What Memorial Day Means to Me

in #memorial7 years ago (edited)

Next Monday is Memorial Day. it is a very special day. It’s a day many Americans will spend attending parades and enjoying festive times together with families and friends. It’s a day of picnicking and barb ques. It’s a day off from work and school. However first and foremost and absolutely above all else it is a day of remembrance. It is a day to memorialize the American servicemen and women who have fought and sacrificed themselves for the preservation of the freedoms that all Americans enjoy daily in this nation. Men and women who have put themselves in harm’s way for you and I and every free American. As they went forth and fought for this country, for us. Some of them gave their lives. Others gave pieces of themselves. Physical, emotional and psychological pieces that in many cases they will never get back.
Still, they did so willingly out of a sense of duty to this nation. So today as you relax and have fun with family and friends. As you enjoy your day off please make a point of taking time throughout the day to consciously remember those who have sacrificed so much. At a time in our nation where the freedoms we enjoy are threatened and being stripped away from us slowly please remember those who have fought and sacrificed to preserve them. Our individual political and social views should be put aside on this day. If you disagree with the foreign policies being pursued by this nations leadership, do not let that prevent you from paying tribute to the patriots who out of a strong sense of duty fought and bled to do what the nation asked of them. On this day as we gather together to enjoy fun and fellowship with our friends and family I encourage each one us to call attention within our individual groups to the true reason for this solemn holiday. Make those that share in our celebrations be aware of why we are here today to enjoy this holiday and all the individual freedoms each of us still enjoy in this nation. I encourage each one of us to reach out to a veteran who has suffered loss at the hands of our nation’s enemies, or to the families or loved ones of a veteran who was unable to return home from a foreign field of battle. Reach out and let them know that they and their loved ones are not forgotten. Reach out and let them know that we as a nation and as individuals recognize and appreciate the sacrifice that those individuals made and the loss that each of them has endured on our behalf. On this Memorial Day please focus first and foremost on the memorial. The memorial for the men and women who fought and died and bled and gave pieces of themselves for the continued freedoms that we enjoy today. Through the collective memorials that we put forth, the sacrifice that those brave men and women made will not be forgotten. In that way they themselves will not be forgotten. They themselves will live forever in the hearts and minds of what I strongly hope is a grateful nation. Thank you, God bless you all. If you enjoyed this story please visit my Patreon site for more of my work
https://www.patreon.com/Worldwithoutruleoflaw

Sort:  

I appreciate your post. Yes I am definitely pro veteran, pro-American and pro-God. Too many folks take our freedoms for granted. We have gotten lazy and have lost our love for freedom and liberty. Globalism has went to war against national pride. I am VERY grateful to the veterans who have given us our freedoms. However there is a silent war on here across the world including America. Our birth rate has fallen below 2 babies per couple while the Islamic culture has many children. Please take a look at this video I posted about this silent war of the take non-violent take over of the world The link is below

https://steemit.com/freedom/@enjoywithtroy/the-non-violent-take-over-of-the-world-must-see-video

I am new to Steem it and am a piano man in Iowa on the Mississippi River. My name is Troy. I play for weddings, Retirement homes, and singing telegrams. I will include two other posts for you one is a video of my piano music. The other is my introduce myself post. IF you like them feel free to upote them .
Again thanks for sharing about memorial day (Decoration Day) . This is a good thing, Blessings - Troy The link posts are below

https://steemit.com/music/@enjoywithtroy/piano-music-for-your-enjoyment

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@enjoywithtroy/hello-steemit-community-my-introduction

Thank you for your comment. Please consider following me here on steemit. I appreciate the support

done I am following Thanks for the invitation. Feel free to follow me as well and upvote what you enjoy. blessings

Thanks for posting this @timmo3663. I too hold Memorial Day very near and dear to my heart. I know first hand the tragedy of war and losing a friend to war. The lost Sgt Michael Barkey on July 7, 2004 outside of Ramadi, Iraq. It's a day I will never forget.

Every year I attend the Memorial Day event in the small town of Livingston, Tn. Tennessee is the home to the first battlefield casualty in Vietnam. His name was Tom Davis
http://www.wsmv.com/story/16022082/first-vietnam-war-casualty-was-tennessee-soldier


I am always amazed at the lack of people at this event. For a town of a little over 3,000 the turnout is decent with probably 300-500 people, however this death being a national milestone I would think there would be way more people.


I am sorry for your loss. I will keep your friend Sgt Michael Barkey in remembrance this memorial day.
Thanks for posting the link for Tom Davis. I read it. It is interesting.

You are very welcome. Thanks for keeping Barkey in your memory.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15