Remember!? Once I Was A People Person!

in #memory6 years ago

I was an expert and mastered my memory like a machine. As a teenager I trained my brain to remember everything, without writing it down but somehow this method doesn't work anymore. 

I hate to create a to-do-list on my iPhone because I am simply not used to. I don't like to write on paper either. 

Image Source - click Image

I am looking at my mothers old but innocent face when she tries to remember her children's names and it makes me so sad how much she struggles to remember important things but not only a her .....

It's actually me who starts being more dement than her. 

These days I feel extremely overwhelmed that I still have to remember so many things, my mind can't handle. 

I am constantly trying to catch those lost french, italian, indonesian, english and even german words. Some just vanished and can't be found anymore. I was always great and quick to learn languages and never needed to make plans of my following week. 

My mind was perfect! I wonder if I really lost some brain cells, smoking too much weed in my youth.

I realised that forgetting is so much easier, even more fun but not when you constantly miss your dentist appointments. 

I ask myself many times, why my own memory is so bad, mostly about unpleasant things, happening in my life. It seems that my mind is only interested to know the good stuff and erase all those fights, struggles and crap, nobody needs to remember anyways.

Great article to read : 10 Tricks to boost your memory and remember anything.

My body and mind was like a "functioning" machine but a reboot would be really helpful at this point. 

It also became very hard for me to follow conversations because I can't hear a damn thing. 

I lost 50% of my hearing, probably listening to techno too much in my life. My work was mostly backstage or next to speakers or behind the Dj's safty zone. I find myself smiling at strangers in too loud places, when they talk and talk and talk ....

Do I actually need to hear all The Blah or is the sound of thousand other voices, that soothing vibration of music in my ears more valuable anyways? I've always been a very lousy and bad small talker and a "progressive introvert". Now I know! A One on One conversation is what I prefer. 

I might miss out on a lot of important stories but to be honest, I heard so many in my life through my job that it seems my ears went on strike on purpose. 

Silence and nature became my friends ....

Vienna vineyards at Kahlenberg

As I grow older, it seems I am not a "people person" anymore but now you know why. 

What is a people person? An outgoing, gregarious person with good communication skills. A person who enjoys or is particularly good at interacting with others."she's an extrovert, a real people person" - Source 

This beautiful poem by Joy Harjo, Poetry Foundation which I found in my email, inspired me to rethink how much and what we should remember.

"Remember the sky that you were born under, know each of the star’s stories.

Remember the moon, know who she is.

Remember the sun’s birth at dawn, that is the strongest point of time. Remember sundown and the giving away to night. 

Remember your birth, how your mother struggled to give you form and breath. You are evidence of her life, and her mother’s, and hers.

Remember your father. He is your life, also.

Remember the earth whose skin you are: red earth, black earth, yellow earth, white earth, brown earth, we are earth.

Remember the plants, trees, animal life who all have their tribes, their families, their histories, too. Talk to them, listen to them. They are alive poems.

Remember the wind. Remember her voice. She knows the origin of this universe.

Remember you are all people and all people are you.

Remember you are this universe and this universe is you.

Remember all is in motion, is growing, is you.

Remember language comes from this.

Remember the dance language is, that life is. 

Remember."

Yours @mammasitta 

Don't forget : Be The Fire From Within!

Follow also my minnow profile @massivevibration to keep on spreading those MassiVe Vibes. 

Feel free to join my steemit chat channels at "mammasittas, austria, massivevibrations, baliohbali" to post your links. 

Join MAMMASITTA's Steemit Network and twitter account #steemitvibes 


Sort:  

I was an expert and mastered my memory like a machine. As a teenager I trained my brain to remember everything, without writing it down...

Now I know I am not the only person who is like this. I really don't like writing stuffs down, I prefer to let my old hard drive up there do it's job.

Lets reboot that machine ☺️

Reading this makes me kind of sad somehow, but it should not! I could search for some studies I found, how emotions can make our brain permeable, or what movies and music can do to us

https://horizon-magazine.eu/article/movies-and-music-play-our-minds-bending-time_en.html

about our most precious capital: time

but I just want to say how inspiring you are to us.

Maybe we are losing some of our "tools" with age, but you also win life experience every day exceedingly few can draw on to.

Seeing with the heart is much more of worth! Constantly in our lifes we meet people that are not able to read or have not learned to listen what our heart is mumbling or are not willing to. Often noone is actively listening, because he or she is missing out on this kind of life experience and they are far more capable of using their "tools". In the rare moments, when I opened my heart to a person I loved and he refused to open up even for the slightest spark of development, I also got a taste of this reality. Sometimes life has to go on...

You just made me cry .....

I am OK!
I am moving on and my heart is beating!
Keep yours wide open but protected.

