Bellator hits the Big Apple, the usual craziness ensues…

in #mma7 years ago (edited)


Bellator_NYC_Silva_vs_Sonnen_Fight_Poster.0.png

Sonnen wins grudge match. Trashes New York

Chael Sonnen’s extended audition to become a WWE wrestler continued in earnest last night. After beating Brazilian Wanderei Silva, Sonnen turned heel on the mic:

"As I look around this arena… all I could think to myself is, 'God damn, I hate New York,'"



Chael is definitely WWE material. Well at least in this fight he proved he can actually wrestle as he ‘dry humped’ his way to victory. Oops maybe I should watch my mouth, lest I “piss off a gangster!”

Double knock down. Mitrione is last man standing

Matt Mitrone defeated mma legend Fedor Emelianenko in the first round of their co-main event. The fight started tentatively, before exchanging right hands at the same time. Both fighters hit the floor but it was Mitrone who recovered first to pounce on Fedor and finish off the Russian while he was on the floor.

'I get knocked down… but I get up again… You’re never gonna keep me down'

Mitrione is a former American footballer, and that ability to get knocked down and get straight up served him in good stead in this one.

As for Emelianenko, he will go down as one of the greatest mma fighter ever. However Father Time catches up with everyone. He was showing signs of deterioration in his last fight (a questionable win over Fabio Maldonado). The manner of this defeat only serves to confirm the decline.

I’m all for fighters, getting in, making as much money as they can and getting out before they get seriously hurt. It appears to be reaching that point for Fedor.

Chandler breaks ankle. Gets title pulled from under him

So it’s the first round of your title defence. You break your ankle, yet somehow manage to knock down your opponent. The referee sees fit to stop the fight to get your foot looked at. They sit you down on a stool. Officials are in the ring looking to stop the fight. You get up to protest. You go to sit back down and a New York commissioner decides to pull the stool from under you… and the ref calls off the fight...

'Hoppin out wit two broken legs tryna walk it off'

Yep… a Bellator event definitely went down in NYC last night alright!

Sort:  

I have to say I was impressed with Heather Hardy's flight. That girl can box! She was undefeated in women's boxing and she stuffed every take down from Alice Yauger then tkos her after letting her get back up! Crazy night.

I remember watching Emelianenko all the time on pride and thought he was GOD LOL... it was still good to see Fedor and Wanderei fight again even though they are past their prime... HEY, at least my boy Chael Sonnen WON HAHA ... looking for his next fight with tito :)

absolute savages

oh man that looks like i missed something here hahaha
i defintley need to watch this, ...laughing,... sonnen the trashtalker
Fedor Emelianenko vs Matt Mitrone was a quick one hm?
i have to watch it all... cant wait... lat me finish my comment and watch it ^^
should i have a look for myself or are you able to provide some shady link? hihi

Chael, the homeless GSP.

When I went to college, I came across MMA. My first reaction was, 'No, I don't want to fight. I just want to learn jujitsu.' I didn't know what UFC was; in my mind it was this violent, ugly sport. But when I watched my first amateur fight, I fell in love with the sport and thought it was beautiful.
kindly upvote any of my post,thanks @abbeymelchizedek

Fedor's time is over. But we all will remember the Imperator as one of the best fighters.

That is great! I love Box! That man is very big! fight!

Bravo Chandler .. Bravo !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17