Mindful Monday - Looking at Mindfulness as Meditation...

in #mindfulmonday5 years ago

Mindfulness as Meditation

I do a Vipassana meditation , gathering insights by watching the ever changing sensations in the body, the changes in your being (for we are in a constant flux of change, everything is impermanent.) In my meditation practice I become an observer of my inner self, closing of the sense doors that pulls me into the outer world.

It’s focused on staying in the moment without judgement, treating all things equanimously with neither aversion or liking, but just seeing it as it is and reaching for a heightened levels of awareness. Seeing things as they truly are really matters and also giving yourself space to quiet your mind.

All this doesn't just come naturally and that is why I call it my meditation practice!

Meditation can bring many benefits but like all practices, you get out of what you’re willing to put into it.

Some things that cause struggles when meditating - and these may apply to you - are:

Struggle #1: Expecting to Feel Good or Different
You may have tried many forms of meditation. But you’ve got an expectation to feel good or different and as of yet that hasn't happened. That is a big lesson to learn - to not come into a meditation session with expectations or if you have had a great session, not to expect all your sessions to be like that. The truth is most sessions will be challenging. The key is to remind yourself that even though it’s hard, meditation is important for your well-being and for me it is important to keep me on the path that will lead to that ultimate goal of Nibbanic peace.

Struggle #2: Getting Restless During Sessions
Isn't it funny how you can sit comfortably watching a movie or be at your computer for hours on end and never budge. But the moment you get quiet and settle down for meditation, all of a sudden it becomes very difficult and it is hard to sit still.
If this happens to you just realize that your body is just struggling with the transition from movement to stillness. If you were driving your car at 65 miles per hour and you suddenly turned onto a road where the speed limit was only 15 miles per hour, you’d feel tense at first, almost like you were driving in slow motion.
It’s a similar feeling when you meditate. You’ve been stuck in fast forward since you woke up and slowing down doesn’t feel natural. So, be patient with yourself if you get restless during meditation. Your body is simply adjusting to a different speed.
Don’t look at meditation as something to be achieved, see it as a journey you’re taking. You are on a path and it is a process, learn from your practice.

Struggle #3: Adjusting to the Sound of Silence
This is not a common struggle for me for I really enjoy peace and quiet, being I live in a peaceful forest setting and I often prefer the silence to having background sound of music or a TV (in fact we took the TV out of our house). But this is not the way for some folks and the silence is more foreign to them. You can feel awkward and uncomfortable. Slide into it slowly, perhaps starting with a little meditation music to help you get into that meditational space.

Make Meditation Work for You

Some tips to make meditation work for you and not against you -

Experiment with Different Times of Day
I prefer to get my morning started with meditation. That's what works for me.
Find what works for you. Perhaps you prefer to meditate in the early afternoon when you can enjoy the sunshine that comes through your window or you can be out in nature. Or maybe you find meditating before bed very relaxing and great way to end your day.
It doesn’t matter what time of day that you meditate. There is no right or wrong time. There’s only the present and whether you choose to spend that time in meditation or not.

Give Yourself Something Visual
We actually have a meditation studio which has pictures of Sayagyi U Ba Khin in robes meditating, pictures of Webu Sayadaw and this picture below of Sayagyi U Ba Khin paying respects to Webu Sayadaw plus others of Sayagyi U Ba Khin tradition in meditation.

These kind of images (plus knowing the story behind them) are inspiring and help set the purpose for what is going on in this place and being the studio is only used for meditation, my mind naturally turns to meditation upon entering that place.

Some people complain that when they try to meditate, they can’t concentrate. There are many methods of meditation and perhaps you may need to have something visual to look at during your meditation sessions. One thing you can try is focusing your attention on a flickering candle or something similar.

Pick a Safe Space
When it comes to meditating, it’s important to choose to do so in a spot where you feel safe and will be undisturbed for a period of time. For me we have our meditation studio which is separate from the house and all the distractions that comes with it. See if you can designate a spot for meditating and let it be known you do not want to be disturbed.

I have made meditation a regular practice in my life and I find it hard to imagine life with out it ! I hope that you too can come to benefit from some sort of meditation or if you already have a practice I'd love to hear about it!

Thanks for stopping by!


Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe, @earthtribe & @steemitbloggers



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Visit my store - Porters Place at https://homesteaderscoop.com/store/porters-place/

Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemup

Sort:  

I agree that the expectation of feeling good and not feeling different in the beginning put me off, but, continuing the path really made the difference!

Thank you for always being so on point with your meditation tips and advice!

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @porters! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Monochrome In Color Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I really do like the tips. I try to meditate and find that without some form of background noise my mind begins to wander. It's a chore to even remind myself that random thoughts are acceptable, and then to brush them off. Sometimes it works, sometimes not so much. I'll need to read this article again next time I find the time to engage.

Glad you liked the tips! And it is a meditation practice or discipline and the more you practice or build your discipline then it seems easier to go into that state of meditation.
Have you heard about the Mindful Life discord community? We have group meditations each Wednesday and Saturday which you may find beneficial.

I haven't heard of it, actually. What times are the sessions?

It's in the Natural Medicine discord server in the #MeditationHall Wednesday 8:30 pm London time and Saturdays 5:30 pm London time
Here is an invite to the NM discord channel
Hope to see you there! I can usually only make it to the Wednesday sessions because of the time it is held but it is always a great break and gets my afternoon off to a good start!

I'll give that a try, but that's a little late for me. I'll try to peek in on the discord a little later today, too. Thank you!

You're welcome!

Great to hear that meditation has such a great effect on you. I can imagine that living in a forest helps with staying in that relaxed state of mind! KR

maybe there's a method in meditating because I think it's hard to meditate if you don't know the process. Good tip's but I just wonder, how your mind will react during meditation.

Posted using Partiko Android

I took a Vipassanna meditation course which gave me a meditation practice and have read many Dhamma text and with regular meditation sittings my practice has become stronger. People respond differently to different meditation techniques and I know there has been many changes in myself over the years of practicing meditation. If you are interested find where there is meditation course being held that would resonate with you and attend - experience it for yourself.
If you would like we do have a Mindful Life community that supports folks in conscious living and even holds group meditation sessions through the Natural Medicine discord server here

Another fantastic post my friend! I think your first tip is especially important. There have been many times where I feel great after a session, but many more that I really struggled or where it brought up some not so happy emotions. It is all time well spent, though. I think finding the right time for you is a great tip, as well. I know a lot of people suggest first thing in the morning, but that can be challenging for me when I have my first clients coming to meet me by 6am! I have found the time we do it for the Wednesday group (3:30pm here) has worked really well for me. That time of day I tend to get unfocused and depleted, and it is a great time for me to just be still and meditate. I just need to make it a habit the other days of the week, too. ;) Always learning and growing, right?

Yes I always enjoy those wednesday afternoon group sessions for they get me to stop and get a kind of rejuvenation for the afternoon!
I feel fortunate to have a husband who is very devoted to his meditations so that makes it easier for me to keep up with regular daily meditations!
And yes - always learning and growing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85