Cheap GPU rig build with metal corner bead ---6 GTX 1070 RIGsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

Cheaprigphoto.jpg

I needed to put together something quick a while back for six GTX 1070 GPUS and I happened to have some extra metal corner bead and a box of rivets. I quickly cut the metal corned bead to the measured dimensions with tin snips and used rivets to secure the frame. I had an old PC case I used for the motherboard and some metal tape to secure one of the GPUS that wouldn't reach to the top of the pc case. Here are the ugly results that I intended to be temporary but it seems to be working very well for the last 3 months. If you want something cheap and easy to throw together for around $6-$10 in parts this open air frame might be just what the doctor ordered.!

CheaprigAZFIXSTEEM (2).jpg
CheaprigAZFIXSTEEM (3).jpg

CheaprigAZFIXSTEEM (4).jpg

Sort:  

Nice frame. Looks pretty solid mining rig.
Check my mining rig here and here.
I used a milk crate instead lol. Cheap and good airflow too!

Milk crates are great this is just what I had readily available for a quick build.

Hey, cool frame you got there.
Not sure if you heared about it, but I'd strongly suggest to mine some ZEN right now. Difficulty is still low and it probably will replace ZClassic (most devs moved to ZEN from ZCL).

Oh and do you know if it possible to combine AMD and NVIDIA cards in one rig? I only got a max of 3600 Watts (I wouldn't go over 3000, though because of peaks) in my basement and probably can't fit in a full 3rd rig. But I'd love to mine from a few NVIDIA cards as well.

I have never tried it, so unfortunately I do not have any advice in that area.

Thanks will take a look at Zen, might be nice to grab a few

What coins are you mining?

Zcoin and Zcash

Ah ok. Awesome!

Nice setup man . your fan would need a bigger space on the back though.

I have a few high velocity fans in the room, and I use a swamp cooler because of the low humidity climate I am in. Swamp coolers work well provided you are in the right climate and the room stays under 30% humidity

Nice post, shows off that one doesn't need to go with the most expensive solution to get great results.

Thanks, many ways to do it on the cheap this is just one of them. Sure beats paying $100-$300 for a open air frame on ebay http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2322090.m570.l1313.TR4.TRC2.A0.H0.Xgpu+rig.TRS0&_nkw=gpu+rig&_sacat=0

haha definitely , I have been on a hunt for a frame but wasn't willing to pay like $200 for one so I started to look around what it would take to build one my self and it isn't that hard but i don't have the tools or space where i can make one right now so instead i ordered a cart from IKEA for like $20 that I hopefully with slight modifications can make work as a frame, it will arrive this week and i will put up a post when done.

I am sure you will find a way to make it work for you and will be excited to see your post here when you do.

Around how much did the whole build cost?

You are looking at about $2500-$3000 depending on the price you get for the GTX 1070'S and type of Power supply you use.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62