<3

This is a fascinating observation on the human condition. As we age many of us will have memory issues. My mum has dementia too.
It is a terrible situation to find yourself in unless you just let go and say 'it is what it is'.
Much of the twaddle that people talk is pointless babble but we must be kind and remember. Even the dull and ignorant have their stories, no matter how inane they may appear.
I'm not keen on social gatherings either usually but steemfest was truly eye opening. I met so many introverts just like us. It was lovely just being there.
We had a pleasant chat too.
For two complete strangers we did pretty good together. Don't you think?
Losing memories is inevitable for many of us. Enjoy the moments because that is all we have really.

Michael

Wow
Can’t say much more right now, other than “Thank you” for those words of wisdom.
Yes! We did well. Very well! 😉
Your and other vibrant, sweet and honest people’s fascinating personalities made it easy.
Steemfest was an exception indeed!

IT IS WHAT IT IS!

Forget what you would like to forget, make free space for all the sweet and lovely memories. And finally; dont forget me!

You are so kind 🍁🍂🍃🍷
This is exactly what I will do!!!! Who needs to remember everything anyways 🤣😋
I never forget warm-hearted human beings even though I love dogs and cats much more. Haaaahhh Sorry!

@sciencevienna did send this great clip what to eat......this is quite interesting
https://www.facebook.com/BeConstantlyCurious/videos/132870130712371/

Welch ein offener, persönlicher und emotionaler Post!

Let's enjoy together silence and nature ... 🌻

Genau das machen wir! ♥️ Your way with an article from long time ago, for you My new sweet friend .....to practice your English

https://steemit.com/life/@mammasitta/is-age-just-a-number-and-do-we-really-stay-ageless-inside-my-respect-to-all-mothers

At one time in my life i was lost to blues like you were lost to techno. However, progressive introvert?? Thats one for my mind to ponder.

@mammasitta here, bringing it real hot, i can feel your vibration

@massivevibration 🤣🤣🤣 it was not only Techno ....jazz funk soul and All that

I was kind of laughing when I came up with this expression. I don’t even know how it popped in my head but how can somebody be considered an outgoing person? I am a trained introvert who had to learn how to have a presence out of my comfortzone. Hahhaa I don’t even know if all this makes sense to anybody but me.

Mamma , sering lupa karena faktor usia atau bisa juga perlu istirahat Sejenak. Itu manusiawi mamma, justru mengingatkan Kita untuk mengembangkan diri.

Mamma, we often forget something because age factor or it is sign to get rest for a while. That is humane mamma, pricely that sign for us to remind us for developing ourself

It’s a tough one to accept but I do ......meanwhile I start practicing and put some oil on those loose screws again Hahhaa
Terimakasi to pass by again 🍁🍃🍂

Well, this really hit home for me Mamma.

People try to force me to change or do things I don't want to do, or be around people when I do not want to be, for various reasons and I am sick of it.

People change. I have changed.

Things have also impacted me and changed me, they all go together.

I have never seen anyone sum up some of how I now feel the way you have.

I might send this to Bob the Statist and have him read it-- he does not listen to me.

Thanks Mamma.

You have no idea how difficult it was to find the right words and it’s even more special that I read your comment before I go to sleep. We change for the better or worse but I am proud that I chose for the better. You too! 🌹🐬

yes, getting old sucks :). I suffer from the same thing.. from all the weed? I thought it was just short term memory loss. Hearing loss? Yah I got that too from working with heavy machinery.. just age -sigh

Let’s go in with grace but I had to change some factors here. Change my habits and lifestyle. Can’t be around too many people anymore. Choose more carefully who to talk to. The weed was more like a joke anyways. REBOOT! Yeahhh!

I was a people person until all the jerks that promised to buy my book shit the bed on me!

Talk to me!!! What happened? What did I miss?
I am sorry to hear!

I buy it! Tell me how and where

It isn't you my dear... It's all the phonies that kept telling me "write a book I'll definitely buy it!" I went through my following list and dumped about 100 of them. If you want it. here's the link

http://www.lulu.com/shop/rich-quitliano/the-night-gods/paperback/product-23418030.html

People don't understand, this is how I earn my living. Steemit is supposed to be a community, but if it is it's one that I'm not a part of. I've done everything I know how to make Steemit better, not for myself, but for Steemit- I wanted to see us grow together. Right now all my hard work is not paying off... not for me at least. My posts are averaging $7.00! Try living on that!!!

I never really counted on the income here on this platform and for me it’s like a savings or my risky game to speculate.
It’s hard if you are dependent on those payouts for food, especially since it goes very strange ways here, more than ever.
Please do me a favour and always send links for your new stories per FB/DM or whatever. I overlook so much and stopped using autovoters.
Please don’t be disappointed. We are constantly tested and have to learn that the only ones we can count on is “ourselves”! I am not expecting anything anymore. It’s much easier and so nice when you find good people.

Ok I post my Night Gods on Twitter and Facebook every time they come out. This is all I have. I already started powering down. I have enough to keep me out of the nursing home for about 6 months (maybe)... then I'm screwed. I'm not going to do any more begging posts. Nobody even resteems my stuff anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29