Minnow power has increased in unexpected wayssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #minnow7 years ago (edited)

It is worth noting that not only has minnow power increased in the area of upvoting. It has also increased in the area of downvoting. We have the power to control the platform through the wisdom of the crowd.

Some have suggested that the platform will be overcome by 'pineapple' posts. The inference being that pineapple posts, are posts of little value and simply created to attract a reward for little effort. This could be true, if minnows simply choose to upvote. It is within the power of minnow to cast a downvote now though.

If you have visited the Busy.org website (which is being funded by Steemit), you will notice that there is no flag option. There are instead two buttons. An upvote and a downvote. A thumbs up and a thumbs down.

If you spot a post or a comment that you don't like, downvote it. Don't be afraid. Say what you mean and mean what you say. Once Busy.org gets going, downvotes are going to be showing up all over the place. It is only on Steemit that the downvote appears as a 'flag'.

Embrace the minnow power of the 'Experiment'. Use both your upvote AND your downvote.

fract15.png

Sort:  

If the downvote acts like a flag why use it for disliking a post when it's used to curb dishonest posts. This is confusing.
carrying_question_pa_500_clr_2483.gif

Yes thank you! I upvote a lot but I'm afraid to flag unless I think it's a scam.

Everyone has their own criteria for flagging / downvoting. Personally I rarely do.

Thank you @timcliff

It's not a flag on Busy.org. There is no confusion there. It's a downvote.

Do you know whether I am posting from Busy.org or Steemit?

I don't know what busy.org is.

It is another platform that uses the same steem blockchain. They read the same posts, vote on the same post, but have an entirely different interface. It is being designed for the mobile market, to encourage the engagement in the steem through mobile devices.

Steemit Inc is funding development. There will be many third party platforms posting to the blockchain. Steemit.com is just the first.

You can access it using your current Steemit account.

If you don't like my post or comment. I encourage you to downvote it. Please do. Vote what you mean, mean what you vote.

I would rather not downvote but just not vote for that person. Sometimes I don't like a post due to lack of images and text that leaves little understanding of what the post is about. Sometimes a post can tip my curosity so I will comment asking question. I feel I am here to encourage, support and to inspire not to downvote or flag people. That's just me if others do ... that's fine if they tell me why so I can improve. I don't believe in targeting a person as I found that very discouraging.

I like to encourage and inspire people who I believe have the interests of the platform in mind. There are others that I feel ambivalent towards, but tolerant of their content. I can choose to not vote for them. Then there are those who I find irresponsible, divisive or perhaps even malicious in their intent. For those people I would choose to downvote.

Now that I have the power to make my minnow vote heard, it is worthwhile for me to make my voice heard.

The problem we've had is with concentration of voting power in the hands of a few. When my upvote or downvote is in the order of a couple of cents or more, then my opinion is in good proportion to my place on the platform. I am just one person amongst many and my vote reflects that.

The more power I have, the more circumspect I should be about using that power. It is not a perfect system yet, but I see encouraging signs as people are starting to take responsibility for their actions.

With great power comes great responsibility. Whales should seek to be sparing in their use of power, perhaps limiting it to constraining abusive behaviour. Minnows on the other hand can do the work of discovering the content that should be rewarded, tolerated or discouraged.

Thank you for letting me see your perspective. It makes sense.

You're welcome. Thanks for engaging in the discussion. I value your input and welcome your opinion.

ProTip:

'ReSteem' WhatEver and WhoEver! U love! ;) <3

Set the Swarm-Intelligence FREE! ;)

It seems that Steemit will maximize it's success if all community members (whale and minnows) feel their participation truly matters and is rewarded. I don't know enough yet to know which I am.

Thank you sea blue for your post. I learn a bit at a time from you and others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71