Mindful Eating: Do You Even Chew Your Food?

055D8CB6-5763-4DC5-A357-1830D86EBCB9.jpeg

Do you sit to bless your food? Show gratitude? Do you sit down and eat slowly? Or do you shovel your food in quickly either while working, standing up, in the car, or in front of the computer/ TV?

Eating used to be a sacred act, many cultures prayed and showed appreciation for their food.

My dear yogi friend brought me some food on Friday when I had a pretty rough day. The food was incredible and she remarked how simple it was. I was in heaven and felt so nourished and loved.

Later she then told me that she intentionally prepares her food and blesses it and gives thanks. She then explained more about how the prepare food in the ashram. I personally find it all so fascinating, time, love and attention to something of utmost importance like food.

The Krishna temple I have been to is in Denver:
https://krishnadenver.com/

The energy just vibrates and radiates love in there. Especially once everyone is chanting and dancing.

https://images.app.goo.gl/PjU99GyqU71SLSKXA

They have amazing food that is filled with love and you can feel it when you eat the food. You feel the high vibration of the food.

One thing I've noticed about myself is I hardly ever slow down and really chew my food. I have heard in Ayurveda it is recommended that you chew your food until it is liquid. I realized I was barely taking a couple bites before swallowing.

I also noticed how unless I am very intentional I often just eat without expressing my gratitude or blessing my food. I used to do this with every meal and have fallen off.

When I was struggling with major food allergies and leaky gut I started blessing every meal with love and gratitude. I now can eat many more foods and have much less reactions. I do feel that being present with my food is a huge reason why I can eat more things.

I'd love to hear from you, do you chew your food? How do you slow down and enjoy a meal? Growing up being rushed to eat in school, on the way to school, after school before or after activities. We have a culture of fast eating here in the US. I am really trying to change that pattern and it is a constant refocus for me to slow down.

I would love to hear your thoughts!

Sort:  

Congratulations Mama! This post has been curated and featured in @steemitmamas Midweek Delights.

To view your post along with other great selections please visit: SteemitMamas' MidWeek Delights #7 || Of Mindful Eating, Preparing For Change, Fun Convenience Stores & Managing The Blues.

*You will also receive a 100% upvote from @steemitmamas once a day, for a week to show our appreciation and to encourage you to keep giving us more quality posts. *

If you are a mom, expecting mom, stepmom, an adoptive mom or grandma, please consider this an invitation to join us on Discord by clicking on the banner.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Thanks so much for the love and support! It means a lot to me <3

They say health begins in the gut, and digestion begins with the mouth, so it's no doubt that what, and how, we eat can make a big difference.

It's so true!! The gut is supposedly the second brain?? It makes so much sense

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58999.04
ETH 2518.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46