written into a blog.

So many struggles with ideas to create content around here. I have so many ideas and thoughts I just skip over most of them. A decent comment most of the time and as I seem them. Other I'm sure would see full-blown content for a week!

My Comment

1cover2.jpg

First I finally desired a name to call my area. I’m quite horrible at naming thing if you can’t tell my account. Since the area I’m in are mountains I just added something that felt like the area and it is now called

Blackfoot Mountain

I would not be shocked if I had played a game before with a Blackfoot mountain or area of land by such a name. For whatever reason at two in the morning, it just felt fitting.

Next up was to write out my actions for the start of the week. There's a quest that happens during mid-week that will be its own comments. My own little story which I’ll admit is not that great will change over the coming week based on my own interactions with others. Because of that, it's not a very deep story. I simply describe the actions more or less of all the workers in my town, my own actions, and so forth. As seen below.

After discovering a new area I make my way back to my camp. Things are starting to move and slowly come together. In the coming weeks, some great improvement is expected to be made to better reflect the current progress being made.

With the food stocks getting low I ask two workers to work the land this week. They plant an assortment of different things from wheat to anything else they managed to forge from the lands while out on day hikes.

It is getting a bit colder outside and two workers just won't sit around the fire doing research. One o them believes after studying some crystal formation in the rocks we were pulling out of the quarry in the mountain that iron could be nearby. So he goes off looking for an iron vein hoping his research will lead him right to one. The other worker notices are lack of weapons and if we are going have iron we will need a blacksmith. As such he starts reading Blacksmithing, Iron, and Coal the how-to guide to blacksmithing basic weapons.

Another worker notices our supply of four hides and starts to think what could be crafted out of it. Wanting to experiment and increase his ability he starts tanning and cutting it into hiding armor. He thinks it should only take a week to craft it.

Not wanting our Gunnar’s Pick Axe to rust one worker oils it up and goes mining in the quarry for more stone. They had such a good week finding gems he hopes to strike success again in finding another.

I head off to the outpost for a couple of days to see if I can make some trades. Hearing about some reindeer in trouble I plan mid-week to go down to help them. I’ll grab my gear for a hard adventure over the coming week. I make sure my spear’s tip is sharpened, my shield is crack free and my hide armor is lightly polished. I head out with a cheerful tune about mining.

Now granted at this hour of the day I’m sure there are a few mistakes in it. I did at least make some attempts at proofreading and rewriting it. Yet, I really should be sleeping by now. Before getting some rest I really needed to get some stuff done first. If I don’t I won’t have the time later on such as making a very strange post out of a comment along with my thoughts in it.

So many people tell me every day they just don’t have the time. It would be easy to make that excess about the comment, about getting a blog out today, about the hundreds of things going down this week. Instead, I’ll just put the effort in now and work things out as I go.

As far as rest of that comment. I set up a small area for the organization in a comment for trading and some other stuff. I’m trying to buy some hide so next week I can make more armor for myself. On top of that, I have started to think about the future of what buildings I’ll need in the game and my own pondering of the costs to craft them and exactly what you get it. While some players might already have some stuff built and I could go peak over on their sheet. Well, a bit of mystery is fun as well!

Along with that, I included some additional details that are asking for every week. Like what quest I was going to take up and my resource levels after any trading, building, and so forth. While they are not required to be as detailed as I make them. That is part of the fun! It also makes it easy on myself setting up the organization now.

May you find some amazing people to enjoy a Monday on. There are many who will soon wake up and curse this day of the week. I thankfully have found something fun on Steemit. I don’t know many people who look forward to Mondays like I do. In fact, I look forward to more days of the week than most. So many seem to be wishing there days and life away waiting for something to happen. Sometimes you just need put in some effort to find a reason to make an ordinary day like Monday something amazing.

Perhaps one day I’ll get around to all days of the week.
I love Wednesdays
I love Thursdays

Information

Screenshots were taken and content written by @enjar. Screenshots are from a game called Wurm Unlimited.

Sort:  

I love the effort you have put in! This Darklands is a very fun incentivized play by post - I am so happy to have found a good group here on steem, but even deeper than the fun of it I sense we are on to something innovative - blockchain powered role playing!!

Hey it's nice to see that you're getting involved in things like thse because tbh that's what keeps the community alive, specially what I consider undeground projects like darklands.

Do you think you can tell me a little bit more about the game? The way you're taking that effort into it, must mean you really like it sdo hey, why not take some specific time of the day for it? Sounds like fun o:

It’s free to join but if you delegate Sp to them you get more workers per week based on how much. All you have to do is ask them to join on the active weekly post and next week you will arrive on the boat. You can also buy more workers with silver you earn from questing or later on mining. Costs go up every time you buy another worker.

Every Monday they post a weekly colony post. In that post you state what you want your workers to do that week from building, research, to farming different things like stone/wood/food. You have till the next one to make a comment with your decisions. Most try and be done by Wednesday on that part. They also upvote active players.

You can also trade with the outpost at weekly set amounts or try and strike put a deal with another player as well.

You also need let them know before Wednesday what quest of the week you want go on if you want to. There are three different difficulty easy (passive), medium, and hard. The medium and hard have starting Wednesday posts that you need to interact with till the quest is complete. They tend to finish on by Sundays. Every day there is a post where you can have 3 actions. You can either move or roll the dice and try attacking. Throughout the day the map might get updated once to make it easier for those who have not started yet to see what is left to attack. You goal is to find the object/save something/defeat something. If you run out of HP you are knocked out and do not get any loot; along with, 50% reduced production for next week. So there some risk vs reward there.

Workers consume food and you can also have other things like fireplace that uses wood weekly. Along with negative or positive stats that your colony gets. For instance I built a fireplace so my workers are no longer cold and lose production every week due to it.

While it does look quite involved after you get the ropes and learn where to look for information I’ve found it quite enjoyable.

They just updated a wiki style of post on steemit that goes into a lot more detail.

https://steemit.com/rpg/@darklands/how-to-do-darkland-tutorial-wiki-regions-and-quest-rules

Along with that there is also a google doc that lists everyone items, building, research, what they can craft, and anything else needed to be known.

WOW O: I didn't know it was this deep but it also looks kindof satisfying to play, y'know? It really involves engaging a little bit with others in the questing part but also needs you to go ahead and develop your own kindof story/ daily routine with what you choose to do o:

As I said I didn't know it was that deep. I'll probably give it a try if find myself without nothing to write here on steemit!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 220 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I love your opening paragraph!
Great to see your still here. Your definitely right, lots of users took off real quick... months ago. Times are tough.
It's actually quite depressing to see so many cryptocurrency users struggle right now. So many people expected soo much more.
Well, hopefully this next year will be better.

Indeed let 2019 be a rocking year. So many communities and projects are all shutting down these past couple of weeks. While it sucks some consolidation of the markets seems to have been needed.

Those that survive are setting themselves up nicely for the coming year.

!sbi status

Hi @enjar!

  • you have 46 units and 0 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 398322406877 or 0.238 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.048 $

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69